BEFORE THE
COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN RE TEST CLAIM ON:

California Regional Water Quality Control
Board, Santa Ana Region, Order No. R8-2009-
0030 (NPDES No. CAS618030)

Filed on June 30 2010;

By the County of Orange, Orange County Flood
Control District and the cities of Anaheim, Brea,
Buena Park, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain
Valley, Fullerton, Huntington Beach, Irvine,
Lake Forest, Newport Beach, Placentia, Seal
Beach and Villa Park, Claimants.

No. 09-TC-03 — 09-TC-17
Santa Ana Regional Water Permit

NOTICE OF COMPLETE TEST CLAIM
FILING AND SCHEDULE FOR
COMMENTS (Gov. Code, § 17500 et seq.;
Cal. Code Regs., Tit. 2, §§ 1183, subd.(g),
& 1183.02)
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TO: Department of Finance
State Controller’s Office
State Water Resources Control Board
Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board
Interested Parties

On June 30, 2010, the County of Orange, Orange County Flood Control District and the cities of
Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Huntington
Beach, Irvine, Lake Forest, Newport Beach, Placentia, Seal Beach and Villa Park, Claimants,
filed a test claim on the above-described statutes and/or executive orders alleging a reimbursable
state-mandated program pursuant to article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and
Government Code section 17514. The test claim is complete. A pdf file of the test claim will be
posted on the Commission’s website under “For Public Comment.” The test claim will be heard
and determined by the Commission on State Mandates pursuant to article XIII B, section 6,
Government Code section 17500 et seq., and case law. The procedures for hearing and
determining this claim are prescribed in the Commission’s regulations, California Code of
Regulations, title 2, chapter 2.5, section 1181.

COMMENT PERIOD
The key issues before the Commission are:

e Do the provisions listed above impose a new program or higher level of service within an
existing program upon local entities within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the
California Constitution and costs mandated by the state pursuant to Government Code
section 17514 of the Government Code?

e Does Government Code section 17556 preclude the Commission from finding that any of
the test claim provisions impose costs mandated by the state?

e Have funds been appropriated for this program (e.g., state budget) or are there any other
sources of funding available? If so, what is the source?

State Agency Review of Test Claim - State agencies are requested to analyze the test claim
merits and to file written comments within 30 days, or no later than August 9, 2010. Requests
for extensions of time may be filed in accordance with sections 1183.01, subdivision (¢), and
1181.1, subdivision (g) of the regulations.

Claimant Rebuttal - The claimant and interested parties may file rebuttals to state agencies’
comments under section 1183.03 of the regulations. The rebuttal is due 30 days from the actual
service date of written comments from any state agencies.

Mailing Lists - Under section 1181.2 of the regulations, the Commission will promulgate a
mailing list of parties, interested parties, and interested persons for each test claim and provide
the list to those included on the list, and to anyone who requests a copy. Any written material
filed with the Commission on this claim shall be simultaneously served on the other parties listed
on the mailing list provided by the Commission.

Consolidating Test Claims - Pursuant to Commission regulations, the executive director may
consolidate part or all of any test claim with another test claim. See sections 1183.05 and
1183.06 of the regulations.
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INFORMAL/PREHEARING CONFERENCE

An informal conference or prehearing conference may be scheduled if requested by any party.
See sections 1183.04 and 1187.4 of the regulations.

HEARING AND STAFF ANALYSIS

A tentative hearing date for the test claim will be set when the draft staff analysis of the claim is
being prepared. At least eight weeks before a hearing is conducted, the draft staff analysis will
be issued to parties, interested parties, and interested persons for comment. Comments are due at
least five weeks prior to the hearing or on the date set by the Executive Director, pursuant to
section 1183.07 of the regulations. Before the hearing, a final staff analysis will be issued.

Dismissal of Test Claims - Under section 1183.09 of the regulations, test claims may be
dismissed when postponed or placed on inactive status by the claimant for more than one year.
Before dismissing a test claim, the Commission will provide 60 days notice and opportunity for
other parties to take over the claim.

Parameters and Guidelines - If the Commission determines that a reimbursable state mandate
exists, the claimant is responsible for submitting proposed parameters and guidelines for
reimbursing all eligible local entities. See section 1183.1 of the regulations. All interested
parties and affected state agencies will be given an opportunity to comment on the claimant’s
proposal before consideration and adoption by the Commission.

Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology - Government Code section 17557 requires the
Commission, when adopting parameters and guidelines, to consult with claimants, Department of
Finance, the State Controller, and the Legislature to consider a reasonable reimbursement
methodology. Government Code section 17518.5 authorizes the claimant or any affected state
agency or interested party to propose a reasonable reimbursement methodology.

Statewide Cost Estimate - The Commission is required to adopt a statewide cost estimate of the
reimbursable state-mandated program within 12 months of receipt of a test claim. This deadline
may be extended for up to six months upon the request of either the claimant or the Commission.

Alternative Process - Within 30 days of the Commission’s adoption of a Statement of Decision
on a test claim, the test claimant and the Department of Finance may notify the Executive
Director in writing of their intent to follow the process described in Government Code section
17557.1 (effective Jan. 1, 2008) to develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology and
statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for reimbursement of
costs mandated by the state. The letter of intent shall include the date on which the test claimant
and the Department of Finance will submit a plan to ensure that costs from a representative
sample of eligible claimants are considered in the development of a reasonable reimbursement
methodology. If this letter of intent is submitted, the Commission will provide further
information for all parties and interested parties to the test claim.

\/{Q;/W///// Wﬁf\/%w: July 9, 2010

NANCY PATTON, Acting Executive Director
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