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DECISION 
The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) heard and decided this Test Claim during 
regularly scheduled hearings on December 2, 2022, and January 27, 2023.  Fernando Lemus and 
Lucia Gonzalez appeared on behalf of the County of Los Angeles (claimant).  Chris Hill 
appeared on behalf of the Department of Finance (Finance).  
The law applicable to the Commission’s determination of a reimbursable state-mandated 
program is article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, Government Code sections 
17500 et seq., and related case law. 
The Commission adopted the Revised Proposed Decision to approve the Test Claim by a vote of 
7-0, as follows: 

Member Vote 

Lee Adams, County Supervisor Yes 

Gayle Miller, Representative of the Director of the Department of Finance, Chairperson Yes 

Scott Morgan, Representative of the Director of the Office of Planning and Research Yes 

Renee Nash, School District Board Member  Yes 

Sarah Olsen, Public Member Yes 

Lynn Paquin, Representative of the State Controller, Vice Chairperson Yes 

Spencer Walker, Representative of the State Treasurer Yes 
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Summary of the Findings 
This Test Claim addresses Statutes 2020, chapter 335, which amended Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 625.6, effective January 1, 2021, to provide that “a youth 17 years of age or 
younger shall consult with legal counsel in person, by telephone, or by video conference” 
“[p]rior to a custodial interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.”  The section 
prohibits the youth from waiving this consultation.1  Additionally, section 625.6 exempts from 
this requirement an interrogation of the minor limited to questions reasonably necessary to obtain 
information that the officer reasonably believes are necessary to protect life or property from an 
imminent threat.2  The section also exempts an interrogation by a probation officer “in the 
normal performance of the probation officer’s duties under [Welfare and Institutions Code] 
[s]ection 625, 627.5, or 628.”3 
The Commission finds that the Test Claim was timely filed within 365 days of both the effective 
date of the test claim statute and the date of first incurring costs pursuant to that statute.4   
The Commission also finds that section 625.6(a) imposes a reimbursable state-mandated 
program on counties and cities as described below.  
First, while section 625.6(a) could arguably be viewed as requiring minors themselves to procure 
and consult with legal counsel before they allow themselves to be interrogated by local law 
enforcement, the other provisions of section 625.6,5 the legislative history of that section,6 and 
the section’s statutory context7 all indicate that section 625.6(a) imposes its requirement on law 
enforcement, not minors.8  Thus, the Commission finds that the statute requires law enforcement 
                                                 
1 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a). 
2 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(c). 
3 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(d). 
4 Government Code section 17551; California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.1(c). 
5 See Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(b) (penalizing law enforcement for violations 
of section 625.6(a)), (c) (excepting an interrogating officer from section 625.6(a) under specific 
circumstances), and (d) (excepting a probation officer from section 625.6(a) when in the normal 
performance of their duties under section 625, 627.5, or 628). 
6 See e.g. Exhibit E (4), Assembly Committee on Appropriations, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-
2020 Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 1 (stating that the test claim statute 
“requires law enforcement to provide a person 17 years of age or younger access to legal counsel 
before the person waives their Miranda rights” (emphasis added)). 
7 See e.g. Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.5 (requiring a probation officer to advise a 
minor in temporary custody, as specified, to advise the minor of their Miranda rights and notify 
the judge of the juvenile court if the minor or the minor’s parent or guardian requests counsel). 
8 See In re Anthony L. (2019) 43 Cal.App.5th 438, 450 (interpreting section 625.6(a) as imposing 
its requirement on law enforcement without discussion); Y.C. v. Superior Court (2021) 71 
Cal.App.5th 410, 252, as modified on denial of reh’g (Dec. 6, 2021), review denied (Feb. 16, 
2022) (same). 
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to ensure that youths, 17 years old or younger, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial 
interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  In instances where the youth does not 
exercise their right to retain a private attorney, this includes providing legal counsel to provide 
the consultation in person, by telephone, or by video conference prior to a custodial 
interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.   
The Commission further finds that counties and cities are mandated to comply with the test claim 
statute.  The requirement imposed by the test claim statute is triggered by law enforcement’s 
decision to interrogate a minor.  However, case law suggests that a local decision is not truly 
voluntary if it is, as a practical matter, constrained by duty.9  Because a law enforcement 
officer’s decision to interrogate a minor is constrained by the officer’s sworn duty to investigate 
apparent criminal activity10 and to protect the citizenry,11 the Commission finds that law 
enforcement’s decision to interrogate a minor is not a truly voluntary decision that would 
preclude reimbursement for downstream costs.   
However, the requirements are not state-mandated with respect to school districts and 
community college districts since they are statutorily authorized, but not required, to hire peace 
officers and, unlike counties and cities, do not provide policing services as a core function or 
duty.12  And there is no evidence in the record showing that the districts are compelled to provide 
policing services as a practical matter to carry out their core educational functions.13 
The Commission finds that the test claim statute’s requirements are new with respect to 16 and 
17 year olds except for those who affirmatively request to consult with retained private counsel.  
Prior to the test claim statute, federal and state law required state and local law enforcement to 
provide a minor with legal counsel, and prohibited interrogation or further interrogation of that 
minor until counsel has been provided or the individual has validly waived their right thereto, 
when the minor affirmatively requested counsel.14  And Welfare and Institutions Code section 

                                                 
9 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 887-
888; Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 
Cal.App.4th 1355, 1367-1368. 
10 See People v. Coston (1990) 221 Cal.App.3d 898, 903; McCain v. Sheridan (1958) 160 
Cal.App.2d 174, 177-178. 
11 Lopez v. Southern Cal. Rapid Transit Dist. (1985) 40 Cal.3d 780, 799; Pasos v. Los Angeles 
County Civil Service Commission (2020) 52 Cal.App.5th 690, 702, as modified on denial of reh'g 
(Aug. 18, 2020). 
12 Education Code sections 38000, 72330; Department of Finance v. Commission on State 
Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 1368. 
13 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (Kern High School Dist.) (2003) 30 
Cal.4th 727, 744, 754; Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) 
(2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 1368.   
14 See Malloy v. Hogan (1964) 378 U.S. 1, 11 (Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination 
applies against both state and federal authorities); see e.g. Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 
436, 494-498 (applying the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination to interrogations 
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625.6, as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 681, further required law enforcement to ensure that 
minors 15 years or younger consult with legal counsel before custodial interrogation and the 
waiver of any Miranda rights, with certain exceptions.  However, there was no requirement to 
provide counsel to 16- or 17-year-old minors at the interrogation stage.  Instead, Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 634 provides that the appointment of counsel to minors who appear 
without counsel occurs later at the detention hearing.  The detention hearing is required to be 
provided “before the expiration of the next judicial day after a petition to declare the minor a 
ward or dependent child has been filed.”15  Thus, under prior law, if a 16- or 17-year-old minor 
requested counsel but did not have counsel at the interrogation stage, local law enforcement had 
no choice but to refrain from interrogating the minor.  The only 16- or 17-year-old minors who 
would have the opportunity to consult with counsel prior to the detention hearing were those who 
chose to retain counsel.  Accordingly, the requirement of the test claim statute is not new when 
16- or 17-year-old minors who affirmatively request to consult with retained private counsel.  
Thus, the test claim statute’s requirement that law enforcement ensure that minors consult with 
legal counsel prior to a custodial interrogation or the waiver of any Miranda rights is new with 
respect to minors 16 or 17 years of age except for those who affirmatively request to consult with 
retained private counsel. 
The Commission finds the test claim statute imposes a new program or higher level of service in 
an existing program because it both imposes unique requirements on local agencies that do not 
generally apply to all residents and entities in the state and carries out the governmental function 
of providing a service to the public, either of which is sufficient for a requirement to constitute a 
“program” within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6.16  The test claim statute imposes 
unique requirements on local agencies because it only applies in the context of custodial 
interrogations,17 which are uniquely governmental actions defined as “questioning initiated by 
law enforcement officers after a person has been taken into custody or otherwise deprived of his 
freedom of action in any significant way.”18  The test claim statute carries out the governmental 
function of providing a service to the public by seeking to minimize false confessions extracted 
from minors in custodial interrogations19 and protect minors from “psychologically coercive 
interrogations and other psychologically coercive dealings with the police.”20   

                                                 
conducted by local police officers).  If an individual has a private attorney, they may of course 
consult with that attorney instead of relying on government-appointed counsel.  (Miranda v. 
Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 471-473; Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625 and 627.5.) 
15 Welfare and Institutions Code section 632.   
16 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 
17 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a). 
18 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 38 U.S. 436, 444, emphasis added. 
19 See Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 
Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 4. 
20 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1. 
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Finally, the Commission finds there is substantial evidence that the claimant has incurred 
increased costs mandated by the state to comply with the test claim statute.21  Moreover, 
although Statutes 2020, chapter 92 and Penal Code section 987.6 provide potential sources of 
offsetting revenue to counties for public defender and appointed counsel costs, that revenue is 
not “specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund 
the cost of the state mandate” such that Government Code section 17556(e) would preclude 
reimbursement.  And none of the other exceptions to reimbursement in Government Code 
section 17556 apply.  Consequently, the Commission finds that the test claim statute imposes 
increased costs mandated by the state. 
Accordingly, the Commission approves this Test Claim and finds that Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 625.6(a), as amended by Statutes 2020, chapter 335, imposes a reimbursable state-
mandated program on counties and cities, beginning January 1, 2021, to perform the following 
activity: 

• Ensure that youths, ages 16 and 17, except for those who affirmatively request to consult 
with retained private counsel, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial interrogation 
and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  In instances where the youth does not 
exercise their right to retain a private attorney, this includes providing legal counsel to 
consult with the youth in person, by telephone, or by video conference prior to a custodial 
interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights. 

The following state funds will be identified in the Parameters and Guidelines as potential 
offsetting revenues: 

• Funding appropriated from the General Fund by Statutes 2020, chapter 92 (AB 1869) to 
backfill a county for the revenue lost due to the repeal of former Penal Code section 
987.4 and former Government Code section 27712, which provided funding for the costs 
of defense counsel and legal assistance in criminal proceedings, to the extent that the 
funds are used to offset a county’s costs to comply with the mandate. 

• Funding made available to counties pursuant to Penal Code section 987.6 for providing 
legal assistance for persons charged with violations of state criminal law or involuntarily 
detained under the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act and used to offset a county’s costs to 
comply with the mandate. 

Reimbursement is not required in the following situations: 

                                                 
21 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11, 18-20 (Declaration of Cris 
Mercurio, Head Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s 
Office, para. 15 and Attachment A), and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, Departmental Finance 
Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, paras. 3 and 5); See 
Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular 
Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 4; Exhibit E (12), U.S. Department of Justice, Office 
of Justice Programs, Juvenile Justice Statistics National Report Series Bulletin (May 2021), page 
3, https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/publications/juvenile-arrests-2019.pdf (accessed on July 7, 2022).   

https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/publications/juvenile-arrests-2019.pdf
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• When the 16 or 17 year old affirmatively requests to consult with retained private counsel 
prior to interrogation and before waiver of any Miranda rights, which is required by 
existing state and federal law.22 

• For school districts or community college districts, who are authorized but not required 
by state law to employ peace officers.23 

• When the officer who questioned the youth reasonably believed the information the 
officer sought was necessary to protect life or property from an imminent threat and the 
officer’s questions were limited to those questions that were reasonably necessary to 
obtain that information.24 

• In the normal performance of a probation officer’s duties under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 625, 627.5, or 628.25 

COMMISSION FINDINGS 
I. Chronology 

01/01/2021 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 was amended by Statutes 2020, 
chapter 335. 

12/22/2021 The claimant filed the Test Claim.26 
03/07/2022 The Department of Finance (Finance) filed comments on the Test Claim.27 
04/06/2022 The claimant filed rebuttal comments.28 
09/13/2022 Commission staff issued the Draft Proposed Decision.29 
12/02/2022 The Commission continued the hearing on the Test Claim.30 

01/12/2023 Commission staff issued the Revised Proposed Decision. 

                                                 
22 Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625, 627.5; Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 
470-473. 
23 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
24 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(c)(2). 
25 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(d). 
26 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 1. 
27 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 1. 
28 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 1. 
29 Exhibit D, Draft Proposed Decision, issued September 13, 2022. 
30 Exhibit E (13), Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the  
December 2, 2022 Commission Meeting. 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS625&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS627.5&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS628&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
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II. Background 
 The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution and Custodial 

Interrogations under Federal and State Law. 
The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution, applicable to the states through the 
Fourteenth Amendment,31 provides that “No person shall … be compelled in any criminal case 
to be a witness against himself …” 
In Miranda v. Arizona, the United States Supreme Court held that this privilege against self-
incrimination applies to custodial interrogations.32  A custodial interrogation occurs when “a 
person has been taken into custody or otherwise deprived of his freedom of action in any 
significant way.”33  Such interrogations, the court concluded, “contain[] inherently compelling 
pressures which work to undermine the individual’s will to resist and to compel him to speak 
where he would not otherwise do so freely.”34  “In order to combat these pressures” and “to 
assure that the individual’s right to choose between silence and speech remains unfettered 
throughout the interrogation process,” the court held that individuals facing custodial 
interrogation must be afforded several rights.35  These rights are set forth in an advisement often 
referred to as a Miranda warning.36 
The individual in custody and prior to interrogation must be advised of their Fifth Amendment 
right to remain silent,37 provided with an explanation that anything they say can and will be used 

                                                 
31 Malloy v. Hogan (1964) 378 U.S. 1, 6. 
32 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 461. 
33 People v. Ochoa (1998) 19 Cal.4th 353, 401; see also J.D.B. v. North Carolina (2011) 564 
U.S. 261, 270 (Both “custody” and “interrogation” are terms of art.  A suspect is “in custody” if 
a reasonable person in the same circumstances would not have felt at liberty to terminate the 
interrogation and leave.); Pennsylvania v. Muniz (1990) 496 U.S. 582, 601 (A suspect is under 
interrogation if they are subject to “express questioning or words or actions that, given the 
officer's knowledge of any special susceptibilities of the suspect, the officer knows or reasonably 
should know are likely to “have ... the force of a question on the accused,” (Citation), and 
therefore be reasonably likely to elicit an incriminating response.”).   
34 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 467. 
35 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 467 & 469. 
36 See e.g. Missouri v. Seibert (2004) 542 U.S. 600, 604.  “The right to counsel for purposes of 
custodial interrogation implicates the Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination, and 
must be distinguished from the Sixth Amendment right to counsel, which attaches upon the 
initiation of formal criminal proceedings.”  (People v. Nelson (2012) 53 Cal.4th 367, 371 (citing 
to U.S. Const., 5th & 6th Amends.; People v. Gonzalez (2005) 34 Cal.4th 1111, 1123 [discussing 
McNeil v. Wisconsin (1991) 501 U.S. 171, 177-178].) 
37 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 467-468. 



8 
Juveniles:  Custodial Interrogation, 21-TC-01 

Decision 

against them,38 clearly informed of their right to counsel,39 and advised that a lawyer will be 
appointed to represent them if they cannot afford one.40  If an individual wishes to forgo these 
rights, they may validly waive them by doing so “voluntarily, knowingly and intelligently.”41 
Law enforcement must respect these rights by ceasing interrogation once the individual 
“indicates in any manner, at any time prior to or during questioning, that [they] wish[] to remain 
silent” or “states that [they] want[] an attorney.”42   
As the Court elaborated, an individual invoking their right to counsel “does not mean, as some 
have suggested, that each police station must have a ‘station house lawyer’ present at all times to 
advise prisoners … If authorities conclude that they will not provide counsel during a reasonable 
period of time in which investigation in the field is carried out, they may refrain from doing so 
without violating the person’s Fifth Amendment privilege so long as they do not question [them] 
during that time.”43 
If law enforcement fails to respect these rights, “a heavy burden rests on the government to 
demonstrate that the defendant knowingly and intelligently waived [their] privilege against self-
incrimination and [their] right to retained or appointed counsel.”44 
These protections have long been enshrined in state law.45  In 1968, a year after Miranda was 
handed down, the Legislature codified these rights specifically for minors who are taken into 
temporary custody at Welfare and Institutions Code section 625: 

In any case where a minor is taken into temporary custody on the ground that 
there is reasonable cause for believing that such minor is a person described in 
Section 601 or 602, or that he has violated an order of the juvenile court or 
escaped from any commitment ordered by the juvenile court, the officer shall 
advise such minor that anything he says can be used against him and shall advise 
him of his constitutional rights, including his right to remain silent, his right to 

                                                 
38 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 469. 
39 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 471. 
40 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 473. 
41 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 444. 
42 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 473-474. 
43 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 474. 
44 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 475. 
45 California Constitution article I, section 15.  See People v. May (1988) 44 Cal.3d 309, 316 
(“The question is not whether the [defendant] had a constitutional right [under Miranda] to 
refuse to disclose any information during the police interrogation [ ]. He clearly had such rights 
under both the state and federal Constitutions.”); see also Evidence Code section 940 (“To the 
extent that such privilege exists under the Constitution of the United States or the State of 
California, a person has a privilege to refuse to disclose any matter that may tend to incriminate 
him.”). 
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have counsel present during any interrogation, and his right to have counsel 
appointed if he is unable to afford counsel.46 

That same year, the Legislature enacted Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.5, which 
provides the same right to counsel when a minor is taken into temporary custody before a 
probation officer: 

In any case where a minor is taken before a probation officer pursuant to the 
provisions of Section 626 [temporary custody] and it is alleged that such minor is 
a person described in Section 601 or 602, the probation officer shall immediately 
advise the minor and his parent or guardian that anything the minor says can be 
used against him and shall advise them of the minor’s constitutional rights, 
including his right to remain silent, his right to have counsel present during any 
interrogation, and his right to have counsel appointed if he is unable to afford 
counsel. If the minor or his parent or guardian requests counsel, the probation 
officer shall notify the judge of the juvenile court of such request and counsel for 
the minor shall be appointed pursuant to Section 634.47 

Welfare and Institutions section 634 provides that “[i]n a case in which the minor is alleged to be 
a person described in Section 601 or 602, the court shall appoint counsel for the minor if he or 
she appears at the hearing without counsel, whether he or she is unable to afford counsel or not, 
unless there is an intelligent waiver of the right of counsel by the minor.”  The hearing at which 
counsel is appointed is a detention hearing which must take place “before the expiration of the 
next judicial day after a petition to declare the minor a ward or dependent child has been filed.”48  
A juvenile delinquency detention hearing is also commonly called an arraignment.49 
California has long provided the statutory right to adults, after arrest, to make a phone call to an 
attorney.50  In 1971, the Legislature amended Welfare and Institutions Code section 627 to 
provide that immediately after a minor has been taken “to a place of confinement” and “no later 
than three hours after [the minor] has been taken into custody,” the minor shall be advised that 

                                                 
46 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.  This language was amended into the section by 
Statutes 1967, chapter 1355, and has remained in that section unchanged ever since.  (See 
Stats.1971, ch. 1730 § 1, Stats. 1971, ch. 1748, § 69; Stats.1976, ch. 1068, § 24.) 
47 Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.5, added by Statutes 1967, chapter 1355.  The 
section has not been amended since. 
48 Welfare and Institutions Code section 632.   
49 Exhibit E (14), Juvenile FAQs, Law Offices of Los Angeles County Public Defender website, 
https://pubdef.lacounty.gov/juvenile/juv-faqs/ (accessed on December 22, 2022). 
50 Penal Code section 851.5, added by Statutes 1959, chapter 1862.  As amended in 1975, Penal 
Code section 851.5(b) requires any police or detention facility to post a conspicuous sign which 
provides the phone number for the public defender or other indigent defense counsel.  Although 
the corollary statute for minors, Welfare and Institutions Code section 627 was amended five 
years later in 1980, the requirement for the posting of a sign was not included and Penal Code 
section 851.5 is not applicable to minors. 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS634&originatingDoc=N2E3719E08CB211D882FF83A3182D7B4A&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=13b402d1396b4f019fc4272cb931c8cc&contextData=(sc.Category)
https://pubdef.lacounty.gov/juvenile/juv-faqs/
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they have the right to make at least two phone calls at their own expense:  one to their parent or 
guardian, a responsible relative or their employer, and the other to an attorney.51  As further 
amended in 1980, Welfare and Institutions Code section 627 now states the following: 

Immediately after being taken to a place of confinement pursuant to this article 
and, except where physically impossible, no later than one hour after he has been 
taken into custody, the minor shall be advised and has the right to make at least 
two telephone calls from the place where he is being held, one call completed to 
his parent or guardian, a responsible relative, or his employer, and another call 
completed to an attorney. The calls shall be at public expense, if the calls are 
completed to telephone numbers within the local calling area, and in the presence 
of a public officer or employee. Any public officer or employee who willfully 
deprives a minor taken into custody of his right to make such telephone calls is 
guilty of a misdemeanor.52 

Although minors, like adults, may legally effectuate a valid waiver of their Miranda rights,53 
jurists have increasingly questioned whether minors — particularly young children — are truly 
capable of voluntarily, knowingly, and intelligently waiving their rights and understanding the 
consequences of not invoking them.54  “A growing body of research indicates that adolescents 
are less capable of understanding their constitutional rights than their adult counterparts, and are 
also more prone to falsely confessing to a crime they did not commit.”55 
Such concerns have led courts to recognize the propriety — and often need — of taking a 
juvenile suspect’s minor status into account when determining whether the child is in 
“custody”56 or has made a legally valid waiver of their Miranda rights.57  For example, the court 
in In re IF, explained how these custody determinations are made in juvenile cases: 

Custody determinations are resolved by an objective standard: Would a 
reasonable person interpret the restraints used by the police as tantamount to a 
formal arrest? [Citations.] The totality of the circumstances surrounding an 
incident must be considered as a whole.” (People v. Pilster (2006) 138 

                                                 
51 Welfare and Institutions Code section 627, as amended by Statutes 1971, chapter 1030. 
52 Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.  as amended by Statutes 1980, chapter 1092. 
53 Fare v. Michael C. (1979) 442 U.S. 707, 724-725. 
54 See e.g. In re Joseph H. (2015) 200 Cal.Rptr.3d 1, 1-5 (statement by Liu, J., dissenting from 
denial of review). 
55 Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular 
Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 4; see also In re Elias V. (2015) 237 Cal.App.4th 568, 
577-578, 588-589, as modified (June 24, 2015) (“The developing consensus about the dangers of 
interrogation has resulted from the growing number of studies showing that the risk interrogation 
will produce a false confession is significantly greater for juveniles than for adults; indeed, 
juveniles usually account for one-third of proven false confession cases.”). 
56 J.D.B. v. North Carolina (2011) 564 U.S. 261, 277. 
57 Fare v. Michael C. (1979) 442 U.S. 707, 725. 
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Cal.App.4th 1395, 1403, 42 Cal.Rptr.3d 301, fn. omitted.) Courts have identified 
a variety of circumstances to be considered as part of the custody determination. . 
. . 
In juvenile cases, the same factors still apply, but with an added consideration. In 
J.D.B. v. North Carolina (2011) 564 U.S. 261, 131 S.Ct. 2394, 180 L.Ed.2d 310 
(J.D.B.), the U.S. Supreme Court concluded that a child’s age may be considered 
in the Miranda analysis, “so long as the child’s age was known to the officer at 
the time of police questioning, or would have been objectively apparent to a 
reasonable officer.” (Id. at p. 277, 131 S.Ct. 2394.) The court recognized that, “a 
reasonable child subjected to police questioning will sometimes feel pressured to 
submit when a reasonable adult would feel free to go.” (Id. at p. 272, 131 S.Ct. 
2394; see also Haley v. Ohio (1948) 332 U.S. 596, 599, 68 S.Ct. 302, 92 L.Ed. 
224 [in the context of police interrogation, events “[t]hat would leave a man cold 
and unimpressed can overawe and overwhelm a lad in his early teens”].) 
Although age may not be a significant factor in every case, the court observed, 
common sense dictates that “children cannot be viewed simply as miniature 
adults.” (J.D.B., supra, at pp. 262 & 274, 131 S.Ct. 2394.) Accordingly, the court 
concluded that “a child’s age properly informs the Miranda custody analysis.” 
(Id. at p. 265, 131 S.Ct. 2394.)58 

However, neither the United States Supreme Court nor the California Supreme Court has yet 
interpreted the Fifth Amendment as requiring additional protections for minors facing custodial 
interrogations.59 
In order to address this perceived shortcoming,60 the California Legislature has, in recent years, 
passed two bills requiring minors to consult with legal counsel before undergoing custodial 
interrogations:  Statutes 2017, chapter 681 and the test claim statute, Statutes 2020, chapter 335. 

 Statutes 2017, Chapter 681  
Statutes 2017, chapter 681 added Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6.  As enacted, that 
section generally required “a youth 15 years of age or younger [to] consult with legal counsel in 

                                                 
58 In re IF (2018) 20 Cal.App.5th 735, 760.  See also Fare v. Michael C. (1979) 442 U.S. 707, 
724-725 (“[T]he determination whether statements obtained during custodial interrogation are 
admissible against the accused is to be made upon an inquiry into the totality of the 
circumstances surrounding the interrogation, to ascertain whether the accused in fact knowingly 
and voluntarily decided to forgo his rights to remain silent and to have the assistance of counsel. 
[Citation.] [¶] This totality-of-the-circumstances approach is adequate to determine whether there 
has been a waiver even where interrogation of juveniles is involved.”). 
59 See In re Joseph H. (2015) 200 Cal.Rptr.3d 1, 1-5 (statement by Liu, J., dissenting from denial 
of review). 
60 See Exhibit E (1), Senate Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 395 (2017-2018 
Regular Session), as introduced, pages 2-3; Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public 
Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, pages 4-7. 
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http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2025498890&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=Ie1e05210183811e897d2b4015045a390&refType=RP&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2025498890&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=Ie1e05210183811e897d2b4015045a390&refType=RP&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2025498890&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=Ie1e05210183811e897d2b4015045a390&refType=RP&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)
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http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=1966131580&pubNum=0000780&originatingDoc=Ie1e05210183811e897d2b4015045a390&refType=RP&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=Y&serNum=2025498890&pubNum=0000708&originatingDoc=Ie1e05210183811e897d2b4015045a390&refType=RP&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Search)


12 
Juveniles:  Custodial Interrogation, 21-TC-01 

Decision 

person, by telephone, or by video conference” prior to a custodial interrogation and before 
waiving their Miranda rights.  That section also prohibited the youth from waiving this 
consultation.61  
To discourage violations, the section required courts to “consider the effect of a failure to comply 
with”62 the requirement when deciding whether a child properly waived their Miranda rights and 
determining whether the statements were voluntary.63  
The section exempted an officer from its requirement if the officer both (1) reasonably believed 
the information sought was necessary to protect life or property from an imminent threat and (2) 
limited their questions to those reasonably necessary to obtain that information.64  The section 
also exempted probation officers from this requirement when taking a minor into temporary 
custody, advising the minor of their constitutional rights, or investigating the circumstances for 
which the minor was taken into custody, as specified.65 
All of these provisions were to sunset on January 1, 2025.66 
The Legislature’s stated motivation for enacting these provisions was the increased vulnerability 
of children and adolescents “to psychologically coercive interrogations and in other dealings 
with the police [as compared with] resilient adults experienced with the criminal justice 
system.”67  Because of these vulnerabilities, it was the Legislature’s view that youths under 18 

                                                 
61 Former Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a), as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 
681, section 2. 
62 Former Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(b), as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 
681, section 2.  This is not the same as requiring the statements to be excluded.  The Truth-in-
Evidence provision of the California Constitution prohibits exclusion of evidence in a criminal 
proceeding except pursuant to the United States Constitution or a state statute enacted by a two-
thirds vote of the membership in each house of the Legislature.  Because Statutes 2017, chapter 
681 did not receive a two-thirds vote in at least one house, that statute could not require the 
exclusion of statements obtained in violation of its provisions.  (In re Anthony L. (2019) 43 
Cal.App.5th 438, 449-450.) 
63 In re Anthony L. (2019) 43 Cal.App.5th 438, 450. 
64 Former Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(c), as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 
681, section 2. 
65 Former Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(d), as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 
681, section 2; see also Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 
395 (2017-2018 Regular Session), as amended September 7, 2017, page 1. 
66 Former Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(f), as added by Statutes 2017, chapter 
681, section 2. 
67 Statutes 2017, chapter 681, section 1. 
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years of age facing custodial interrogations “should consult with legal counsel to assist in their 
understanding of their rights and the consequences of waiving those rights.”68 

 The Test Claim Statute – Statutes 2020, Chapter 335 
Statutes 2020, chapter 335 amended Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 to expand the 
provisions enacted by Statutes 2017, chapter 681 in several ways.  First, it permanently expanded 
these requirements to also apply to 16 and 17 year olds.  As amended by the test claim statute, 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a) now also requires youths of 16 or 17 years of age 
to “consult with legal counsel in person, by telephone, or by video conference” “[p]rior to a 
custodial interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.”69  As under the original 
version of section 625.6, the legal consultation may not be waived. 
Second, the test claim statute removed the January 1, 2025, sunset date, thereby also permanently 
requiring youths of 15 years of age or younger to consult with legal counsel prior to a custodial 
interrogation or waiving their Miranda rights.70   
And third, the test claim statute additionally requires a court to consider any willful violation of 
either of these requirements in determining the credibility of a law enforcement officer under 
Evidence Code section 780.71 
With these amendments, Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 now states the following: 

(a) Prior to a custodial interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights, a youth 17 
years of age or younger shall consult with legal counsel in person, by telephone, or by 
video conference. The consultation may not be waived. 

(b) The court shall, in adjudicating the admissibility of statements of a youth 17 years of age 
or younger made during or after a custodial interrogation, consider the effect of failure to 
comply with subdivision (a) and, additionally, shall consider any willful violation of 
subdivision (a) in determining the credibility of a law enforcement officer under Section 
780 of the Evidence Code. 

(c) This section does not apply to the admissibility of statements of a youth 17 years of age 
or younger if both of the following criteria are met: 
(1) The officer who questioned the youth reasonably believed the information the officer 

sought was necessary to protect life or property from an imminent threat. 
(2) The officer’s questions were limited to those questions that were reasonably 

necessary to obtain that information. 

                                                 
68 Statutes 2017, chapter 681, section 1. 
69 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a). 
70 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 2. 
71 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(b). 
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(d) This section does not require a probation officer to comply with subdivision (a) in the 
normal performance of the probation officer’s duties under Section 625, 627.5, or 628.72 

The legislative findings accompanying these provisions echoed those contained in Statutes 2017, 
chapter 681.73  They describe the vulnerability of minors to “psychologically coercive 
interrogations and other psychologically coercive dealings with the police,”74 which committee 
analyses of the bill note also make minors more prone to falsely confessing to crimes they do not 
commit.75  The legislative findings also declare the Legislature’s view that “[i]n situations of 
custodial interrogation and prior to making a waiver of rights under Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 
384 U.S. 436, a youth under 18 years of age should consult with legal counsel to assist in their 
understanding of their rights and the consequences of waiving those rights.”76  
Although the test claim statute does not explicitly state who must pay for the legal consultations 
that it requires, committee analyses of both the test claim statute and its predecessor display a 
legislative expectation that counties and cities would be responsible for these expenses.77  In 
addition, the Senate Floor Analysis of the test claim statute explains the fiscal effect of the bill 
based on county public defender costs as follows: 

According to the Assembly Appropriations Committee, cost pressures (Local 
Funds/General Fund (GF) - Proposition 30) in the low millions of dollars annually 
for 482 cities and 58 counties to provide legal counsel to minors ages 16 and 17 
prior to custodial interrogations. The Department of Justice reported 
approximately 43,000 juvenile arrests in 2019. The average hourly rate for 
attorneys in California is approximately $250. If 10%, or 4,300 of those arrested 
as juveniles are 16 or 17 years of age, annual costs across the state for legal 

                                                 
72 Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625, 627.5, and 628 describe the “normal course of 
duties” of a probation officer with respect to minors in temporary custody.  (See Exhibit E (3), 
Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular Session), as 
amended July 27, 2020, page 2).  Section 625 describes the situations in which a peace officer 
may take a minor into temporary custody without a warrant.  If the minor is then taken before the 
probation officer of the relevant county, section 627.5 requires that probation officer to advise 
the minor and their guardian of the minor’s Miranda rights and, if those rights are invoked, 
requires appointment of that counsel, while section 628 further requires that probation officer to 
immediately investigate the circumstances for which the minor was taken into custody, as 
specified.   
73 See Statutes 2017, chapter 681, section 1; Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1. 
74 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1. 
75 Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular 
Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 4. 
76 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1. 
77 See e.g. Exhibit E (2), Senate Committee on Appropriations, Analysis of SB 395 (2017-2018 
Regular Session), as introduced, page 1; Exhibit E (4), Assembly Committee on Appropriations, 
Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 1. 
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services will be approximately $2.2 million dollars. Public defender costs vary 
across the state but, in most cases, suspects are not required to pay any fee for 
public defender services. These costs may be reimbursable by the state pursuant 
to requirements of Proposition 30. Costs to the GF will depend on whether the 
Commission on State Mandates determines these costs to be reimbursable.78 

III. Positions of the Parties 
 County of Los Angeles 

The claimant, County of Los Angeles, alleges that the test claim statute imposes a reimbursable 
state-mandated program under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution.  According 
to the claimant, the test claim statute’s requirement that 16 and 17 year olds consult with legal 
counsel prior to a custodial interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights,79 
constitutes a reimbursable state-mandated program because the required activities are only 
provided by local governmental agencies and also because providing these activities constitutes a 
higher level of service.80  
The claimant states that it complied with Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 as follows: 

To comply with WIC § 625.6, law enforcement agencies in the County contact 
the Public Defender to arrange Miranda consultations (consultations) for juveniles 
prior to custodial interrogations. These contacts by law enforcement agencies are 
referred to by the Public Defender as Miranda Calls. [Fn. Omitted.] The Public 
Defender created the Juvenile Miranda Duty program to perform these 
consultations. [Fn. Omitted.] The Public Defender is the primary agency that 
provides indigent defense services to those accused of crimes and is the only 
agency providing consultations in the County. 
The Juvenile Miranda Duty program is staffed by Public Defender attorneys who 
are available 24 hours a day, every day of the year. [Fn. Omitted.] The attorneys 
are assigned shifts that are referred to by the Public Defender as Miranda Duty. 
Consultations are conducted over the telephone or in person. An attorney will 
interview the youth and discuss with the youth his or her Miranda rights. The 
duration of the consultation may vary depending on various factors, including the 
youth’s level of education, experience, maturity, and sophistication. 

                                                 
78 Exhibit E (5), Senate Rules Committee, Office of Senate Floor Analyses, Analysis of SB 203, 
(2019-2020 Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, pages 6-7. 
79 See Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2 (“The County 
agrees that the mandated program stated in Senate Bill (SB) 203 should be narrowly focused to 
capture the costs incurred in providing services to juveniles with a maximum age 15 years to 17 
years of age. The County is aware that the deadline for filing a test claim on SB 395 has passed; 
however, the program was extended by the Legislature in SB 203 to include older juveniles. The 
County urges the Commission to grant the test claim as it relates to those older juveniles with a 
maximum age 15 years to 17 years of age.”). 
80 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 13. 
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Pursuant to SB 203, a law enforcement agency contacts the Public Defender’s 
Juvenile Headquarters or County Operator to arrange for a legal consultation prior 
to a custodial interrogation. [Fn. Omitted.] The supervising attorney then arranges 
the consultation or designates another attorney to handle the Miranda Call. The 
supervising attorneys are assigned Miranda Duty on a weekly rotating basis. 
Prior to the passage of these laws, the Public Defender was not obligated to 
provide any representation before appointment at the arraignment stage of a 
criminal proceeding. Now, the Public Defender is required to provide 
consultations for juvenile arrestees prior to their appointment at the arraignment 
stage.81 

The claimant alleges that it incurred increased costs of $5,821.45 in the 2020-2021 fiscal year to 
comply with the test claim statute.82  Specifically, the claimant alleges that it incurred these costs 
in providing consultations to minors as part of its Juvenile Miranda Duty program, described 
above.83   
The claimant further estimates that it will incur $13,000 in increased costs for complying with 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 in the 2021-2022 fiscal year84 and that annual costs 
across the state for legal services will be approximately $6,427,500.85 
The claimant also states that it has not received any funding to offset its costs incurred pursuant 
to the test claim statute.86  This includes any funding received pursuant to Statutes 2020, chapter 
92 (AB 1869).  According to the claimant, all of the public defender fees that were eliminated by 
that bill related to the registration and cost of court-appointed lawyers, and therefore could not 
have been used to offset costs incurred pursuant to the test claim statute, which the claimant 
                                                 
81 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 10. 
82 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11, 18-20 (Declaration of Cris 
Mercurio, Head Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s 
Office, para. 15 and Attachment A), and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, Departmental Finance 
Manager II in the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, paras. 3 and 5).  
83 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 10-11, 18-19 (Declaration of Cris 
Mercurio, Head Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s 
Office, para. 15), and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, Departmental Finance Manager II in the 
County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, para. 3). 
84 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11 and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, 
Departmental Finance Manager II in the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, paras. 
5 and 6). 
85 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11 and 22 (Declaration of Sung Lee, 
Departmental Finance Manager II in the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, para. 
7). 
86 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 12, 15,  and 21 (Declaration of Sung 
Lee, Departmental Finance Manager II in the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, 
para. 6). 
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maintains requires legal consultations prior to the appointment of counsel.87  Thus, any funding 
received to backfill revenues lost from the repeal of those fees would similarly not be provided to 
offset those costs.88 
The claimant did not file comments on the Draft Proposed Decision.  However, at the hearing on 
December 2, 2022, Craig Osaki, with the Los Angeles County’s Public Defender’s Office, 
testified under oath that the public defender’s office is appointed to a minor’s case at the 
arraignment hearing which begins their obligation to defend.  He explained that the interrogation 
of a minor happens before the appointment of counsel at the arraignment hearing.  He stated that 
under the test claim statute, which requires consultation prior to the interrogation, the public 
defender’s office is obligated to provide the consultation whether or not the minor affirmatively 
requests counsel.89  He further clarified that after an advisement under Miranda, if the minor 
invokes their right to counsel, the interrogation ceases and an attorney will be provided at the 
arraignment hearing if charges are brought forth.  A peace officer seeking to interrogate a minor 
cannot appoint counsel.  Generally, under prior law, the officer would cease the interrogation 
until after the arraignment if the right to counsel were invoked.90 

 Department of Finance 
Finance points out that the claimant’s alleged costs may include costs not required by the test 
claim statute.91  Finance observes that although preexisting law already required local agencies 
to provide legal consultations to youths ages 15 years of age or younger, the claimant does not 
exclude those minors in calculating its statewide cost estimate.92  Accordingly, “Finance 
recommends the Commission examine the estimated costs cited by the Claimant to ensure they 
only include the increased cost of providing legal counsel to youths ages 16 and 17 years old.”93 
Finance also suggests that state funding provided to the claimant pursuant to Statutes 2020, 
chapter 92 (AB 1869) may serve as an offset to any state-mandated costs incurred by the 
claimant pursuant to the test claim statute.94  Finance notes that Statutes 2020, chapter 92 
repealed various criminal administrative fines and fees, including the public defender fee, and 
annually appropriated $65 million from the State’s General Fund through the 2025-26 fiscal year 

                                                 
87 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2. 
88 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2. 
89 Exhibit E (13), Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the  
December 2, 2022 Commission Meeting, pages 15-16. 
90 Exhibit E (13), Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the  
December 2, 2022 Commission Meeting, pages 17-19. 
91 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 1. 
92 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, pages 1-2. 
93 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 1. 
94 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 2. 
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to backfill counties for the lost fee revenue.95  Accordingly, Finance also recommends the 
Commission consider this funding while reviewing this Test Claim.96 
Finance did not file comments on the Draft Proposed Decision. 

IV. Discussion 
Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution provides in relevant part the following: 

Whenever the Legislature or any state agency mandates a new program or higher 
level of service on any local government, the state shall provide a subvention of 
funds to reimburse such local government for the costs of such programs or 
increased level of service… 

The purpose of article XIII B, section 6 is to “preclude the state from shifting financial 
responsibility for carrying out governmental functions to local agencies, which are ‘ill equipped’ 
to assume increased financial responsibilities because of the taxing and spending limitations that 
articles XIII A and XIII B impose.”97  Thus, the subvention requirement of section 6 is “directed 
to state-mandated increases in the services provided by [local government] …”98 
Reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 is required when the following elements are met: 

1. A state statute or executive order requires or “mandates” local agencies or school 
districts to perform an activity.99 

2. The mandated activity constitutes a “program” that either: 
a. Carries out the governmental function of providing a service to the public; or 
b. Imposes unique requirements on local agencies or school districts and does 

not apply generally to all residents and entities in the state.100 
3. The mandated activity is new when compared with the legal requirements in 

effect immediately before the enactment of the test claim statute or executive 
order and it increases the level of service provided to the public.101 

4. The mandated activity results in the local agency or school district incurring 
increased costs, within the meaning of section 17514.  Increased costs, however, 

                                                 
95 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 2. 
96 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, page 2. 
97 County of San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 81. 
98 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 
99 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874. 
100 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
874-875 (reaffirming the test set out in County of Los Angeles (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56). 
101 San Diego Unified School Dist. (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875, 878; Lucia Mar Unified 
School District v. Honig (1988) 44 Cal.3d 830, 835. 
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are not reimbursable if an exception identified in Government Code section 17556 
applies to the activity.102 

The Commission is vested with the exclusive authority to adjudicate disputes over the existence 
of state-mandated programs within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution.103  The determination whether a statute or executive order imposes a reimbursable 
state-mandated program is a question of law.104  In making its decisions, the Commission must 
strictly construe article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, and not apply it as an 
“equitable remedy to cure the perceived unfairness resulting from political decisions on funding 
priorities.”105 

 The Test Claim Was Timely Filed with a Potential Period of Reimbursement 
Beginning January 1, 2021. 

Government Code section 17551(c) states that test claims “shall be filed not later than 12 months 
following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring 
increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”  Section 1183.1(c) 
of the Commission’s regulations defines 12 months as 365 days.106   
Here, the test claim statute went into effect on January 1, 2021,107 and the claimant asserts that it 
first incurred costs related to implementing that statute on that date.108  The Test Claim was filed 
on December 22, 2021.109  Thus, the Test Claim was timely filed within 365 days of both the 
effective date of the test claim statute and the date that the claimant first incurred costs pursuant 
to that statute.110  
Government Code section 17557(e) requires a test claim to be “submitted on or before June 30 
following a fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year.” 
Because the Test Claim was filed on December 22, 2021, the potential period of reimbursement 
under Government Code section 17557 begins on July 1, 2020.  However, since the test claim 

                                                 
102 County of Fresno v. State of California (1991) 53 Cal.3d 482, 487; County of Sonoma v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1284; Government Code sections 
17514 and 17556. 
103 Kinlaw v. State of California (1991) 54 Cal.3d 326, 335. 
104 County of San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 109. 
105 County of Sonoma v. Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1280 
[citing City of San Jose v. State of California (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1802, 1817]. 
106 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.1(c). 
107 Statutes 2020, chapter 335; see California Constitution article IV, section 8. 
108 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, 
Departmental Finance Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, 
paragraph 4). 
109 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 1. 
110 Government Code section 17551; California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.1(c). 
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statute has a later effective date, the potential period of reimbursement for this Test Claim begins 
on the statute’s effective date, January 1, 2021.   

 Welfare and Institutions Code Section 625.6(a), as Amended by Statutes 2020,  
Chapter 335, Imposes a Reimbursable State-Mandated Program on Cities and 
Counties to Ensure that 16 or 17 Year Olds Consult with Legal Counsel Prior to 
Custodial Interrogation and Before Waiving Any Miranda Rights, Except For Those 
Who Affirmatively Request To Consult With Retained Private Counsel. 

As described below, the Commission finds that Welfare and Institutions section 625.6(a), as 
amended by the test claim statute (Stats. 2020, ch. 335), imposes a reimbursable state-mandated 
program on cities and counties within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution as specified herein. 

1. The Test Claim Statute Imposes a State-Mandated Program, Only on Cities and 
Counties to Ensure that Youths 17 Years of Age or Younger Consult with Legal 
Counsel Prior to Custodial Interrogation and Before Waiving Any Miranda 
Rights. 

As amended by the test claim statute, Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a) states the 
following: 

(a) Prior to a custodial interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights, a youth 17 
years of age or younger shall consult with legal counsel in person, by telephone, or by 
video conference. The consultation may not be waived. 

By the plain language of the statute, subdivision (a) does not apply in the following situations: 

• When the officer who questioned the youth reasonably believed the information the 
officer sought was necessary to protect life or property from an imminent threat and that 
officer’s questions were limited to those questions that were reasonably necessary to 
obtain that information.111 

• In the normal performance of a probation officer’s duties under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 625, 627.5, or 628.112 

                                                 
111 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(c)(2). 
112 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(d). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS625&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS627.5&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS628&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
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The claimant asserts that section 625.6(a) imposes new requirements on itself and other local 
governments to provide 16 and 17 year olds with legal consultations prior to custodial 
interrogations or the waiver of any Miranda rights.113  Finance does not contest this assertion.114   
As explained below, the Commission agrees that the test claim statute imposes state-mandated 
requirements on cities and counties.  While the statutory language could arguably be viewed as 
requiring minors themselves to procure and consult with legal counsel before they allow 
themselves to be interrogated by local law enforcement, the much stronger reading of the 
language is that it places that onus on local law enforcement.   

a. The test claim statute imposes a requirement on local government to ensure that 
youths, 17 years or younger, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial 
interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights. 

The rules of statutory construction require the Commission to construe statutory language in the 
context of its legislative purpose.115  In order to determine that purpose, the Commission, like the 
courts, “must look first to the words of the statute themselves, giving to the language its usual, 
ordinary import and according significance, if possible, to every word, phrase and sentence … 
The words of the statute must be construed in context, keeping in mind the statutory purpose, and 
statutes or statutory sections relating to the same subject must be harmonized, both internally and 
with each other, to the extent possible [Citations.]  Both the legislative history of the statute and 
the wider historical circumstances of its enactment may be considered in ascertaining the 
legislative intent.”116  
Here, Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a), as amended by the test claim statute, 
provides that “a youth 17 years of age or younger shall consult with legal counsel” prior to 

                                                 
113 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, Pages 10-11; see Exhibit C, Claimant’s 
Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2, where the claimant states that “The County 
agrees that the mandated program stated in Senate Bill (SB) 203 should be narrowly focused to 
capture the costs incurred in providing services to juveniles with a maximum age 15 years to 17 
years of age. The County is aware that the deadline for filing a test claim on SB 395 has passed; 
however, the program was extended by the Legislature in SB 203 to include older juveniles. The 
County urges the Commission to grant the test claim as it relates to those older juveniles with a 
maximum age 15 years to 17 years of age.”  Since SB 203, the test claim statute, only expanded 
the alleged program to include 16 and 17 year olds, the Commission understands the claimant’s 
request that “the Commission [] grant the test claim as it relates to those older juveniles” as a 
request for costs associated with juveniles who are 16 or 17 years of age.  Regardless, as 
explained in the Discussion, post, costs associated with ensuring that 15 year olds consult with 
legal counsel prior to a custodial interrogation and the waiver of any Miranda rights are not 
reimbursable in this action because those costs were already imposed by preexisting law 
(specifically, Statutes 2017, chapter 681) at the time the test claim statute was enacted. 
114 See Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, filed March 7, 2022, pages 2-3. 
115 Dyna–Med, Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Com. (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1379, 1386. 
116 Dyna–Med, Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Com. (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1379, 1386-1387. 
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custodial interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  If viewed in isolation, this 
language could be interpreted as requiring the minors themselves to procure and consult with 
legal counsel before waiving their Miranda rights or being interrogated by local law 
enforcement.  “But our courts have recognized that the meaning of isolated statutory language 
can be informed by and indeed must be consistent with the provisions of the relevant statute as 
whole.”117  And in the present matter, those provisions, the legislative history, and the statutory 
context all point to a different reading of subdivision (a). 
First, both the codified and uncodified provisions of the test claim statute indicate that 
subdivision (a) is a requirement on the interrogating officer, not the minor.   
Subdivision (b) indicates that subdivision (a) is a requirement on the interrogating officer by 
essentially penalizing that officer — not the minor — for noncompliance.  If responsibility for 
complying with subdivision (a) lay with the minor, one would expect the penalty for violating 
that subdivision to also lie with the minor.  However, under subdivision (b), that penalty lies with 
the interrogating officer.  Subdivision (b) devalues evidence that an interrogating officer may 
obtain if subdivision (a) is violated by requiring a court to consider the effect of that violation in 
adjudicating the admissibility of statements procured thereby.118  Subdivision (b) also requires 
the court to “consider any willful violation of subdivision (a) in determining the credibility of a 
law enforcement officer.”119  Both of these consequences weaken the case against the minor and 
therefore make much more sense if the onus for compliance with subdivision (a) rests with the 
interrogating officer.  If the onus lay with the minor, these consequences would nonsensically 
disincentivize compliance with that subdivision. 
Subdivisions (c) and (d) similarly indicate that the onus for compliance with subdivision (a) rests 
with the interrogating officer, not the minor.  Subdivision (c) provides that section 625.6 does not 
apply to the admissibility of a minor’s statements if “[t]he officer who questioned the youth 
reasonably believed the information the officer sought was necessary…” and “[t]he officer’s 
questions were limited to those questions that were reasonably necessary to obtain that 
information.”120  And subdivision (d) provides that the section “does not require a probation 
officer to comply with subdivision (a) in the normal performance of the probation officer’s duties 
                                                 
117 People v. Valencia (2017) 3 Cal.5th 347, 356. 
118 See In re Anthony L. (2019) 43 Cal.App.5th 438, 449-450.  In that case, the court also 
concluded that the former version of Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 could not 
render a minor’s inculpatory statements inadmissible because the statute that added that former 
section, Statutes 2017, chapter 681, had not been passed by a two-thirds vote in each house.  
(Ibid.)  However, since the test claim statute was passed by a two-thirds vote in each house (see 
California Legislative Information website, 
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billVotesClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB203 
(accessed on August 18, 2022) (showing that Statutes 2020, chapter 335, passed with 32 votes in 
the Senate and 54 votes in the Assembly)), it is unclear whether courts will continue to interpret 
current section 625.6 in this manner. 
119 Emphasis added.  
120 Emphasis added. 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billVotesClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB203
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under Section 625, 627.5, or 628.”121  Both of the provisions situate control over compliance 
with subdivision (a) with the interrogating officer, not the minor.  
The test claim statute’s uncodified provisions reinforce this reading of subdivision (a).  The 
legislative findings in section one of the test claim statute describe minors as vulnerable and less 
capable than adults and declares that the purpose of the test claim statute is to protect minors 
facing custodial interrogations.122  And, as these findings implicitly recognize, it is law 
enforcement, not the minor, who controls the situation in a custodial interrogation.123  It would 
be contrary to these declarations to read section 625.6(a) as requiring these vulnerable, less 
capable minors to themselves obtain and consult with legal counsel in such an overwhelming 
situation.124 
Second, the legislative history of section 625.6 similarly indicates that the section imposes its 
requirement on law enforcement, not the minor.  The legislative history of a section includes 
committee analyses of the bills that enacted and amended it,125 and here, those analyses display a 
clear legislative intent to impose a duty on law enforcement, not minors.  The Assembly 
Committee on Appropriations’ analysis of the test claim statute explicitly states that the bill 
“requires law enforcement to provide a person 17 years of age or younger access to legal counsel 

                                                 
121 Emphasis added. 
122 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1 (“The United States Supreme Court has recognized 
[that] [¶] … Children are generally less mature and responsible than adults, … [¶] 
characteristically lack the capacity to exercise mature judgment and…[¶] are generally more 
vulnerable to outside influences than adults…” “The law enforcement community now widely 
accepts what science and the courts have recognized: that children and adolescents are much 
more vulnerable to psychologically coercive interrogations and other psychologically coercive 
dealings with the police than resilient adults experienced with the criminal justice system.”  “For 
these reasons, in situations of custodial interrogation and prior to making a waiver of rights under 
Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, a youth under 18 years of age should consult with legal 
counsel to assist in their understanding of their rights and the consequences of waiving those 
rights.”). 
123 See Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1.  This power imbalance is inherent in a custodial 
setting.  (See J.D.B. v. North Carolina (2011) 564 U.S. 261, 270 (A suspect is only “in custody” 
if a reasonable person in the same circumstances would not have felt at liberty to terminate the 
interrogation and leave.).) 
124 See Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1 (“Addressing the specific context of police 
interrogation, the United States Supreme Court observed that events that would have a minimal 
impact on an adult can overwhelm an early teen child, noting that no matter how sophisticated 
the child may be, the interrogation of a child cannot be compared to the interrogation of an 
adult.”). 
125 People v. Taylor (2007) 157 Cal.App.4th 433, 438 (quoting People v. Ledesma (1997) 16 
Cal.4th 90, 95). 
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before the person waives their Miranda rights.”126  Consistent with this description, committee 
analyses of both bills also describe those bills as imposing costs on local governments, not 
private persons facing interrogation.127 
Third, the statutory context surrounding Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 also 
indicates that the section imposes its requirement on law enforcement, not minors.  Welfare and 
Institutions Code section 625 provides that if a minor is taken into temporary custody, the officer 
shall advise the minor of their constitutional rights, including the right to have counsel present 
during interrogation and the right to have counsel appointed if the minor is unable to afford 
counsel.  Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.5 similarly provides that if a minor is taken 
into custody by a probation officer, the probation officer shall immediately advise the minor and 
their parent or guardian of the minor’s constitutional rights, including the right to have counsel 
present during any interrogation, and the right to have counsel appointed if the minor is unable to 
afford counsel.  Section 627.5 further states that “[i]f the minor or his parent or guardian requests 
counsel, the probation officer shall notify the judge of the juvenile court of such request and 
counsel for the minor shall be appointed pursuant to Section 634.”  Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 627 also requires law enforcement to allow the minor to make a phone call to the 
parent and an attorney immediately after “confinement” and no later than one hour after being 
taken into custody.  And if the minor or their parent or guardian desires but cannot afford 
counsel, Welfare and Institutions Code section 634 authorizes the court to appoint counsel at the 
county’s expense.  All of these provisions strongly suggest that responsibility for ensuring that a 
minor without a private attorney has counsel lies with a governmental entity and not the minor 
themself. 
The claimant also requests reimbursement for other components of its Juvenile Miranda Duty 
program, which is staffed by Public Defender attorneys who are available 24 hours a day.128  
Providing 24 hour services is not required by the test claim statute, but may be proposed for 
inclusion in the Parameters and Guidelines, and may be approved by the Commission if the 
activity is supported by evidence in the record showing it is “reasonably necessary for the 
performance of the state-mandated program” in accordance with Government Code section 
17557(a), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, sections 1183.7(d) and 1187.5. 

                                                 
126 Exhibit E (4), Assembly Committee on Appropriations, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 
Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 1, emphasis added. 
127 Exhibit E (2), Senate Committee on Appropriations, Analysis of SB 395 (2017-2018 Regular 
Session), as introduced, page 1 (“Fiscal Impact: [¶] Local government: Major non-reimbursable 
local costs, potentially in the millions of dollars (local funds) annually to provide legal counsel to 
minors prior to custodial interrogations, to the extent local agencies (482 cities and 58 counties) 
incur additional costs to provide counsel and/or incur operational delays.”); Exhibit E (4), 
Assembly Committee on Appropriations, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular Session), as 
amended July 27, 2020, page 1 (“FISCAL EFFECT: [¶] Cost pressures (Local Funds/General 
Fund (GF) - Proposition 30) in the low millions of dollars annually for 482 cities and 58 counties 
to provide legal counsel to minors ages 16 and 17 prior to custodial interrogations.”). 
128 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 10.   

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS634&originatingDoc=N2E3719E08CB211D882FF83A3182D7B4A&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=13b402d1396b4f019fc4272cb931c8cc&contextData=(sc.Category)
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In sum, the provisions of the test claim statute, the legislative history of section 625.6, and the 
statutory context of that section all indicate that the legislative purpose of section 625.6(a) was to 
require law enforcement, not the minor, to ensure that the minor consults with legal counsel prior 
to a custodial interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  If the minor does not 
have private counsel,129 counsel will be provided at the county’s expense, consistent with 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 634.  Thus, when read in the context of that legislative 
purpose, section 625.6(a)130 imposes the following requirement on law enforcement, not on 
minors: 

• Ensuring that youth, 17 years old or younger, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial 
interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  In instances where the youth 
does not have a private attorney, this includes providing legal counsel to consult with the 
youth in person, by telephone, or by video conference prior to a custodial interrogation, 
and before the waiver of any Miranda rights. 

b. Counties and cities are mandated by the state to comply with the test claim 
statute, but school districts and community college districts are not. 

To be reimbursable under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, the 
requirements must be mandated by the state; or ordered, commanded, or legally compelled by 
state law.131  Generally, a requirement is not mandated by the state if it is triggered by a local 
voluntary decision.132  However, the courts have recognized the possibility that a state-mandated 

                                                 
129 Nothing in the language of section 625.6 limits the “legal counsel” with whom a minor must 
consult to a public defender or other government-provided counsel.  Accordingly, the 
Commission finds that the statutory language permits a minor to consult with a private attorney 
if they have one.  (Accord Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 472-473 (The Fifth 
Amendment only requires the government to provide counsel if the person being interrogated 
cannot afford one.)). 
130 Perhaps because this conclusion is self-evident, courts interpreting section 625.6(a) have read 
it as imposing its requirement on law enforcement without discussion.  (See e.g. In re Anthony L. 
(2019) 43 Cal.App.5th 438, 450 (interpreting section 625.6(a) as imposing its requirement on 
law enforcement without discussion); Y.C. v. Superior Court (2021) 71 Cal.App.5th 410, 252, as 
modified on denial of reh'g (Dec. 6, 2021), review denied (Feb. 16, 2022) (same).) 
131 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
874; Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (Kern High School Dist.) (2003) 
30 Cal.4th 727, 741. 
132 Coast Community College District v. Commission on State Mandates (2022) 13 Cal.5th 800  
[514 P.3d 854, 863]; see e.g. County of San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 
107; see also Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (Kern High School Dist.) 
(2003) 30 Cal.4th 727, 743 (“In City of Merced, the city was under no legal compulsion to resort 
to eminent domain—but when it elected to employ that means of acquiring property, its 
obligation to compensate for lost business goodwill was not a reimbursable state mandate, 
because the city was not required to employ eminent domain in the first place. Here as well, if a 
school district elects to participate in or continue participation in any underlying voluntary 
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program may exist when that decision is not truly voluntary, i.e., when local government is 
compelled as a practical matter to perform the requirements.133  
The test claim statute’s requirements on law enforcement to ensure that a youth, 17 years old or 
younger, consults with legal counsel prior to custodial interrogation and before the waiver of any 
Miranda rights is triggered by a law enforcement officer’s decision to interrogate the youth.  As 
explained below, although this decision is made at the local level and the triggered requirement 
therefore not legally compelled by state law, the decision is not truly voluntary within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6. 
Case law suggests that a local decision is not truly voluntary for the purposes of article XIII B, 
section 6 if it is, as a practical matter, constrained by duty.  In San Diego Unified School Dist., 
the California Supreme Court suggested that a local discretionary action should not be 
considered voluntary if, as a practical matter, it must inevitably occur.134  In that case, the Court 
was faced with statutory hearing requirements triggered by two types of school expulsions:  
“mandatory” expulsions, which state law required school principals to recommend whenever a 
student was found to be in possession of a firearm at school or at a school activity off school 
grounds, and “discretionary” expulsions, which state law granted school principals the authority 
to recommend for other conduct.135  Although the Court confidently concluded that costs for the 
hearing requirements triggered by “mandatory” expulsions were reimbursable state mandated 
costs,136 it hesitated to apply that same logic to deny reimbursement for the “discretionary” 
expulsions.137  Instead, it cautioned that denying reimbursement whenever a requirement was 
triggered by a technically discretionary local action may well contravene both the intent 
underlying article XIII B, section 6 and past holdings,138 stating: 

Upon reflection, we agree with the District and amici curiae that there is reason to 
question an extension of the holding of City of Merced so as to preclude 

                                                 
education-related funded program, the district's obligation to comply with the notice and agenda 
requirements related to that program does not constitute a reimbursable state mandate.”). 
133 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (Kern High School Dist.) (2003) 30 
Cal.4th 727, 744, 754.  This form of compulsion is also referred to as “nonlegal compulsion.”  
(See e.g. Coast Community College District v. Commission on State Mandates (2022) 13 Cal.5th 
800 [514 P.3d 854, 867-868].) 
134 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
887-888; see Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 
Cal.App.4th 1355, 1367-1368. 
135 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
869-870. 
136 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
881-882. 
137 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
887-888. 
138 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
887-888. 
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reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 of the state Constitution and 
Government Code section 17514, whenever an entity makes an initial 
discretionary decision that in turn triggers mandated costs. Indeed, it would 
appear that under a strict application of the language in City of Merced, public 
entities would be denied reimbursement for state-mandated costs in apparent 
contravention of the intent underlying article XIII B, section 6 of the state 
Constitution and Government Code section 17514 and contrary to past decisions 
in which it has been established that reimbursement was in fact proper. For 
example, as explained above, in Carmel Valley, supra, 190 Cal.App.3d 521, 234 
Cal.Rptr. 795, an executive order requiring that county firefighters be provided 
with protective clothing and safety equipment was found to create a reimbursable 
state mandate for the added costs of such clothing and equipment. (Id., at pp. 537–
538, 234 Cal.Rptr. 795.) The court in Carmel Valley apparently did not 
contemplate that reimbursement would be foreclosed in that setting merely 
because a local agency possessed discretion concerning how many firefighters it 
would employ—and hence, in that sense, could control or perhaps even avoid the 
extra costs to which it would be subjected. Yet, under a strict application of the 
rule gleaned from City of Merced, supra, 153 Cal.App.3d 777, 200 Cal.Rptr. 642, 
such costs would not be reimbursable for the simple reason that the local 
agency’s decision to employ firefighters involves an exercise of discretion 
concerning, for example, how many firefighters are needed to be employed, etc. 
We find it doubtful that the voters who enacted article XIII B, section 6, or the 
Legislature that adopted Government Code section 17514, intended that result, 
and hence we are reluctant to endorse, in this case, an application of the rule of 
City of Merced that might lead to such a result.139 

In Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA), the Third District Court 
of Appeal suggested that duty is the dividing line between truly voluntary and technically 
discretionary decisions.140  In that case, the court was tasked with determining whether the 
Public Safety Officers Procedural Bill of Rights Act (POBRA), which granted procedural 
protections to state and local peace officers subject to investigation, interrogation, or discipline, 
imposed a reimbursable state mandated program on school districts and community college 
districts that employ peace officers.141  The court held that because those protections were 
triggered by a local discretionary decision, that statute did not impose a reimbursable state 
mandated program on those districts.142  However, the court also clarified that this discretionary 
                                                 
139 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
887-888, footnote omitted and emphasis added. 
140 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
141 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 
1358. 
142 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
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decision was not the district’s decision to investigate, interrogate, or discipline its peace officers, 
but rather the district’s decision to employ peace officers in the first place.143  It explained that 
since counties and cities had a basic and mandatory duty to provide policing services,144 their 
administration of this duty, as a practical matter, necessarily included actions such as 
investigating, interrogating, or disciplining its peace officers.  Thus, like the “discretionary” 
expulsions discussed in San Diego Unified School Dist., those actions and the downstream 
requirements imposed by the POBRA statutes could not reasonably be considered “truly 
voluntary” when performed by counties and cities.145   
The same logic applies here.  As the court stated in POBRA, counties and cities have an ordinary, 
principal, and mandatory duty to provide policing services within their jurisdiction.  They are 
required by the California Constitution and state statute to employ peace officers.146  County 
sheriffs are required by Government Code sections 26600 et seq. to preserve the peace, 
investigate public offenses, and to make arrests of persons who commit public offenses.  City 
chiefs of police are conferred these same powers by Government Code sections 41601.  And the 
courts have also recognized that “[l]aw enforcement officers are the guardians of the peace and 
security of the community, and the efficiency of our whole system, designed for the purpose of 
maintaining law and order, depends upon the extent to which such officers perform their duties 

                                                 
143 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
144 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
145 See Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 
Cal.App.4th 1355, 1367-1368. 
146 Article XI of the California Constitution provides for the formation of counties and cities.  
Section 1 states that the Legislature shall provide for an elected county sheriff.  Section 5 
specifies that city charters are to provide for the “government of the city police force.”  
Government Code sections 36505 and 41601 et seq. require the city council of a general law city 
to appoint the chief of police, imbue that officer with “the powers conferred upon sheriffs by 
general law,” and require deputies, police officers, and watchpersons in the city to promptly 
execute that officer’s lawful orders. 
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and are faithful to the trust reposed in them”147 and that “[p]olice and fire protection are two of 
the most essential and basic functions of local government.”148   
Moreover, like the student expulsions discussed in San Diego Unified School Dist. and the 
procedural protections discussed in POBRA, custodial interrogations must necessarily occur as 
part of a city or county’s duty to provide policing services because a law enforcement officer’s 
decision to interrogate is constrained by that duty.  School expulsions necessarily occur as part of 
a school district’s administration of its duty to educate students because that duty includes 
providing students with a safe learning environment.149  Thus, whenever expelling a student is 
the best means of providing students with that safe learning environment, a school principal is 
duty-bound to recommend that expulsion.150  The same goes for law enforcement.  When an 
officer is faced with the decision of whether or not to interrogate a suspect, their discretion is 
similarly constrained by their sworn duty to investigate apparent criminal activity151 and to 
protect the citizenry.152   
Consequently, under the logic of POBRA and San Diego Unified School Dist., the decision to 
interrogate a youth is not a truly “voluntary” local action within the meaning of article XIII B, 
section 6 that would preclude reimbursement for downstream statutory requirements triggered by 
those actions. 
Although the Commission’s decisions are not precedential, the Commission notes that this 
conclusion is consistent with its past decisions.  In Post-Conviction: DNA Court Proceedings, 
00-TC-21, the Commission similarly determined that a statute that required the court to “appoint 

                                                 
147 Lopez v. Southern Cal. Rapid Transit Dist. (1985) 40 Cal.3d 780, 799 (internal quotations 
omitted); see also Pasos v. Los Angeles County Civil Service Commission (2020) 52 Cal.App.5th 
690, 702, as modified on denial of reh'g (Aug. 18, 2020); Allen v. Payne (1934) 1 Cal.2d 607, 
608 (“From the time of the adoption of our Constitution to the present, the accepted practice has 
been to leave the detection of crime in the hands of sheriffs and district attorneys, and in our 
opinion the departure from that practice finds no support in authority or legislative policy. The 
ferreting out of evidence of crime is a statutory duty expressly imposed upon certain officers, 
having the equipment and qualified personnel to perform it.”); Christal v. Police Commission of 
City and County of San Francisco (1939) 33 Cal.App.2d 564, 567. 
148 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
887-888; Carmel Valley Fire Protection Dist. v. State (1987) 190 Cal.App.3d 521, 537. 
149 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 887 
footnote 22. 
150 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 887 
footnote 22. 
151 See People v. Coston (1990) 221 Cal.App.3d 898, 903; McCain v. Sheridan (1958) 160 
Cal.App.2d 174, 177-178. 
152 Lopez v. Southern Cal. Rapid Transit Dist. (1985) 40 Cal.3d 780, 799; Pasos v. Los Angeles 
County Civil Service Commission (2020) 52 Cal.App.5th 690, 702, as modified on denial of reh'g 
(Aug. 18, 2020). 
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counsel to investigate and, if appropriate, to file a motion for DNA testing” mandated the filing 
of that motion.153  In reaching that conclusion, the Commission reasoned that “an attorney’s duty 
is ‘to present his case vigorously in a manner as favorable to the client as the rules of law and 
professional ethics will permit’” and that “[b]ecause whether or not to file the DNA testing 
motion is a matter of professional judgment, the indigent defense counsel’s duty to file it, if 
appropriate, is not truly discretionary.  Rather, it is an activity mandated by the state.”154  
Similarly, in its decision on reconsideration of the test claim that was at issue in POBRA, the 
Commission held that a local entity does not decide who to investigate or discipline based on the 
costs incurred to the entity.  Instead, a local entity makes this decision, like the expulsion 
decisions discussed by the Supreme Court in San Diego Unified School Dist., to maintain the 
public’s confidence in its police force and to protect the health, safety, and welfare of its 
citizens.155   
Accordingly, the Commission finds that the test claim statute’s requirement on county and city 
law enforcement to ensure that youths, 17 years old or younger, consult with legal counsel prior 
to custodial interrogation and before waiving any Miranda rights is not triggered by a local 
discretionary decision within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6, but is instead a 
requirement mandated by the state on counties and cities.  
The same conclusion, however, does not apply to school districts or community college districts.  
Unlike counties and cities, school districts and community college districts are permitted, but not 
required, by statute to employ peace officers who supplement the general law enforcement 
agencies of counties and cities, and are not mandated by the state to comply with the test claim 
statute.156  As noted above, the court in POBRA held that the statutes in that case did not impose 
a state-mandated program on school districts or community college districts because their 
protections were triggered by the districts’ voluntary, discretionary decisions to employ peace 
officers.157  The court reasoned that unlike counties and cities, which “have as an ordinary, 
principal, and mandatory duty the provision of policing services within their territorial 
jurisdiction,” “the districts in issue [we]re authorized, but not required, to provide their own 
peace officers and d[id] not have provision of police protection as an essential and basic 

                                                 
153 Exhibit E (8), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Post Conviction: DNA Court 
Proceedings, 00-TC-21 and 01-TC-08, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/00tc21,01tc08sod.pdf 
(accessed on September 1, 2022), adopted July 28, 2006, page 13, emphasis added. 
154 Exhibit E (8), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Post Conviction: DNA Court 
Proceedings, 00-TC-21 and 01-TC-08, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/00tc21,01tc08sod.pdf 
(accessed on September 1, 2022), adopted July 28, 2006, page 13, emphasis added. 
155 Exhibit E (7), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Reconsideration of Peace Officer 
Procedural Bill of Rights, 05-RL-4499-01, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/4499sod.pdf (accessed 
on August 19, 2022), adopted April 26, 2006, page 21. 
156 Education Code sections 38000, 72330. 
157 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1357-1367. 

https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/00tc21,01tc08sod.pdf
https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/00tc21,01tc08sod.pdf
https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/4499sod.pdf
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function.  It [was] not essential unless there [wa]s a showing that, as a practical matter, 
exercising the authority to hire peace officers [wa]s the only reasonable means to carry out their 
core mandatory functions.158  And here, it is not alleged and there is no evidence in the record 
that, as a practical matter, exercising the authority to hire peace officers is the only reasonable 
means for school districts and community college districts to carry out their core mandatory 
function to provide educational services. 
Accordingly, the Commission finds that the test claim statute imposes state-mandated duties only 
on counties and cities. 

2. The Test Claim Statute Imposes a New Program or Higher Level of Service 
With Respect to 16 and 17 Year Olds Except For Those Who Affirmatively 
Request To Consult With Retained Legal Counsel. 

In order for the state-mandated activity to constitute a new program or higher level of service, it 
must be new when compared with the legal requirements in effect immediately before the 
enactment of the test claim statute and increase the level of service provided to the public.159  In 
addition, the requirement must either carry out the governmental function of providing a service 
to the public, or impose unique requirements on local agencies or school districts that do not 
apply generally to all residents and entities in the state.160 
As discussed below, the Commission finds that the requirement is new and constitutes a new 
program or higher level of service with respect to 16 and 17 year olds except for those who 
affirmatively request to consult with retained legal counsel.  The requirement is new, except to 
the extent that it (1) requires law enforcement to allow minors who invoke their right to consult 
with retained legal counsel to consult with their counsel upon request or (2) requires law 
enforcement to ensure that youths 15 years or younger consult with legal counsel prior to a 
custodial interrogation.   
For decades, the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution has required state and local law 
enforcement to provide an individual in custody with legal counsel upon that individual’s 
affirmative request and prohibited interrogation or further interrogation of that individual until 
counsel has been provided or the individual has validly waived their right thereto.161  As 

                                                 
158 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
159 San Diego Unified School Dist. (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875, 878; Lucia Mar Unified 
School District v. Honig (1988) 44 Cal.3d 830, 835. 
160 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
874-875 (reaffirming the test set out in County of Los Angeles (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56). 
161 See Malloy v. Hogan (1964) 378 U.S. 1, 11 (Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination 
applies against both state and federal authorities); see e.g. Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 
436, 494-498 (applying the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination to interrogations 
conducted by local police officers).  If an individual has a private attorney, they may of course 
consult with that attorney instead of relying on government-appointed counsel.  (Miranda v. 
Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 471-473.) 
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described in the Background, Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625 and 627.5 have long 
imposed the same requirements on local law enforcement agencies with respect to minors in 
temporary custody, as well.162  However, Welfare and Institutions Code section 634 provides 
that the appointment of counsel to minors who appear without counsel occurs later at the 
detention hearing.  The detention hearing is required to be provided “before the expiration of the 
next judicial day after a petition to declare the minor a ward or dependent child has been 
filed.”163  Thus, under prior law, if a minor requested counsel but did have not have counsel at 
the interrogation stage, local law enforcement had no choice but to refrain from interrogating the 
minor.  Thus, the only minors who would have the opportunity to consult with counsel prior to 
the detention hearing were the minors who exercised their right to consult with retained counsel.  
Accordingly, the requirement of the test claim statute is not new when minors affirmatively 
request to consult with retained counsel. 
In addition, prior to the test claim statute, Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6, as added 
by Statutes 2017, chapter 681, required law enforcement to ensure that “youth[s] 15 years or 
younger” consult with legal counsel before custodial interrogation and the waiver of any 
Miranda rights, with certain exceptions, even when the youths did not request counsel.164  By the 
plain language of the statute, this includes youths up to and including those with a maximum age 
of 15 years.  Thus, the requirement imposed by the test claim statute for youths 15 years or 
younger is not new.165   
In sum, the requirement imposed by the test claim statute is not new with respect to all youths 
age 15 and under and those youths 16 or 17 years of age who affirmatively request to consult 
with retained counsel. 
State requirements that build upon existing requirements are “new,” and go beyond just 
increasing the costs of existing services, when they increase the actual level or quality of 

                                                 
162 Statutes 1967, chapter 1355. 
163 Welfare and Institutions Code section 632.   
164 As discussed above, section 625.6, as amended by the test claim statute, required law 
enforcement, not the youths themselves, to ensure that youths consulted with legal counsel prior 
to a custodial interrogation and the waiver of any Miranda rights.  As the relevant statutory 
language, statutory context, and legislative history of the version of the section originally added 
by Statutes 2017, chapter 681, is generally the same as that discussed above, it is the 
Commission’s view that this prior version of the section also imposed its requirement on law 
enforcement, not the youths themselves.  See also Welfare and Institutions Code section 627.5 
(If a minor in temporary custody or their parent or guardian requests counsel after a probation 
officer advises the minor of their Miranda rights, the probation officer must notify the judge of 
the juvenile court of the request and counsel for the minor must be appointed pursuant to Welfare 
and Institutions Code section 634.). 
165 Accordingly, any costs associated with ensuring that 15 year olds consult with legal counsel 
prior to a custodial interrogation and waiver of any Miranda rights are not reimbursable under 
this test claim. 
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governmental services provided.166  And in County of San Diego v. Commission on State 
Mandates, the California Supreme Court suggested that such increases may include the 
expansion of existing state programs to serve additional populations.167 
Here, the test claim statute increases the actual level or quality of governmental services 
provided by expanding the population which law enforcement is required to ensure actually 
consult with legal counsel prior to custodial interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda 
rights to include 16 and 17 year olds.  Prior to the test claim statute, youths of 16 or 17 years of 
age had to either affirmatively request, or have their parent or legal guardian affirmatively 
request, to consult with retained or appointed legal counsel in order to consult with counsel prior 
to a custodial interrogation and they could waive their Miranda rights without any legal 
consultation.168  But as committee analyses of the test claim statute explain, this opt-in system 
was insufficient to fully protect those minors’ Fifth Amendment rights.169  Because minors are 
less capable than adults at understanding their constitutional rights, more impulsive, more easily 
influenced by others (especially by figures of authority), more sensitive to rewards (especially 
immediate rewards), and less able to weigh in on the long-term consequences of their actions, 
they are much more likely to waive their Fifth Amendment rights without fully understanding 
them and, in the ensuing custodial interrogation, to also falsely confess to crimes that they did 
not commit.170  The test claim statute sought to remedy this situation by increasing the level of 
governmental protections afforded to minors facing custodial interrogations, specifically, by 
ensuring that 16 and 17 year olds understand their Miranda rights before waiving them and 
thereby minimizing false confessions extracted from those minors in custodial interrogations171 
and protecting them from “psychologically coercive interrogations and other psychologically 
coercive dealings with the police.”172  Thus, the Commission finds that replacing consultations 
available only upon request with mandatory, unwaivable legal consultations is new and 
represents an increase in the actual level or quality of governmental services provided to 16 and 
17 year olds who do not affirmatively request to speak with retained counsel, and is not merely 
an increase in costs.  
Although the Commission’s decisions are not precedential, the Commission notes that this 
conclusion is consistent with its past decisions.  In its Decision on Domestic Violence Arrests 

                                                 
166 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 877. 
167 See County of San Diego v. Commission on State Mandates (2018) 6 Cal.5th 196, 217.   
168 Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625, 627.5; Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 
470-474. 
169 Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 
Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, pages 2-4. 
170 Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 
Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, page 4. 
171 See Exhibit E (3), Assembly Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 
Regular Session), as amended July 27, 2020, pages 2-4. 
172 Statutes 2020, chapter 335, section 1. 
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and Victim Assistance, 98-TC-14, the Commission determined that providing an existing victim 
card to victims of additional crimes constituted a new program or higher level of service.173  And 
in its Decision on Permanent Absent Voters II (As Amended), 03-TC-11, the Commission 
similarly determined that expanding eligibility for permanent absent voter status to all voters 
went “beyond creating a higher level of service in an existing program. . . .”174   
The Commission’s conclusion in this Test Claim is also not inconsistent with its Decision in 
Extended Conditional Voter Registration, 20-TC-02.  In that Test Claim, the Commission 
concluded that a statute that required counties to provide existing voter services to people 
requesting those services at additional locations, but did not expand the times for which these 
services are provided by the counties or require the counties to create new locations for voters to 
access those services, did not impose a reimbursable state-mandated program because county 
elections officials already had a preexisting duty to provide those services to any voter requesting 
them.175  That statute is distinguishable from the test claim statute in that it did not increase the 
population entitled to existing services, but rather made it more convenient for all voters to 
access the same services by making the services available at additional locations.  Here, in 
contrast, the test claim statute requires county and city law enforcement to affirmatively ensure a 
new population of youth that do not request counsel actually consults with legal counsel prior to 
custodial interrogation and before the waiver of any Miranda rights, which as indicated above, is 
an increase in the level of service provided to the public.     
In addition, the test claim statute imposes unique requirements on local agencies that do not 
generally apply to all residents and entities in the state.176  The plain language of the test claim 
statute indicates that its reach is limited to governmental entities.  As amended by the test claim 
statute, Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6 only requires consultations to be provided to 
minors prior to a “custodial interrogation” or “the waiver of any Miranda rights.”  A “custodial 
interrogation” is a uniquely governmental action defined as “questioning initiated by law 
enforcement officers after a person has been taken into custody or otherwise deprived of his 
freedom of action in any significant way.”177  “Miranda rights” are similarly uniquely 

                                                 
173 Exhibit E (6), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Domestic Violence Arrests and 
Victim Assistance, 98-TC-14, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/doc44.pdf (accessed on  
September 1, 2022), adopted December 9, 2004, pages 17-18. 
174 Exhibit E (9), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Permanent Absent Voter II (As 
Amended), 03-TC-11, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/03tc11sod.pdf (accessed on  
September 1, 2022), adopted July 28, 2006, page 9. 
175 Exhibit E (10), Commission on State Mandates, Decision on Extended Conditional Voter 
Registration, 20-TC-02, https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/20tc02-120621.pdf (accessed on  
September 1, 2022), adopted December 3, 2021, pages 42-54. 
176 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 
177 Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 38 U.S. 436, 444, emphasis added. 

https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/doc44.pdf
https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/03tc11sod.pdf
https://csm.ca.gov/decisions/20tc02-120621.pdf
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governmental in that they are rights constitutionally guaranteed against the government.178  Thus, 
the test claim statute’s requirement, which applies only in this uniquely governmental context, is 
also unique to government. 
Consequently, section 625.6(a) imposes a new program or higher level of service within the 
meaning of article XIII B, section 6 on counties and cities to perform the following activity: 

• Ensure that youths, ages 16 and 17, except for those who affirmatively request to consult 
with retained counsel, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial interrogation and 
before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  In instances where the youth does not exercise 
their right to retain a private attorney, this includes providing legal counsel to consult 
with the youth in person, by telephone, or by video conference prior to a custodial 
interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights. 

3. The Test Claim Statute Results in Increased Costs Mandated by the State 
Within the Meaning of Article XIII B, Section 6 and Government Code Section 
17514. 

The final criteria that must be met in order for the mandated new requirement to constitute a 
reimbursable state-mandated program under article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution is that the mandated activity must result in a local agency incurring increased costs 
within the meaning of Government Code section 17514.  That section defines “costs mandated 
by the state” as “any increased costs which a local agency or school district is required to incur 
after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, or any executive 
order implementing any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, which mandates a new 
program or higher level of service of an existing program within the meaning of Section 6 of 
Article XIII B of the California Constitution.”  Government Code section 17564 also provides 
that “[n]o claim shall be made pursuant to Sections 17551, . . ., nor shall any payment be made 
on claims submitted pursuant to Sections 17551 or 17561, . . . , unless these claims exceed one 
thousand dollars ($1,000).”  Even if the claims exceed $1,000, however, the claimed costs are 
not reimbursable if an exception identified in Government Code section 17556 applies.   
Here, as explained below, there is substantial evidence that the claimant incurred over $1,000 in 
complying with the test claim statute, as required by Government Code section 17564.  Further, 
although Statutes 2020, chapter 92 (AB 1869) and Penal Code section 987.6 provide potential 
sources of offsetting revenue to counties, that revenue is not “specifically intended to fund the 
costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate” such that 
Government Code section 17556(e) would preclude reimbursement.  Moreover, none of the other 
exceptions to reimbursement in Government Code section 17556 applies.  Consequently, the 
Commission finds that the test claim statute imposes increased costs mandated by the state.  

                                                 
178 See Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 38 U.S. 436, 440-444; see also Exhibit E (3), Assembly 
Committee on Public Safety, Analysis of SB 203 (2019-2020 Regular Session), as amended  
July 27, 2020, pages 3-4. 
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a. There is substantial evidence that the claimant incurred over $1,000 in costs to 
perform the mandated activities. 

The claimant asserts that its total increased costs to comply with the test claim statute in the 
2020-2021 fiscal year were $5,821.45.179  These costs are “for the Miranda consultations” that 
the claimant’s Public Defender’s Office provides pursuant to its Juvenile Miranda Duty 
program.180   
Although Finance observes,181 and the claimant concedes,182 that these costs include the 
provision of legal consultations to youth ages 15 years of age or younger, which had already 
been required under preexisting law, the claimant has not indicated what part of the initially 
claimed costs were incurred with respect to juveniles 16 or 17 years of age.  The claimant has 
also not indicated whether any part of the initially claimed costs were incurred with respect to 
juveniles who affirmatively requested a consultation with an attorney before custodial 
interrogation, as required by existing state and federal law. 
However, even without a precise figure, the claimant’s evidence, along with information that is 
officially noticed,183 is sufficient to support a finding that the county’s costs with respect to such 
juveniles did exceed $1,000 in the 2020-2021 fiscal year.  Juveniles waive their Miranda rights 
at much higher rates than adults.184  Also, just over two-thirds of juvenile arrests in 2019 were of 
juveniles 15 to 17 years of age.185  Thus, a substantial portion of the claimant’s $5,821.45 cost of 

                                                 
179 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11, 18-20 (Declaration of Cris 
Mercurio, Head Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s 
Office, para. 15 and Attachment A), and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, Departmental Finance 
Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, paras. 3 and 5). 
180 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 11, 18-20 (Declaration of Cris 
Mercurio, Head Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s 
Office, para. 15 and Attachment A), and 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, Departmental Finance 
Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, para. 3). 
181 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments, filed March 7, 2022, pages 1-2. 
182 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2. 
183 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1187.5(c) (“Official notice may be taken in the 
manner and of the information described in Government Code Section 11515.”); see 
Government Code section 11515 and Evidence Code section 452(g) and (h).  
184 Exhibit E (11), Scott, Duell and Steinberg, Brain Development, Social Context and Justice 
Policy, 57 Washington University Journal of Law & Policy (2018), page 36.  The Commission 
notes that it need not take separate judicial notice of this study because it is already cited and 
discussed in the legislative history of Statutes 2020, chapter 335.  (See Voris v. Lampert (2019) 7 
Cal.5th 1141, 1147 fn. 5; Gov. Code, § 11515; Cal. Code. Regs. tit. 2, § 1187.5(c).) 
185 Exhibit E (12), U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Juvenile Justice 
Statistics National Report Series Bulletin (May 2021), 
https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/publications/juvenile-arrests-2019.pdf (accessed on July 7, 2022), page 3.  
Pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1187.5(c), Government Code section 

https://ojjdp.ojp.gov/publications/juvenile-arrests-2019.pdf
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providing legal consultations to minors 17 years of age or younger were for consultations 
provided to minors 16 or 17 years of age.  Thus, substantial evidence supports the claimant’s 
allegation that its costs of ensuring that youths, ages 16 and 17 years old, except for those who 
affirmatively request to consult with retained legal counsel, consult with legal counsel prior to a 
custodial interrogation or the waiver of any Miranda rights exceed $1,000. 

b. Although Government Code section 17556(e) does not apply to deny the Test 
Claim, Statutes 2020, chapter 92 (AB 1869) and Penal Code section 987.6 may 
provide potential offsetting revenues to counties if received and used for this 
program.  No other exception to reimbursement in Government Code section 
17556 applies to deny this Test Claim. 

Under Government Code section 17556(e), the Commission is prohibited from finding costs 
mandated by the state if “… an appropriation in a Budget Act or other bill provides for offsetting 
savings to local agencies or school districts that result in no net costs to the local agencies or 
school districts, or includes additional revenue that was specifically intended to fund the costs of 
the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate.” 
As explained below, Statutes 2020, chapter 92 and Penal Code section 987.6 may provide 
potential offsetting revenues to counties if received and used to cover the costs of the state-
mandated program.  However, as neither of these funding sources are sufficient to fully fund the 
costs of the state-mandated program, Government Code section 17556(e) does not apply to deny 
this claim.  
In its comments on this Test Claim, Finance argues that Statutes 2020, chapter 92 (AB 1869), 
which repealed various fees, including public defender fees, and annually appropriates $65 
million to backfill counties for the lost revenue, “may serve as an offset to any state-mandated 
costs incurred by the Claimant.”186  
In response, the claimant asserts that the public defender fees that were eliminated by Statutes 
2020, chapter 92 would not have covered its costs in providing legal counsel to juveniles prior to 
custodial interrogation, as the eliminated fees related to court-appointed lawyers and therefore 
would not have covered legal consultations, such as those required by the test claim statute, 
which are provided prior to the appointment of counsel at the arraignment stage of a criminal 
proceeding.187  Accordingly, any backfill provided pursuant to that bill would not “provide[] for 
additional revenue specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate” within the 
meaning of Government Code section 17556(e). 

                                                 
11515, and Evidence Code section 452(g) and (h), the Commission takes notice of statistical data 
released by the U.S. Department of Justice.  (See Powell v. Superior Court (1991) 232 
Cal.App.3d 785, 795 fn. 7, modified (July 30, 1991).) 
186 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments, filed March 7, 2022, page 2. 
187 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2; see also Exhibit A, 
Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 10 and 17 (Declaration of Cris Mercurio, Head 
Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, para. 7). 
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The relevant fees that Statutes 2020, chapter 92 repealed were provided in Penal Code section 
987.4 and Government Code section 27712.  Prior to Statutes 2020, chapter 92, Penal Code 
section 987.4 authorized a court to order the parent or guardian of a minor represented by the 
public defender or assigned counsel in a criminal proceeding to reimburse the county for its 
expenses in providing that counsel if the court determines that the parent or guardian has the 
ability to pay.188  Government Code section 27712 similarly authorized a court to order a person 
provided legal assistance by the public defender or assigned counsel “in any case in which a 
party is provided legal assistance” to reimburse the county its expenses in providing that counsel 
if the court determines, upon conclusion of the proceedings or upon withdrawal of the public 
defender or counsel, that the person has the ability to pay.189   
Statutes 2020, chapter 92, repealed these and other fees effective July 1, 2021.  To backfill 
county revenues lost from that repeal, the bill annually appropriated $65 million from the 
General Fund to the Controller for the 2021–2022 to 2025–2026 fiscal years.190  Under a 
subsequent bill, Statutes 2021, chapter 79 (AB 143), these moneys must be allocated to counties 
based on their average adult populations, average felony and misdemeanor arrests, and average 
traffic and nontraffic felony and misdemeanor filings, as specified. 

                                                 
188 Prior to Statutes 2020, chapter 92, Penal Code section 987.4, as added by Statutes 1970, 
chapter 723, provided, in full: 

When the public defender or an assigned counsel represents a person who is a 
minor in a criminal proceeding, at the expense of a county, the court may order 
the parent or guardian of such minor to reimburse the county for all or any part of 
such expense, if it determines that the parent or guardian has the ability to pay 
such expense.  

189 Prior to Statutes 2020, chapter 92, Government Code section 27712, as added by Statutes 
1985, chapter 1485, provided, in relevant part: 

In any case in which a party is provided legal assistance, either through the public 
defender or private counsel appointed by the court, upon conclusion of the 
proceedings, or upon the withdrawal of the public defender or private counsel, 
after a hearing on the matter, the court may make a determination of the ability of 
the party to pay all or a portion of the cost of such legal assistance. … If the court 
determines, or upon petition by the county financial evaluation officer is satisfied, 
that the party has the ability to pay all or part of the cost, it shall order the party to 
pay the sum to the county in any installments and manner which it believes 
reasonable and compatible with the party’s ability to pay. … 

190 Statutes 2020, chapter 92, section 67 (“…The sum of sixty-five million dollars ($65,000,000) 
is hereby annually appropriated from the General Fund to the Controller beginning in the 2021–
22 fiscal year to the 2025–26 fiscal year, inclusive, to backfill revenues lost from the repeal of 
those fees specified in this act, unless future legislation extends the provisions of this act. These 
funds are appropriated to the Controller for allocation to counties according to a schedule 
provided by the Department of Finance….”). 
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The Commission finds that a portion of the costs mandated by the state in this case on counties 
could have been offset by those former fees and therefore, the state funds appropriated by 
Statutes 2020, chapter 92 and Statutes 2021, chapter 79, to backfill the fees may provide 
potential offsetting revenues to counties.  As stated above, the claimant’s argument as to why 
those fees are inapplicable is that custodial interrogations occur before the Public Defender is 
appointed at the arraignment stage of a criminal proceeding.191  But while this may be the order 
of events in a typical situation, it is not necessarily true for all situations.  In McNeil v. 
Wisconsin, for example, the U.S. Supreme Court addressed a situation where a person was 
interrogated in custody multiple times after criminal proceedings against him had already 
commenced.192  Thus, if a minor’s appointed counsel provides consultation pursuant to the test 
claim statute, and the minor or the minor’s parent or guardian has the ability to pay for all or a 
part of that consultation, then former Penal Code section 987.4, which authorized a court to order 
the minor’s parent or guardian with the ability to pay to provide reimbursement “[w]hen the 
public defender or an assigned counsel represents a person who is a minor in a criminal 
proceeding, at the expense of a county,” and former Government Code section 27712, which 
required a court to order a party who is provided legal assistance through a public defender or 
appointed counsel in any case to reimburse the county for the cost of that assistance to the extent 
the party has the ability to pay, would have authorized the county to recoup at least some of its 
costs of providing that consultation. 
Consequently, the Commission finds that the $65,000,000 appropriated by Statutes 2020, chapter 
92 may provide potential offsetting revenues to the extent that the funding is provided to backfill 
a county for fees that it could have collected under former Penal Code section 987.4 or former 
Government Code section 27712 and used by a county to partially offset its costs of ensuring that 
a youth, 16 or 17 years of age, who has been arraigned, is subject to a subsequent custodial 
interrogation, and does not request counsel,193 consults with legal counsel prior to that 
subsequent custodial interrogation or the wavier of any Miranda rights. 

                                                 
191 Exhibit C, Claimant’s Rebuttal Comments, filed April 6, 2022, page 2; see also Exhibit A, 
Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, pages 10 and 17 (Declaration of Cris Mercurio, Head 
Deputy of the Juvenile Division of the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, para. 7). 
192 McNeil v. Wisconsin (1991) 501 U.S. 171, 173-174 (the defendant was interrogated in 
custody multiple times regarding a murder in a different jurisdiction after criminal proceedings 
against him had already commenced on the unrelated crime of armed robbery). 
193 As the U.S. Supreme Court explains in McNeil v. Wisconsin, a person who invokes their Sixth 
Amendment right to criminal defense counsel does not thereby automatically invoke their Fifth 
Amendment right to counsel with respect to all subsequent custodial interrogations.  (McNeil v. 
Wisconsin (1991) 501 U.S. 171, 178 (“To invoke the Sixth Amendment interest is, as a matter of 
fact, not to invoke the Miranda–Edwards interest. One might be quite willing to speak to the 
police without counsel present concerning many matters, but not the matter under prosecution. It 
can be said, perhaps, that it is likely that one who has asked for counsel's assistance in defending 
against a prosecution would want counsel present for all custodial interrogation, even 
interrogation unrelated to the charge. [But t]hat is not necessarily true…”).) 
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However, the costs of providing consultations to minors who do not have criminal proceedings 
against them or whose parents or guardians cannot afford to pay for the consultations, are not 
covered by those prior fees.  In addition, even if the funds can be used, there is no requirement 
that a county use the funds to pay for the state-mandated program here.  Accordingly, funding 
that the claimant receives pursuant to Statutes 2020, chapter 92, to backfill revenues lost due to 
the repeal of those fees is not “specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an 
amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate” such that Government Code section 
17556(e) would apply to deny the claim. 
In addition, Penal Code section 987.6 requires the Director of Finance, from funds made 
available, to reimburse counties for costs up to ten percent of the amounts actually expended in 
providing counsel for persons charged with violations of state criminal law or detained under the 
Lanterman-Petris-Short Act.194  This funding could be used by a claimant when the test claim 
statute requires county law enforcement to ensure that a juvenile who has already been charged 
with a violation of state criminal law consults with legal counsel prior to a custodial interrogation 
or the waiver of any Miranda rights.195   
However, Penal Code section 987.6 was not specifically intended to fund the costs of the state-
mandated program in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the mandate.  Any funding 
received under that section is necessarily insufficient to fund the full cost of the state-mandated 
program because (1) not all 16 and 17 years olds that undergo custodial interrogations are 
charged with crimes or detained under the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act, (2) not all crimes are 
state law violations, and (3) regardless, reimbursement under this provision is limited to 10% of 
the county’s actual costs.  Furthermore, there is no guarantee that funding will always be 
available to Finance for these purposes.  As the Declaration of Sung Lee (Departmental Finance 
Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office) states, “The County has 
not received any local, State, or federal funding to offset the increased direct and indirect costs 
associated with the mandatory provision of legal counsel to arrested or in-custody youths under 

                                                 
194 Penal Code section 987.6, as last amended by Statutes 1970, chapter 723, states the following: 

(a) From any state moneys made available to it for such purpose, the Department of Finance 
shall, pursuant to this section, pay to the counties an amount not to exceed 10 percent of 
the amounts actually expended by the counties in providing counsel in accordance with 
the law whether by public defender, assigned counsel, or both, for persons charged with 
violations of state criminal law or involuntarily detained under the Lanterman-Petris-
Short Act, Division 5 (commencing with Section 5000) of the Welfare and Institutions 
Code, who desire, but are unable to afford, counsel. 

(b) Application for payment shall be made in such manner and at such times as prescribed by 
the Department of Finance and the department may adopt rules necessary or appropriate 
to carry out the purposes of this section. 

195 See e.g. McNeil v. Wisconsin (1991) 501 U.S. 171, 173-174 and 176-179 (addressing a 
situation in which a suspect was interrogated in custody after a public defender was appointed to 
represent him and discussing the interaction of the rights to counsel under the Fifth and Sixth 
Amendments under such circumstances). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS5000&originatingDoc=NF45A48D000AE11DD9CC1D4B7CFF83FA0&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=3fc0643d339c4217bf9d80df3ee8ee81&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS5000&originatingDoc=NF45A48D000AE11DD9CC1D4B7CFF83FA0&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=3fc0643d339c4217bf9d80df3ee8ee81&contextData=(sc.Search)
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17 years of age or younger pursuant to SB 203.”196  This would presumably include any funding 
received under Penal Code section 987.6.  And Finance has not filed evidenced rebutting that 
allegation.197 
Consequently, although funding pursuant to Penal Code section 987.6 may provide potential 
offsetting revenues to counties if received and used for the mandate, it is not “specifically 
intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the 
state mandate” such that Government Code section 17556(e) would apply to deny the claim.  
These sources of potential offsetting revenue, however, will be identified in the Parameters and 
Guidelines. 

c. None of the other exceptions to reimbursement in Government Code section 
17556 apply. 

The other provisions of Government Code section 17556 prohibit the Commission from finding 
costs mandated by the state if the Commission finds (1) the claimant requested legislative 
authority for the program, (2) the test claim statute affirmed a mandate that has been declared 
existing law, (3) the local agency has fee authority sufficient to pay for the mandated program or 
increased level of service, (4) the test claim statute imposes duties that are necessary to 
implement a ballot measure, or (5) the test claim statue created a new crime or infraction, 
eliminated a crime or infraction, or changed the penalty for a crime or infraction, as specified.198 
Here there are no facts or law to suggest that any of these exceptions are applicable.  There is no 
evidence that the claimant requested legislative authority for the program and no law suggesting 
that the test claim statute affirmed a mandate that has been declared existing law, that the 
claimant has fee authority sufficient to pay for costs imposed by the test claim statute, or that the 
test claim statute imposes a duty necessary to implement a ballot measure.  And the plain 
language of the test claim statute does not create or eliminate a crime or infraction or change the 
penalty therefor.  The plain language of the test claim statute merely requires law enforcement to 
ensure that minors consult with legal counsel prior to a custodial interrogation and the waiver of 
any Miranda rights.  While the consequences for noncompliance with this requirement may 
make it less likely that the minor will be convicted of a crime or infraction,199 this is not the same 
as creating, eliminating, or changing the penalty for any crime or infraction.  

                                                 
196 Exhibit A, Test Claim, filed December 22, 2021, page 21 (Declaration of Sung Lee, 
Departmental Finance Manager II with the County of Los Angeles Public Defender’s Office, 
para. 6). 
197 See Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (2016) 1 Cal.5th 749, 769, as 
modified on denial of reh’g (Nov. 16, 2016). 
198 See also California Constitution article XIII B, section 6(a)(2) (“the Legislature may, but need 
not, provide a subvention of funds for … [¶ ][l]egislation defining a new crime or changing an 
existing definition of a crime.”). 
199 Under Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(b), “The court shall, in adjudicating the 
admissibility of statements of a youth 17 years of age or younger made during or after a custodial 
interrogation, consider the effect of failure to comply with subdivision (a) and, additionally, shall 
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Accordingly, the Commission finds that the test claim statute imposes increased costs mandated 
by the state. 

V. Conclusion 
Based on the foregoing analysis, the Commission approves this Test Claim and finds that 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a), as amended by Statutes 2020, chapter 335, 
imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program only on counties and cities, beginning  
January 1, 2021, to perform the following activity: 

• Ensure that youths, ages 16 and 17, except for those who affirmatively request to consult 
with retained legal counsel, consult with legal counsel prior to custodial interrogation and 
before the waiver of any Miranda rights.  In instances where the youth does not exercise 
their right to retain a private attorney, this includes providing legal counsel to consult 
with the youth in person, by telephone, or by video conference prior to a custodial 
interrogation, and before the waiver of any Miranda rights.200 

The following state funds will be identified in the Parameters and Guidelines as potential 
offsetting revenues: 

• Funding appropriated from the General Fund by Statutes 2020, chapter 92 (AB 1869) to 
backfill a county for the revenue lost due to the repeal of former Penal Code section 
987.4 and former Government Code section 27712, which provided funding for the costs 
of defense counsel and legal assistance in criminal proceedings, to the extent that the 
funds are used to offset a county’s costs to comply with the mandate. 

• Funding made available to counties pursuant to Penal Code section 987.6 for providing 
legal assistance for persons charged with violations of state criminal law or involuntarily 
detained under the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act and used to offset a county’s costs to 
comply with the mandate. 

Reimbursement is not required in the following situations: 

• When the 16 or 17 year old who affirmatively requests to consult with retained private 
counsel prior to interrogation and before waiver of any Miranda rights, which is required 
by existing state and federal law.201 

• For school districts or community college districts, who are authorized but not required 
by state law to employ peace officers.202 

                                                 
consider any willful violation of subdivision (a) in determining the credibility of a law 
enforcement officer under Section 780 of the Evidence Code.” 
200 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(a). 
201 Welfare and Institutions Code sections 625, 627.5; Miranda v. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436, 
470-473. 
202 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1367-1368. 
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• When the officer who questioned the youth reasonably believed the information the 
officer sought was necessary to protect life or property from an imminent threat and the 
officer’s questions were limited to those questions that were reasonably necessary to 
obtain that information.203 

• In the normal performance of a probation officer’s duties under Welfare and Institutions 
Code section 625, 627.5, or 628.204 

 

                                                 
203 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(c)(2). 
204 Welfare and Institutions Code section 625.6(d). 

https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS625&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS627.5&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000228&cite=CAWIS628&originatingDoc=N76FA5530071F11EB9C8DC50D0989AF19&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=f587b02944dd408a81dd73ed3eab06dd&contextData=(sc.Search)
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