Pupil Safety Notices 02-TC-13

Education Code Sections 32242, 32243, 32245, 46010.1; 48904, 48904.3, 48987 Welfare and Institutions Code Section 18285 Statutes 1983, Chapter 498; Statutes 1984, Chapter 482; Statutes 1984, Chapter 948; Statutes 1986, Chapter 196; Statutes 1986, Chapter 332; Statutes 1992, Chapter 445; Statutes 1992, Chapter 1317; Statutes 1993, Chapter 589; Statutes 1994, Chapter 1172; Statutes 1996, Chapter 1023; Statutes 2002, Chapter 492 California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Section 11523 Test Claim Filed: February 21, 2003

Reimbursement for This Estimate: July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2008 Eligible Claimants: School Districts Statewide Cost Estimate: \$45,668 Adopted: September 26, 2008

The statewide cost estimate includes seven fiscal years for a total of \$45,668. This averages to \$6,524 annually in costs for the state. Following is a breakdown of estimated total costs per fiscal year:

Fiscal Years	Number of Claims Filed with the SCO	Estimated Costs
2001-2002	2	\$ 4,726
2002-2003	2	4,776
2003-2004	2	5,624
2004-2005	2	5,582
2005-2006	2	8,652
2006-2007	2	7,936
2007-2008	N/A	8,372
Total	12	\$45,668

TABLE 1. BREAKDOWN OF ESTIMATEDTOTAL COSTS PER FISCAL YEAR

Summary of the Mandate

This program requires(1) school districts to provide, for the first time, notices and information regarding health, safety and legal issues to staff, parents, guardians and students; and (2) for a school district receiving a transfer student, upon notice that the school district from which the student is being transferred has withheld the grades, diploma or transcripts of that student, to continue to withhold the grades, diploma or transcripts of any transfer student, until it receives notice that the district that initiated the decision to withhold, has rescinded that decision.

The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the Statement of Decision for the *Pupil Safety Notices* test claim. The Commission found that test claim statutes and regulation constitute a new program or higher level of service and impose a partially reimbursable state-

mandated program upon school districts within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code section 17514.

The claimant filed the test claim on February 21, 2003. The Commission adopted a Statement of Decision on December 4, 2006, and the parameters and guidelines on December 6, 2007. Eligible claimants were required to file initial reimbursement claims with the State Controller's Office (SCO) by June 9, 2008.

Reimbursable Activities

The Commission approved the following reimbursable activities for this program:

- 1. For the principal of the school site, within 45 days of receiving lead test survey results from the Department of Health Services, to notify the teachers and other school personnel and parents of the survey results. (Ed. Code, § 32242, subd. (c).)
- For schools to notify parents of the Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Act of 1991 upon receiving a finding that a school site has significant risk factors for lead. (Ed. Code, § 32243, subd. (a).)
- 3. For schools, within 45 days of receiving a finding by the Department of Health Services that a school subject to the Lead-Safe Schools Act has significant risk factors for lead, to notify the teachers, other personnel, and the parents of the finding. (Ed. Code, § 32243, subd. (a).)
- 4. For school districts to amend an existing notice sent to pupils in grades 7-12 and their parents or guardians to include the provision that "school authorities may excuse any pupil from the school for the purpose of obtaining confidential medical services without the consent of the pupil's parent or guardian." This activity is a one-time activity. (Ed. Code, § 46010.1.)
- 5. To disseminate guidelines, upon request, that describe complaint procedures, adopted by the State Department of Education, to parents or guardians of minor pupils in the primary language of the parent or guardian which he or she can follow in filing a complaint of child abuse by a school employee or other person committed against a pupil at a school site. (Ed. Code, § 48987.)
- 6. To provide an interpreter for a parent or guardian, whose primary language is other than English, in the case of any communications concerning the guidelines and procedures for filing child abuse complaints committed against a pupil at a school site. (Ed. Code, § 48987.)
- 7. For the principal of each school with students in grades 11 and/or 12 to distribute to each pupil in those grades an announcement explaining the California High School Proficiency Exam provided for under Education Code section 48412 in time to meet registration requirements for the fall test of that year. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 11523.)
- 8. To establish rules and regulations governing procedures for withholding grades, transcripts, and diplomas. (Ed. Code, § 48904, subd. (b)(3).)
- 9. For a transferee school, upon notice that a school district has withheld the grades, diploma or transcripts of any pupil pursuant to Education code section 48904, to continue to withhold the grades, diploma or transcripts of any transfer student as authorized by that section, until such time as it receives notice, from the district that initiated the decision to withhold, that the decision has been rescinded under the terms of that section. (Ed. Code, § 48904.3, subd. (a).)

Statewide Cost Estimate

Staff reviewed the claims data submitted by two school districts, and compiled by the SCO. The actual claims data showed that 12 claims were filed between fiscal years 2001-2002 and 2006-2007 for a total of \$37,296.¹¹ This program requires school districts to, among other things; disseminate several different notices regarding school site lead risk factors, confidential medical services, the California High School Proficiency Exam, and guidelines for complaint procedures regarding child abuse committed against a pupil at a school site, including any costs to interpret those guidelines in other languages for the requesting parents or guardians. Staff found that the majority of costs for the two districts that filed reimbursement claims were for disseminating the child abuse guidelines and related interpreter costs.

Based on this data, staff made the following assumptions and used the following methodology to develop a statewide cost estimate for this program. The Commission will report the adopted statewide cost estimate to the Legislature along with staff's assumptions and methodology.

Assumptions

Staff made the following assumptions:

1. The actual amount claimed may increase if late or amended claims are filed.

Only two school districts in California have filed 12 reimbursement claims for this program. Thus, if reimbursement claims are filed by any of the remaining school districts, the amount of reimbursement claims may exceed the statewide cost estimate. For this program, late claims for 2002-2003 through 2006-2007 may be filed until June 2009.

2. Non-claiming school districts did not file claims because they did not incur more than \$1000 in increased costs for this program.

Most school districts will be unable to meet the \$1,000 minimum threshold for filing reimbursement claims, because only a portion of this program was approved as a reimbursable state mandate, and there are offsetting revenues available for a portion of the mandate.

- 3. The Galt Joint Union High School District and Live Oak Unified School District will continue to incur costs over \$1,000 and will continue to file reimbursement claims.
- 4. The SCO may reduce any reimbursement claim for this program.

If the SCO audits this program and deems any reimbursement claim to be excessive or unreasonable, it may be reduced. Therefore, the total amount of reimbursement for this program may be lower than the statewide cost estimate.

Methodology

Fiscal Years 2001-2002 through 2006-2007

The statewide cost estimate for fiscal years 2001-2002 through 2006-2007 is based on the 12 unaudited actual reimbursement claims filed with the SCO for these years.

Fiscal Year 2007-2008

Staff estimated fiscal year 2007-2008 costs by multiplying the 2006-2007 estimate by the implicit price deflator for 2007-2008 (5.5%), as forecast by Department of Finance.

¹¹Claims data reported as of August 13, 2008.

Conclusion

On September 26, 2008, the Commission adopted a statewide cost estimate of **\$45,668** (\$6,524 in annual costs) for costs incurred in complying with the *Pupil Safety Notices* program for the period of July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2008.