
 1 

Hearing:  September 22, 2017 
J:\Regulations\2017\General Cleanup\Working Docs\8. SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES SUBJECT TO 15 DAY 
COMMENT PERIOD\Staff Report on Proposed Changes.docx 

ITEM 6 
STAFF REPORT ON PROPOSED SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES,  

SUBJECT TO 15 DAY COMMENT PERIOD 
GENERAL CLEANUP PROVISIONS 

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO 
CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, TITLE 2, DIVISION 2, CHAPTER 2.5 

ARTICLES 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, AND 10 
SECTIONS 1181.2 THROUGH 1181.3; 1182.2; 1182.7; 1182.9; 1182.10; 1182.15;  

1183.1 THROUGH 1183.4; 1183.6; 1183.8 THROUGH 1183.13; 1183.15 THROUGH 1183.17; 
1184.1; 1185.1 THROUGH 1185.3; 1185.7; 1185.8; 1186.2; 1186.4; 1187.5; 1187.8; 1187.9; 

1187.12; 1187.14; 1187.15; 1190.1 THROUGH 1190.3; 1190.5 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
On May 26, 2017, the Commission adopted an order to initiate a rulemaking package to:  (1) 
clarify and streamline Commission regulations; (2) update language for consistency; (3) clarify 
the definition of interested person; (4) clarify the certification and signature requirements for 
documents filed with the Commission; (5) clarify the requirements to e-file documents in a 
searchable PDF format and include an original signature; (6) clarify the period of limitation for 
filing a test claim consistent with the statutory scheme; (7) clarify the requirement for a single 
claimant representative for joint test claim filings; (8) clarify the requirements for filing a 
proposed amendment to parameters and guidelines consistent with changes to the Government 
Code; (9) clarify evidence submission requirements; (10) clarify that the same certification and 
filing requirements apply to all new filings and written materials; (11) update authority and 
reference citations; and (12) update punctuation for consistency throughout the regulations.   
The proposed regulatory text was made available to the public for 45 days from June 9, 2017 
through the end of the written comment period on July 24, 2017.  In addition, the California State 
Association of Counties (CSAC) filed a request for a public hearing, which was held during the 
Commission’s regularly scheduled hearing on July 28, 2017.  

Public Comments, Response to Comments, and Staff’s Recommendations 
On July 24, 2017, the California Special Districts Association (CSDA), CSAC, and the League 
of California Cities filed joint written comments on the proposed regulations.1 
On July 28, 2017, the following persons provided testimony at the public hearing: 

1. Andy Nichols, of Nichols Consulting 

                                                 
1 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Joint Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments. 
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2. Dorothy Johnson, for CSAC 
3. Dillon Gibbons, for CSDA2 

A summary of the public comments, staff’s responses to the comments, and staff’s 
recommendations, are provided below. 

1. Section 1183.1(c), period of limitation for filing test claims. 
a) Change to section 1183.1(c) as originally proposed 

Section 1183.1(c) provides for the period of limitation within which a test claim must be filed in 
accordance with Government Code section 17551(c).  Government Code section 17551(c) 
provides that a test claim must be filed either “not later than 12 months following the effective 
date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring increased costs as a result 
of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”3  The existing regulation states that “For 
purposes of claiming based on the date of first incurring costs, ‘within 12 months’ means by  
June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal year in which increased costs were first incurred by 
the test claimant.”  The proposed regulatory change eliminates this language, and clarifies that 
“within 12 months” speaks for itself, as follows: 

Except as provided in Government Code sections 17573 and 17574, any test 
claim or amendment filed with the Commission must be filed not later than 12 
months (365 days) following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or 
within 12 months (365 days) of first incurring increased costs as a result of a 
statute or executive order, whichever is later. For purposes of claiming based on 
the date of first incurring costs, "within 12 months" means by June 30 of the fiscal 
year following the fiscal year in which increased costs were first incurred by the 
test claimant. 

This change is intended to make the regulation consistent with the plain language of Government 
Code section 17551(c).   

b) Public Comments 
CSDA, CSAC, League of Cities Joint Written Comments  
Commenters’ objection to the proposed change rests primarily on the assertion that deleting the 
language that allows a test claim to be filed by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal year 
in which increased costs are first incurred “would strongly deter local governments from 
submitting test claims by hindering their ability to gather the relevant data and file in a timely 
manner.”4  Commenters assert that “[t]he proposed change will result in fewer and less accurate 

                                                 
2 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting. 
3 Government Code section 17551(c). 
4 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 2. 
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claims.”5  Further, they contend that “the proposed changes will require local governments to file 
test claims before they can adequately track associated costs, much less audit those costs for 
accuracy.”6  Accordingly, Commenters concede that they routinely treat June 30 as the only 
deadline for filing a test claim:  “The existing language provides local governments that are 
considering filing a test claim a clearly defined deadline to submit a claim for costs incurred 
while also reflecting an understanding of the budget planning procedure for local governments.”7   
Mr. Nichols, Public Comment 
At the public hearing on the proposed regulatory amendments, Mr. Nichols acknowledged that 
most claimants rely on the June 30 date as the only limitation period for filing new test claims:   
“right now, the existing regulation is very clear and concise and predictable:  All test claims must 
be filed by June 30th, following the year that the costs are either first incurred or enacted.”8  Mr. 
Nichols claimed that the former imposition of a three year period of limitation to file in 2002, 
and the reduction of that period of limitation to one year in 2005, has had a chilling effect on the 
filing of test claims.  Mr. Nichols asserted that further shortening the limitation period for test 
claim filings will only further that chilling effect.9 
Ms. Johnson, Public Comment 
Ms. Johnson asserts that June 30 is a “more precise hard deadline” and should be retained.10  Ms. 
Johnson further asserts that the June 30 fiscal year end deadline “aligns very well with the local 
budgeting process, which we think is helpful in ensuring the actual costs incurred will be more 
accurately reflected when it comes to reviewing the new programs or higher levels of services 
that are put upon counties and other local agencies.”11  

c) Response to Comments 
Although the commenters raised some policy arguments for why the Legislature may wish to 
consider a longer statute of limitations for test claims, staff recommends that the Commission 
strike the provision in 1183.1(c) that permits a test claim filed on the basis of the date costs were 
first incurred to be filed by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal year in which costs 
                                                 
5 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 2. 
6 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 2. 
7 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 2. 
8 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 9. 
9 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, pages 9-11. 
10 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 12. 
11 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 12. 
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were incurred as originally proposed; and make additional clarifying changes to section 
1183.1(c) as described below. 
Government Code section 17551(c) provides for test claims to be filed “not later than 12 months 
following the effective date of the statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring 
increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”  The existing 
regulatory language defines “within 12 months” for purposes of a test claim filed on the basis of 
the date costs are first incurred only, to mean by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal 
year in which costs are first incurred.  For test claims filed based on the effective date of the test 
claim statute or executive order, “12 months” currently remains undefined in the Commission’s 
regulations and therefore retains its common meaning:  365 days.12  As explained below, this 
regulation permits the Commission to accept a test claim based on first incurring costs as timely 
well beyond the 12 month deadline provided in the statute, and appears to confuse the period of 
limitation in Government Code section 17551 with the period of reimbursement in Government 
Code section 17557.  In addition, the interpretation of this regulation, and local governments’ 
sole use of the June 30 deadline for filing test claims, conflict with the rules of statutory 
interpretation.  A review of the history of Government Code section 17551 helps to understand 
the proposed regulatory change.  
Before 2002, the Government Code did not contain a period of limitation for filing test claims.13  
The only limitation for filing a test claim was that the test claim statute or executive order must 
have been enacted on or after January 1, 1975.14  Thus, a test claim could be filed 20 or 25 years 
after the effective date of the statute or executive order and be timely.  However, if the test claim 
was approved by the Commission, the period of reimbursement for all eligible claimants, as 
identified in the parameters and guidelines, was limited under Government Code section 17557 
by the test claim filing date; “A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a 
fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year.”15  For example, 
a claimant in the year 2000 could file a test claim on a statute that was enacted and became 
effective on January 1, 1980.  If the test claim was filed by June 30, 2000, and was approved by 
the Commission, the period of reimbursement for all eligible claimants would begin July 1, 1998 
(and not on the effective date of January 1, 1980). 
Effective September 30, 2002, the Legislature amended Government Code section 17551 by 
adding a period of limitation for filing test claims with the Commission.16  As amended, 

                                                 
12 See People v. Valencia (2017) 3 Cal.5th 347, 357, “We have long recognized that the language 
used in a statute or constitutional provision should be given its ordinary meaning.” 
13 Government Code section 17551(a) simply stated the following:  “The commission, pursuant 
to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school 
district that the local agency or school district is entitled to be reimbursed by the state for costs 
mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution.” 
(Stats.1986, c. 879.) 
14 Article XIII B, section 6(a)(3). 
15 Former Government Code section 17557(c).  The period of reimbursement is currently in 
section 17557(e). 
16 Statutes 2002, chapter 1124.  
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Government Code section 17551 allowed the filing of a test claim on any statute, regulation, or 
alleged executive order that became effective after January 1, 2002, no later than three years 
following the date the alleged mandate became effective and included a grandfather clause to 
allow the filing of a test claim on any statute, regulation, or executive order enacted after  
January 1, 1975, and effective before January 1, 2002, until September 30, 2003.  Thus, a test 
claim on a statute that became effective on January 1, 2003, had to be filed by January 1, 2006.  
If the test claim was approved, the period of reimbursement was still limited by the test claim 
filing date:  “A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in order 
to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year.”17  Therefore, if the test claim on a 
statute that became effective on January 1, 2003, was filed by June 30, 2005 (within the period of 
limitation), and was approved by the Commission, the period of reimbursement for all eligible 
claimants would begin July 1, 2003.   
Government Code section 17551(c) was amended to its current form in 2004 by AB 2856.18   
AB 2856 changed the period of limitation for filing test claims in section 17551(c) from three 
years of the effective date of a test claim statute or executive order, to “not later than 12 months 
following the effective date of the statute or executive order, or within 12 months of the 
incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”  AB 2856 
also renumbered section 17557(c) to section 17557(e) governing the period of reimbursement, 
which continues to limit the period of reimbursement for approved test claims based on the test 
claim filing date:  “A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in 
order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year.”19   
The legislative committee analysis and the legislative counsel’s digest on AB 2856 do not 
indicate why the limitation period for filing a test claim was shortened from three years to one 
year, but a contemporaneous report by LAO entitled “Key Elements of Mandate Reform – Major 
Recommendations Proposed” indicated a desire to move the Commission’s test claim processes 
along faster, in part by requiring claimants to file promptly.20  In addition to speeding up the 
mandates process, the introduction of the second test in section 17551(c) indicates that the 
Legislature was cognizant of the fact that local agencies may not incur costs under a particular 
statute or executive order until some later time, if at all, based on a triggering event, which might 
leave an otherwise-eligible claim inadvertently time-barred.  The second test under section 
17551 is consistent with Government Code section 17564(a), which provides that no claim under 
section 17551 may be made unless the claim exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000), and in some 
cases no costs have been incurred, or may ever be incurred, unless some later triggering event 
occurs. 
In 2005, the Commission amended section 1183.1(c) of the regulations to implement AB 2856 
by defining the date costs are first incurred under the second test of Government Code section 
17551(c) to mean by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal year in which costs are first 

                                                 
17 Former Government Code section 17557(c). 
18 Statutes 2004, chapter 890. 
19 Government Code section 17557(e) (Stats. 2004, ch. 890 (AB 2856)). 
20 Exhibit D, LAO Report, Key Elements of Mandate Reform – Major Recommendations 
Proposed. 
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incurred.21  The statement of reasons for that amendment simply states that “This section 
proposes substantive and technical conforming changes that update the statute of limitations 
requirement.”  There was no analysis of the regulatory language or of the Government Code, and 
no comments were filed on that rulemaking.22    
The comments on the proposed regulatory change suggest that claimants generally rely on the 
“whichever is later” language to file their test claims based on the date costs are first incurred, 
and avail themselves of the June 30 deadline, all but ignoring the first test under section 17551(c) 
to file a test claim “not later than 12 months following the effective date” of the statute or 
executive order.  This practice is consistent with staff’s observations of current and recently-
closed test claim filings, and is consistent with an interpretation that Government Code section 
17551 allows a test claimant to always choose the later deadline since reimbursable costs can 
never be incurred before the effective date of a statute or executive order.  For example, if the 
effective date of a given statute is January 1, 2015, then under the first test in section 17551(c), 
the period of limitation for filing the test claim would be January 1, 2016.23  But if a test 
claimant alleges that it began first incurring costs on January 2, 2015 (one day after the effective 
date of the statute, and in fiscal year 2015-2016), the claimant could avail itself of the language 
in the current regulation allowing a test claim filing by “June 30 of the fiscal year following the 
fiscal year in which costs are first incurred,” and extend the period of limitation to June 30 of the 
following fiscal year (2016-2017), or to June 30, 2017; two and a half years after the statute 
became effective.24   
There is nothing in the language of section 17551 or in the legislative history AB 2856, however, 
to suggest the Legislature intended local government to ignore the first test in section 17551 as 
pure surplusage or to grant local governments the option to always choose the later filing 
deadline no matter when they first incurred costs.  Given that state-mandated increased costs 
cannot, by definition, be incurred before the effective date of the statute, an interpretation of 
section 17551(c) that relies only on the second test renders the first test surplusage and 
essentially without effect.   
The courts have made it clear that an interpretation of a statute that renders statutory language 
surplusage is to be avoided:  

We have long recognized that the language used in a statute or constitutional 
provision should be given its ordinary meaning, and “[i]f the language is clear and 
unambiguous there is no need for construction, nor is it necessary to resort to 
indicia of the intent of the Legislature (in the case of a statute) or of the voters (in 

                                                 
21 Register 2005, No. 36. 
22 Exhibit D, ISOR, FSOR, and proposed language for the Commission’s 2005 regulation 
package. 
23 If the test claim was approved, the period of reimbursement under Government Code section 
17557, using a January 1, 2016, filing date would be January 1, 2015, the effective date of the 
statute. 
24 If the test claim was approved, under the facts in this hypothetical, the period of 
reimbursement under Government Code section 17557, using a June 30, 2017, filing date would 
be July 1, 2015 (and not the effective date of January 1, 2015). 
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the case of a provision adopted by the voters).”  (Lungren v. Deukmejian (1988) 
45 Cal.3d 727, 735.)  To that end, we generally must “accord [ ] significance, if 
possible, to every word, phrase and sentence in pursuance of the legislative 
purpose,” and have warned that “[a] construction making some words surplusage 
is to be avoided.”  (Dyna-Med, Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Com. (1987) 
43 Cal.3d 1379, 1387.) 
But “[t]he words of the statute must be construed in context, keeping in mind the 
statutory purpose, and statutes or statutory sections relating to the same subject 
must be harmonized, both internally and with each other, to the extent possible.”  
(Dyna-Med, Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Com., supra, 43 Cal.3d at p. 
1387.)  “Where uncertainty exists consideration should be given to the 
consequences that will flow from a particular interpretation.”  (Ibid.)25 

Thus, under the rules of construction, Government Code section 17551(c) is more correctly 
interpreted to require a test claim filing 12 months following the effective date of a statute or 
executive order that imposes new mandated activities and costs immediately (which is the more 
usual case).  If costs are not incurred within 12 months following the effective date of a statute or 
executive order (as is sometimes the case where an independent triggering event causes local 
entities to incur costs), then a test claim may be filed no later than 12 months following the date 
of first incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or regulation.  
Although section 1183.1(c) of the Commission’s regulations has never been challenged, if a 
court were to examine the Government Code section closely, it could determine that section 
1183.1(c) of the Commission’s regulations is inconsistent with the Code.  Under such 
circumstances a court could find that a Commission decision on a test claim filed more than 12 
months after costs are first incurred could be considered void and in excess of the Commission’s 
jurisdiction.26  Thus, the proposed regulatory action seeks to amend the regulation to make it 
consistent with the plain language of Government Code section 17551, and consistent with the 
rules of statutory construction. 
The commenters’ also suggest that the proposed change striking the June 30 language in section 
1183.1(c) will have a chilling effect on the filing of test claims.  In this respect, Ms. Johnson 
stated in testimony that the existing deadline of June 30 is consistent with the timing of the local 
budgeting process and is “helpful” to the claimants “in ensuring the actual costs incurred will be 
more accurately reflected” in the allegations of the claim.  Although these are valid concerns, 
extending the period of limitation to reflect a June 30 deadline requires a statutory change to 
section 17551.  In addition, under the current requirements of Government Code section 
17551(c) and the proposed regulatory language to section 1183.1(c), local government can still 
go through a budget cycle before a test claim would have to be filed 12 months after either the 
effective date of the statute or executive order, or the date of first incurring costs.  Under either 
test, a test claimant need only show for purposes of jurisdiction that it has or will incur actual 
increased costs of $1,000. 

                                                 
25 People v. Valencia (2017) 3 Cal.5th 347, 357-358, emphasis added. 
26 California School Boards Association v. State Board of Education (2010) 191 Cal.App.4th 
530, 544.  
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d) Staff’s recommendation for additional amendments to section 1183.1(c) 
Based on the above discussion, staff recommends the following additional clarifying edits to 
section 1183.1(c) to make the regulation consistent with section 17551, as interpreted under the 
rules of construction (additional amendments noted in double underline and double strikeout): 

Except as provided in Government Code sections 17573 and 17574, any test 
claim or amendment filed with the Commission must shall be filed not later than 
12 months (365 days) following the effective date of a statute or executive order., 
or If costs are not incurred within 12 months following the effective date of a 
statute or executive order, then a test claim may be filed within 12 months (365 
days) of first incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order., 
whichever is later. For purposes of claiming based on the date of first incurring 
costs, "within 12 months" means by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal 
year in which increased costs were first incurred by the test claimant. 

Under the Administrative Procedures Act (APA), each substantial, sufficiently related change to 
the initial proposal must be made available for public comment for an additional 15 days.27  Staff 
recommends that the Commission approve the above changes to section 1183.1(c) and authorize 
staff to issue a notice of modification and the proposed regulatory text as modified for an 
additional 15 day public comment period beginning Monday, September 25, 2017 and ending 
Tuesday, October 10, 2017. 

2. Section 1183.1(g), joint test claims.  
a) Proposed regulatory change to section 1181.3(g) 

The Commission’s regulations allow test claims to be prepared as a joint effort between two or 
more claimants under specified circumstances.  The proposed amendment clarifies the existing 
requirement that joint claimants must designate one person to act as the sole representative for all 
claimants on the test claim.  Language is proposed in 1183.1(g)(3) as follows: 

(g) Test claims may be prepared as a joint effort between two or more claimants 
and filed with the Commission if the claimants attest to all of the following in 
the test claim filing: 
(1) The claimants allege state-mandated costs result from the same statute or 

executive order; 
(2) The claimants agree on all issues of the test claim; and 
(3) The claimants have designated one contact person to act as the resource 

sole representative for all claimants for information regarding the test 
claim. 

b) Public Comments 
CSDA, CSAC, League of Cities Joint Written Comments  
Commenters state that the initial notice and statement of reasons “does not provide sufficient 
information to explain the purpose of the change…” and that “existing language…permits a joint 

                                                 
27 Government Code section 11346.8(c). 
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effort between two or more claimants so long as, among other provisions, the claimants 
designate one contact person to act as the resource for information regarding the test claim…”28  
Commenters assert that “[t]he proposed regulation would change this requirement 
entirely…[and] could be construed to require an unanimity of factual and legal concerns by all 
claimants.”29  Commenters assert that this would be “harmful” to the “efforts of joint claimants 
by requiring such unanimity, and by forcing them to select a single representative for their efforts 
despite the fact that they may have diverging concerns…on narrow issues that would not 
otherwise deter a joint test claim.”30 
Accordingly, commenters suggest the following language: “1183.1(g)(3) The claimants have 
designated one contact person to act as the resource sole representative for all claimants for 
information for all claimants regarding the test claim.” 
Dorothy Johnson, CSAC 
Ms. Johnson testified at the public hearing that the reason for this change is unclear, and that 
while joint test claims involve “often broad, common themes…those individual agencies may 
have further unique aspects that they wish to bring to the table; and we feel that opportunity 
would be severely limited with the proposed changes.”31 

c) Response to Comments 
Staff recommends that the Commission reject the proposed modifications by the commenters.   
The comments state that the proposed regulatory change could be construed to require unanimity 
of factual and legal concerns by all claimants.  However, section 1183.1(g)(2) has long required 
that joint test claimants “agree on all issues of the test claim . . .,” and no amendments to section 
1183.1(g)(2) have been proposed.   
The requirement that joint test claimants agree on all issues of the test claim is consistent with 
the Government Code and the court’s interpretation of the Commission’s process.  As originally 
enacted, Government Code section 17521 defined a “test claim” to mean “the first claim filed 
with the commission alleging that a particular statute or executive order imposes costs mandated 
by the state.”32  Thus, the Commission was authorized to take jurisdiction over the first test claim 
on a statute or executive order only, and was not authorized to accept duplicate test claims.   
In 1999, the Legislature amended section 17521 to define a “test claim” to mean “the first claim, 
including claims joined or consolidated with the first claim, filed with the commission alleging 
that a particular statute or executive order imposes costs mandated by the state.”  The Legislature 
                                                 
28 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 3.  
29 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 3. 
30 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 3. 
31 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 13. 
32 Statutes 1984, chapter 1459. 
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also amended section 17553(b) to direct the Commission to include provisions in regulation for 
the acceptance of more than one claim on the same statute or executive order, provisions for 
consolidation of such claims, and provisions for claimants to designate a single claimant for a 
test claim relating to the same statute or executive order.33   
In 2004, AB 2856 deleted the language allowing multiple test claims on the same statute or 
executive order.  The language in section 17521 was brought back to its original form to provide 
that “‘Test claim’ means the first claim filed with the commission alleging that a particular 
statute or executive order imposes costs mandated by the state.”  And the language in section 
17553(b) regarding the acceptance of more than one claim was deleted.  The question of whether 
costs are reimbursable under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution is purely a 
question of law and multiple test claims on the same statute or executive order is contrary to the 
purpose of the quasi-judicial process established in sections 17500, et seq.34  As recognized by 
the California Supreme Court, Government Code sections 17500 and following were established 
for the “express purpose of avoiding multiple proceedings, judicial and administrative, 
addressing the same claim that a reimbursable state mandate has been created.”35   
The Commission’s current regulations allow a single test claim on a statute or executive order to 
be filed and prepared as a joint effort between two or more claimants, as long as the local 
government parties comply with section 1183.2(g) and allege state-mandated costs resulting 
from the same statute or executive order, agree on all issues of the test claim, and designate one 
contact person to act as the sole representative on the claim.  The designation of one person as a 
sole representative on a joint test claim is necessary to comply with Government Code section 
17521, requiring that a test claim be the first claim filed on a statute or executive order, and with 
section 1187.8 of the Commission’s regulations and the test claim filing form, which requires 
that a party before the Commission designate an authorized representative to act as its “sole 
representative.”  The “sole representative” shall be “deemed to control all matters respecting the 
interest of that party in the proceeding.  All correspondence and communications shall be 
forwarded to the authorized representative.”   
Section 1183.1(g)(3), in its current form states the following:  “The claimants have designated 
one contact person to act as the resource for information regarding the test claim.”  The 
commenters and some local government test claimants, however, have interpreted section 
1183.1(g) to mean that a joint test claim requires the identification of a single contact person to 
act as a resource for information, but not a single representative to act as the sole representative 
on the claim on behalf of all joint test claimants.  Such an interpretation contradicts the sole 
representative requirement in section 1187.8.  Nevertheless, the current language is not entirely 
clear and is subject to different interpretations.  Thus, the proposed regulatory amendment is 
intended to clarify that joint test claimants designate one person to act as the sole representative 
for all claimants on the test claim. 

                                                 
33 Statutes 1999, chapter 643 (AB 1679).   
34 City of Sacramento v. State of California (1990) 50 Cal.3d 51, 64 and 71, fn. 15; County of 
San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 109. 
35 Kinlaw v. State of California (1991) 54 Cal.3d 326, 333.   
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Joint test claim filings are not required.  The Government Code only requires one test claim to be 
filed by a local government entity for the Commission to have jurisdiction to determine if a 
statute or executive order requires reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution.  If another local government entity has a beneficial interest in the test claim or has 
“further unique aspects that [it] wish[es] to bring to the table…” on the test claim, it is free to file 
written comments as an interested party and provide testimony before the Commission.36  Even 
if they have no beneficial interest in a particular matter, but just a general interest in the 
proceedings of the Commission, they have the opportunity to file comments and evidence and 
provide testimony on any matter pending before the Commission. 37 
Accordingly, staff recommends the Commission reject commenters’ proposed modification. 

3. Section 1182.10(b), evidentiary requirements for a finding of significant financial 
distress.   
a) Proposed regulatory change to section 1182.10(b) 

Section 1182.10 governs the conduct of the Commission’s hearing of a county’s application for a 
finding of significant financial distress under Welfare and Institutions Code section 17000.6.  
Subdivision (a) of section 17000.6 states the following: 

The board of supervisors of any county may adopt a standard of aid below the 
level established in Section 17000.5 if the Commission on State Mandates makes 
a finding that meeting the standards in Section 17000.5would result in a 
significant financial distress to the county. When the commission makes a finding 
of significant financial distress concerning a county, the board of supervisors may 
establish a level of aid which is not less than 40 percent of the 1991 federal 
official poverty level, which may be further reduced pursuant to Section 17001.5 
for shared housing.  The commission shall not make a finding of significant 
financial distress unless the county has made a compelling case that, absent the 
finding, basic county services, including public safety, cannot be maintained. 

In 1997, the Third District Court of Appeal, in Goff v. Commission on State Mandates, 
held that the issue before the Commission on a county’s application for a finding of 
significant financial distress is “whether the County had made a compelling case that 
providing general assistance at the level contemplated by section 17000.5 would cause 
significant financial distress such that the County could not maintain basic services, 
including public safety.”  Such an issue is a question of law, requiring the Commission to 
exercise its quasi-judicial authority.38  

                                                 
36 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1181.2(i); Government Code section 11123 
(Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act). 
37 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1181.2(j); Government Code section 11123 
(Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act). 
38 Goff v. Commission on State Mandates (Third District Court of Appeal, Case No. C02243469, 
Nov. 25, 1997) [review denied and opinion ordered nonpublished by the California Supreme 
Court March 11, 1998]. 
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Section 1187.5 of the Commission’s regulations governs the evidentiary requirements for 
all quasi-judicial matters, including findings of significant financial distress.  That section 
states the following with respect to the Commission’s quasi-judicial hearings:  

• The hearing will not be conducted according to technical rules relating to 
evidence and witnesses. 

• Any relevant non-repetitive evidence shall be admitted if it is the sort of evidence 
on which responsible persons are accustomed to rely in the conduct of serious 
affairs. 

• Irrelevant and unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded. 

• Hearsay evidence may be used for the purpose of supplementing or explaining 
other evidence but shall not be sufficient in itself to support a finding unless it 
would be admissible over objection in civil actions.  

• Oral or written representations of fact offered by any person at an article 7 hearing 
shall be under oath or affirmation. All written representations of fact submitted to 
the Commission must be signed under penalty of perjury by persons who are 
authorized and competent to do so and must be based upon the declarant's 
personal knowledge or information or belief.  

• Official notice may be taken in the manner and of the information described in 
Government Code Section 11515.  

• Each party shall have the right to present witnesses, introduce exhibits, and 
propose to the chairperson questions for opposing witnesses. Evidence may be 
submitted to support or rebut any issue. If declarations are to be used in lieu of 
testimony, the party proposing to use the declaration shall comply with 
Government Code Section 11514. 

The proposed amendment to section 1182.10 was merely intended to streamline the 
Commission’s regulations by simply referring to the evidentiary requirements of section 
1187.5, and deleting the duplicative requirements in section 1182.10.  The proposed 
amendment is not a substantive change and does not change the evidentiary requirements 
for findings of significant financial distress.  The proposed amendment to section 1182.10 
is as follows: 

(a) Each party shall have the right to present witnesses, to introduce exhibits, and 
to propose questions to the chairperson, hearing panel, or hearing officer for 
opposing witnesses in support or rebuttal of any matter relevant to the issues even 
though that matter was not covered in the direct examination. 
(b) The hearings will not be conducted according to technical rules relating to 
evidence and witnesses. Any relevant non-repetitive evidence shall be admitted if 
it is the sort of evidence on which responsible persons are accustomed to rely in 
the conduct of serious affairs. Irrelevant and unduly repetitious evidence shall be 
excluded. Hearsay evidence may be used for the purpose of supplementing or 
explaining other evidence but shall not be sufficient in itself to support a finding 
unless it would be admissible over objection in civil actions. 
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(cb) The Commission, hearing panel, or hearing officer may question any party or 
witness, may admit any relevant and material evidence, and may limit the length 
of testimony to a specific amount of time for any party or witness. 
(dc) The taking of evidence and testimony in a hearing shall be controlled by the 
Commission, hearing panel, or hearing officer in the manner best suited to 
ascertain the facts. 
(ed) Oral or written representations of fact offered by any person shall be under 
oath or affirmation. supported by documentary or testimonial evidence, submitted 
in accordance with section 1187.5 of these regulations. Written representations of 
fact must be signed under penalty of perjury by persons who are authorized and 
competent to do so and must be based upon the declarant's personal knowledge or 
information or belief. 
(fg) Public hearings, pursuant to this article, shall be recorded by stenographic 
reporter or electronic recording or both. The transcript or recordings shall be kept 
for the period of time required by applicable law governing the retention of 
records of state agency public proceedings, or until conclusion of administrative 
or judicial proceedings, whichever is later.39 

b) Public Comments 
CSDA, CSAC, League of Cities Written Comments  
Commenters expressed confusion regarding this proposed change: 

The Commission is a quasi-judicial body, and therefore, should not be required to 
act in accordance with traditional “courtroom” rules and order.  However, by 
striking out Section 1182.10(b), it is unclear whether or not the Commission will 
be required to act as such.  Moreover, the proposed regulation conflicts with other 
regulations governing the conduct of hearings before the Commission. Section 
1187.5, regarding evidence submitted to the Commission in a quasi-judicial 
hearing, contains the same language being stricken in proposed regulation Section 
1182.10(b).40 

Accordingly, commenters recommend retaining the existing language in section 1182.10(b). 
Dillon Gibbons, CSDA 
At the public hearing, Mr. Gibbons echoed the written comments, but also stated that the notice 
provided does not specifically identify the necessity or anticipated benefit of this change.41  
                                                 
39 Similar amendments are proposed for sections 1182.2; 1182.7; 1182.9; 1183.1; 1183.2; 
1183.3; 1183.4; 1183.6; 1183.8; 1183.9; 1183.10; 1183.11; 1183.12; 1183.13; 1183.15; 1183.16; 
1183.17; 1184.1; 1185.1; 1185.2; 1185.3; 1185.7; 1185.8; 1186.2; 1186.4; 1187.8; 1187.9; 
1187.12; 1187.14; 1187.15; 1190.1; 1190.2; 1190.3; 1190.5 of the Commission’s regulations. 
40 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, pages 3-4. 
41 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, pages 13-14. 
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Further, Mr. Gibbons asserted that the changes would result in significant cost increases for 
claimants before the Commission: 

If we’re eliminating hearsay testimony, it will require tremendous investment of 
time and resources for agency staff to be preparing witnesses.  Instead of having a 
GM be able to come in and say, “You know, I got this information from our 
auditor, I got this information from these folks; and here’s what they said,” we 
would have to be bringing in each one of them, is the understanding -- the way we 
read that proposed change. 
And as it’s currently written, there is confusion on how those regulations would 
be enforced or which ones we should follow.  At least I’m confused.42 

Accordingly, Mr. Gibbons requested that the Commission retain the existing language of section 
1182.10(b), or “[i]f the Commission still wishes to make changes to that section, we ask that you 
hold off on the changes until the Commission staff is able to provide the public with information 
regarding the necessity or anticipated benefit of the proposed regulation and we have an 
opportunity to respond to those comments.” 

c) Response to Comments 
Staff recommends that the Commission reject the commenters’ recommendation to retain the 
existing language in section 1182.10.   
Section 1182.10 describes the hearing to be held on a request for a finding of significant 
financial distress.  Subdivision (b), proposed for deletion, currently states that the hearing will 
not be conducted according to technical rules relating to evidence and witnesses, including the 
admissibility of hearsay evidence.  These provisions echo those in section 1187.5, which applies 
to all matters heard before the Commission that fall under Article 7, Quasi-Judicial Hearing 
Procedures and Decisions, including applications for findings of significant financial distress.  In 
this respect, section 1182.10(b) is duplicative, and unnecessary. 
However, commenters’ confusion may stem from the fact that applications for a finding of 
significant financial distress are not clearly identified as an Article 7 “matter” in section 1187.1 
of the Commission’s regulations.  Section 1187.1 identifies test claims, proposed parameters and 
guidelines, incorrect reduction claims, and other matters, but does not expressly list applications 
for findings of significant financial distress.  This is an inadvertent error.  Since section 1187.1 
was not identified on the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, section 1187.1 will be revised in the 
Commission’s next review of its regulations to correct that error.  The APA prohibits a state 
agency from adopting or amending a regulation that was not originally made available to the 
public.43  If an application for a finding of significant financial distress is filed before section 
1187.1 is corrected, the Commission will still be bound by the Goff case under principles of res 
judicata, and will be required to conduct the hearing in accordance with sections 1182.10 and 
1187.5 as a quasi-judicial matter.  

                                                 
42 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 15. 
43 Government Code section 11346.8(c). 
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4. Filing and service of all documents, and signature and certification of evidence 
requirements; elimination of duplicative language, sections 1182.2; 1182.7; 1182.9; 
1182.10; 1183.1; 1183.2; 1183.3; 1183.4; 1183.6; 1183.8; 1183.9; 1183.10; 1183.11; 
1183.12; 1183.13; 1183.15; 1183.16; 1183.17; 1184.1; 1185.1; 1185.2; 1185.3; 1185.7; 
1185.8; 1186.2; 1186.4; 1187.8; 1187.9; 1187.12; 1187.14; 1187.15; 1190.1; 1190.2; 
1190.3; 1190.5  
a) Proposed regulatory changes  

As described in the notice and initial statement of reasons, the above sections detail the filing 
requirements for a number of different types of matters before the Commission.  All are subject 
to the requirements of section 1181.3 (filing and service, including e-filing), and most are also 
subject to section 1187.5 (evidentiary requirements for article 7 quasi-judicial matters).  
However, portions of the language from either section 1181.3 or section 1187.5, or both, are 
repeated throughout the above-described regulations, with varying degrees of consistency and 
detail.  The proposed amendments either add to or reorder the above sections to provide 
uniformity to those varied references, and ensure that the requirements of section 1181.3 are 
applied to all documents filed with the Commission, and the provisions of section 1187.5 are 
followed where applicable for quasi-judicial matters.   

b) Public Comments  
CSDA, CSAC, League of Cities Written Comments  
Commenters acknowledge that “common law definitions for ‘documentary evidence’ and 
‘testimonial evidence’ exist,” but ask the Commission to clarify “what the terms mean in the 
Commission’s quasi-judicial context.44 
Dillon Gibbons, CSDA 
Mr. Gibbons echoed these statements at the public hearing, saying “we would like to see 
clarification to be put into the proposed language that has the definitions as they would apply to 
this Commission for the documentary and testimonial evidence.”45 

c) Response to Comments 
Staff recommends that the Commission reject the modifications proposed by the commenters.   
The regulatory changes proposed are merely clarifying, and commenters’ suggestions are beyond 
the scope of this regulatory action.  Section 1181.3 provides instructions for filing and service of 
all documents with the Commission, including documents that are intended as evidence, and the 
regulatory changes in the above-named sections are intended merely to provide consistent 
reference to those requirements.  Section 1187.5 provides for the evidentiary standards 
applicable to all Article 7 matters before the Commission, including the admissibility of hearsay 
evidence, and the introduction of evidence and exhibits, including declarations. The regulatory 
changes proposed are only those necessary to ensure that with respect to all Article 7 matters, a 

                                                 
44 Exhibit A, CSDA, CSAC, and League of Cities Comments on Proposed Regulatory 
Amendments, page 4. 
45 Exhibit B, Commission on State Mandates, Excerpt from the Transcript of the July 28, 2017 
Meeting, page 16. 
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clear and consistent reference to section 1187.5 and its requirements is present.  There are no 
substantive changes proposed to the evidentiary standards, or to the types of evidence that are 
permitted.  
Pursuant to the Commission’s regulations, the technical rules of evidence and witnesses that are 
required in court are not required before the Commission.  Under the Commission’s process, 
evidence to support or rebut any issue can be by either oral or written testimony provided under 
oath or affirmation.46   
Hearsay evidence may be used only for the purpose of supplementing or explaining other 
evidence, but shall not be sufficient itself to support a finding unless it would be admissible over 
objection in civil actions.47  Hearsay evidence is defined as an out-of-court statement (either oral 
or written) that is offered to prove the truth of the matter stated.  Under the evidentiary 
requirements for the courts, written testimony in the form of a declaration or affidavit is 
considered hearsay because the declarant is an out-of-court witness making statements about the 
truth of the matters asserted and is not available for cross examination.  However, under the 
relaxed rules of evidence in section 1187.5 of the Commission’s regulations, written testimony 
made under oath or affirmation is considered direct evidence and may properly be used to 
support a fact.48   
Out-of-court statements that are not made under oath or affirmation, however, are hearsay. 
Unless there is an exception provided by law, hearsay evidence alone cannot be used to support a 
finding under Government Code section 17518.5 because out-of-court statements are generally 
considered unreliable.  The witness is not under oath, there is no opportunity to cross-examine 
the witness, and the witness cannot be observed at the hearing.49  There are many exceptions to 
the hearsay rule, however.  If one of the exceptions applies, then an out-of-court statement is 
considered trustworthy under the circumstances and may be used to prove the truth of the matter 
stated.50 
In addition, the Commission may take judicial notice of any facts which may be judicially 
noticed by the courts.51  Such facts include the official acts of any legislative, executive, or 
judicial body; records of the court; and other facts and propositions that are not reasonably 
subject to dispute and are capable of immediate and accurate determination. 

The Commission’s regulation governing evidence is borrowed from the evidence requirements 
of the Administrative Procedures Act (Gov. Code, § 11513).  The courts have interpreted the 
evidentiary requirement for administrative proceedings as follows: 

                                                 
46 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1187.5.   
47 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1187.5.   
48 Windigo Mills v. Unemployment Ins. Appeals Bd. (1979) 92 Cal.App.3d 586, 597. 
49 People v. Cudjo (1993) 6 Cal.4th 585. 
50 See Evidence Code sections 1200 et seq. for the statutory hearsay exceptions. 
51 California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1187.5.  See also, Evidence Code sections 451 
and 452. 
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While administrative bodies are not expected to observe meticulously all of the 
rules of evidence applicable to a court trial, common sense and fair play dictate 
certain basic requirements for the conduct of any hearing at which facts are to be 
determined. Among these are the following: the evidence must be produced at the 
hearing by witnesses personally present, or by authenticated documents, maps or 
photographs; ordinarily, hearsay evidence standing alone can have no weight 
[citations omitted], and this would apply to hearsay evidence concerning someone 
else's opinion; furthermore, cross-examination within reasonable limits must be 
allowed. Telephone calls to one of the officials sitting in the case, statements 
made in letters and arguments made in petitions should not be considered as 
evidence.52 

Moreover, Government Code section 17559(b) has long provided that “A claimant or the state 
may commence a proceeding in accordance with the provisions of Section 1094.5 of the Code of 
Civil Procedure to set aside a decision of the commission on the ground that the commission’s 
decision is not supported by substantial evidence.”  Code of Civil Procedure section 1094.5 is a 
claim for administrative mandamus that requires the court to determine whether substantial 
evidence supports the administrative agency’s findings and whether the findings support the 
agency’s decision.  An administrative agency commits an abuse of discretion under section 
1094.5 if the decision is not supported by the findings or the findings are not supported by the 
evidence.53 
Finally, evidence submitted to the Commission is evaluated on a case-by-case basis, in 
accordance with the rules of evidence.  Any additional definitions or specifications regarding the 
type of evidence or the scope of evidence that the Commission accepts or considers would 
unduly bind the Commission in future matters.  Accordingly, staff recommends that the 
Commission reject the proposed modifications.   

 

                                                 
52 Desert Turf Club v. Board of Supervisors for Riverside County (1956) 141 Cal.App.2d 446, 
455.  In that case, the board of supervisors denied a permit to use land subject to a zoning 
ordinance as a race track.  The board based its decision on testimony, letters and phone calls 
from members of the public opposing horse racing and betting on moral grounds.  The court held 
that there was no evidence in the record to support the decision.  On remand, the court directed 
the board to “reconsider the petition of appellants as to land use, wholly excluding any 
consideration as to the alleged immorality of horse racing and betting as authorized by state law, 
and wholly excluding from such consideration all testimony not received in open hearing, and all 
statements of alleged fact and arguments in petitions and letters on file, except the bare fact that 
the petitioners or letter writers approve or oppose the granting of the petition; also wholly 
excluding each and every instance of hearsay testimony unless supported by properly admissible 
testimony, it being further required that the attorneys representing any party in interest be 
granted a reasonable opportunity to examine or cross-examine every new witness produced.”   
Id. at p. 456. 
53 Topanga Assoc. for a Scenic Community v. County of Los Angeles (1974) 11 Cal.3d 506,  
514-515. 
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Conclusion and Staff Recommendation 
Based on the foregoing, staff recommends that the Commission approve the proposed 
modification to section 1183.1(c) as follows (additional amendments noted in double underline 
and double strikeout):   

Except as provided in Government Code sections 17573 and 17574, any test 
claim or amendment filed with the Commission must shall be filed not later than 
12 months (365 days) following the effective date of a statute or executive order., 
or If costs are not incurred within 12 months following the effective date of a 
statute or executive order, then a test claim may be filed within 12 months (365 
days) of first incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, 
whichever is later. For purposes of claiming based on the date of first incurring 
costs, "within 12 months" means by June 30 of the fiscal year following the fiscal 
year in which increased costs were first incurred by the test claimant. 

Staff further recommends that the Commission authorize staff to issue a notice of modification 
and the proposed regulatory text as modified for an additional 15 day public comment period 
pursuant to Government Code section 11346.8(c) beginning Monday, September 25, 2017, and 
ending on Tuesday October 10, 2017.   
If approved, and following the receipt of additional comments, staff will prepare the final 
rulemaking package for the Commission’s consideration at the December 1, 2017 hearing. 
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TITLE 2.  ADMINISTRATION 
DIVISION 2.  FINANCIAL OPERATIONS 

CHAPTER 2.5.  COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES 
 

NOTICE OF MODIFICATIONS TO TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 11346.8(c), and section 44 of Title 1 
of the California Code of Regulations, the Commission on State Mandates is providing notice of 
changes made to proposed regulation, section 1183.1.  These changes are in response to 
comments received regarding the proposed regulation.   

WRITTEN COMMENT PERIOD 
Any interested person, or his or her authorized representative, may submit written comments 
relevant to the proposed regulatory action to the Commission.  The written comment period 
closes at 5:00 p.m. on October 10, 2017.  The Commission will consider only comments 
received at the Commission offices by that time.  Submit comments to: 

Jill Magee, Program Analyst 
Commission on State Mandates 

980 Ninth Street, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA  95814 

Written comments may be submitted electronically via the Commission website "Drop Box" at 
http://www.csm.ca.gov/dropbox.php 

AUTHORITY AND REFERENCE 
Government Code section 17527(g), authorizes the Commission to adopt the proposed 
regulations.  Reference citations:  Government Code sections 11123, 11346.4, 11347, 11347.1, 
and 17500 et seq. 

INFORMATIVE DIGEST/POLICY STATEMENT OVERVIEW 
The Commission is a seven-member quasi-judicial body authorized to resolve disputes regarding 
the existence of state-mandated local programs (Gov. Code, § 17500 et seq.) and to hear matters 
involving applications for a finding of significant financial distress (Welf. & Inst. Code,  
§ 17000.6).  The purpose of this rulemaking is to:  (1) clarify and streamline Commission 
regulations; (2) update language for consistency; (3) clarify the definition of interested person; 
(4) clarify the certification and signature requirements for documents filed with the Commission; 
(5) clarify the requirements to e-file documents in a searchable PDF format and include an 
original signature; (6) clarify the period of limitation for filing a test claim consistent with the 
statutory scheme; (7) clarify the requirement for a single claimant representative for joint test 
claim filings; (8) clarify the requirements for filing a proposed amendment to parameters and 
guidelines consistent with changes to the Government Code; (9) clarify evidence submission 
requirements; (10) clarify that the same certification and filing requirements apply to all new 
filings and written materials; (11) update authority and reference citations; and (12) update 
punctuation for consistency throughout the regulations. 
Therefore, the Commission originally proposed revised language and citations in Articles 1, 2, 3, 
4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 10 of the California Code of Regulations, Division 2, Title 2, Chapter 2.5 with a 
proposed effective date of January 1, 2018. 

http://www.csm.ca.gov/dropbox.php
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The purpose of this modification to this rulemaking is to: (1) clarify and streamline Commission 
regulations; (2) update language for consistency; (6) clarify the period of limitation for filing a 
test claim consistent with the statutory scheme; (7) clarify the requirement for a single claimant 
representative for joint test claim filings; (9) clarify evidence submission requirements; (10) 
clarify that the same certification and filing requirements apply to all new filings and written 
materials. 
Therefore, the Commission proposes modifications to the originally proposed amendment to 
Article 2 section 1183.1 of the California Code of Regulations, Division 2, Title 2, Chapter 2.5.   
As a result of the 15 day comment period on the proposed modifications to the proposed 
amendments, the effective date for this rulemaking will now be April 1, 2018. 
Anticipated Benefits of the Proposed Regulation 
The specific benefits anticipated from the regulation are increased clarity for local governments, 
school districts, state agencies, and interested parties/persons participating in the Commission's 
processes and to increase the speed of hearing and deciding matters filed with the Commission. 
Consistency and Compatibility with Existing State Regulations 
After conducting a review of existing regulations, the Commission has concluded that California 
Code of Regulations, title 2, sections 1181.1 et seq., are the only regulations concerning the 
Commission's process.  Therefore, the proposed regulations are consistent and compatible with 
existing state regulations. 

DESCRIPTION OF MODIFICATIONS TO PROPOSED REGULATIONS 
I. Clarification of the Period of Limitation for Filing Test Claim 
Section 1183.1. Test Claim Filing. 
The modification to the proposed amendment clarifies the application of the period of limitation 
provided in Government Code section 17551; that the second part of the two-part test for timely 
filing of a test claim applies only when costs are not incurred within one year of the effective 
date of the statute, such as when a test claim statute or executive order relies on some 
independent triggering event that may occur at a later time.  When costs are incurred 
immediately and as a direct result of the test claim statute, the effective date of the statute 
controls the period of limitation.  

DISCLOSURES REGARDING THE PROPOSED ACTION 
The Commission has made the following initial determinations: 

Mandate on local agencies and school district: None 
Cost or savings to any state agency:      None 
Cost to any local agency or school district which must be reimbursed  
in accordance with Government Code sections 17500 through 17630: None 
Other non-discretionary cost or savings imposed on local agencies: None 
Cost or savings in federal funding to the state: None 
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Significant, statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting  
business, including the ability of California businesses to compete with  
businesses in other states: None 
Significant effect on housing costs: None 
Cost impacts on a representative private person or business:  The Commission is not aware 
of any cost impacts that a representative private person or business would necessarily incur 
in reasonable compliance with the proposed action. 

Results of the Economic Impact Analysis/Assessment 
The Commission concludes that the proposal will:  (1) not create or eliminate jobs within 
California; (2) not create new businesses or eliminate existing businesses within California; and 
(3) not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within California.   
Small Business Determination 
Because the Commission has no jurisdiction over small businesses and small businesses are not 
parties before the Commission, the proposed regulatory action will have no impact on small 
businesses. 

CONSIDERATION OF ALTERNATIVES 
In accordance with Government Code section 11346.5(a)(13), the Commission must determine 
that no reasonable alternative it considered or that has otherwise been identified and brought to 
the attention of the Commission would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which 
the action is proposed or would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons 
than the proposed action, or would be more cost-effective to affected private persons and equally 
effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 
The Commission invites interested persons to present statements or arguments with respect to 
alternatives to the modifications to the proposed regulations during the written comment period. 

CONTACT PERSONS 
Inquiries concerning the proposed administrative action may be directed to: 

Jill Magee, Program Analyst 
Commission on State Mandates 
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA  95814 
Telephone: (916) 323-3562 
(jill.magee@csm.ca.gov) 

The backup contact person for these inquiries is: 
Heidi Palchik, Assistant Executive Director 
Commission on State Mandates 
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300 
Sacramento, CA  95814 
Telephone: (916) 323-3562 
(heidi.palchik@csm.ca.gov) 
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Please direct requests for copies of the proposed text (the “express terms”) of the regulations, the 
initial statement of reasons, the modified text of the regulations, or other information upon which 
the rulemaking is based to Ms. Jill Magee at the above address or download it from the 
Commission's website at http://www.csm.ca.gov/rulemaking.php. 

AVAILABILITY OF STATEMENT OF REASONS  
AND MODIFIED TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

The Commission will have the entire rulemaking file available for inspection and copying 
throughout the rulemaking process at its office at the above address.  As of the date the original 
notice was published in the Notice Register, the rulemaking file consisted of the notice of 
proposed rulemaking, the proposed text of the regulations, the initial statement of reasons, and 
the Commission order to initiate rulemaking proceedings.  As of the date the notice of 
modifications to proposed regulations is distributed, the rulemaking file additionally includes the 
written comments filed on the proposed regulations, the staff report on public comment and 
proposed modifications after close of public comment period, the notice of modifications to 
proposed regulations, and the modified proposed text of the regulations. 
Copies may be obtained on the Commission's website (see below) or by contacting Ms. Jill 
Magee at the address or phone number listed above.  All persons on the Commission’s interested 
persons mailing list will be provided a copy of the rulemaking file by making it available on the 
Commission’s website and providing notice of how to locate it. 

AVAILABILITY OF CHANGED OR MODIFIED TEXT 
After considering all timely and relevant comments received, the Commission may adopt the 
proposed regulations as described in the original notice and modifications to the proposed 
regulations substantially as described in this notice.  If the Commission makes additional 
modifications which are sufficiently related to the proposed text based on additional comments 
received during the 15 day notice period, it will make the modified text (with the changes clearly 
indicated) available to the public for at least 15 days before the Commission adopts the 
regulations as revised.  Please send requests for copies of any modified regulations to the 
attention of Ms. Jill Magee at the address indicated above.  The Commission will accept written 
comments on the modified regulations for 15 days after the date on which they are made 
available. 

AVAILABILITY OF THE FINAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
Upon its completion, copies of the Final Statement of Reasons may be obtained by contacting 
Ms. Jill Magee at the above address. 

AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS ON THE INTERNET 
Copies of the Notice of Proposed Action, the Initial Statement of Reasons, Notice of 
Modifications to Proposed Regulations and the modified proposed text of the regulations in 
double underline and strikeout can be accessed through the Commission's website at 
http://www.csm.ca.gov/rulemaking.php. 
 

http://www.csm.ca.gov/rulemaking.php
http://www.csm.ca.gov/rulemaking.php
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