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OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 

STATE MANDATED COSTS CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2010-01 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS 

JANUARY 8, 2010 

 
In accordance with Government Code (GC) Section 17561, eligible claimants may submit claims 
to the State Controller’s Office (SCO) for reimbursement of costs incurred for state mandated 
programs. The following are claiming instructions and forms for filing claims for the Tuition Fee 
Waivers program. These claiming instructions are issued subsequent to adoption of the program’s 
Parameters and Guidelines (P’s & G’s) by the Commission on State Mandates (Commission). 

On March 27, 2009, the Commission adopted a Statement of Decision finding that the test claim 
statutes and executive orders impose a partially reimbursable state-mandated program upon 
community college districts within the meaning of Government Code Section 17514 and Article 
XIII B, Section 6 of the California Constitution. 

Eligible Claimants 
Any community college district (CCD) as defined in Government Code Section 17519, that 
incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement of these 
costs.  

Filing Deadlines 
A. Reimbursement Claims 

Initial reimbursement claims must be filed within 120 days from the issuance date of the 
claiming instructions. Costs incurred for compliance with this mandate are reimbursable for 
fiscal years 2001-2002 through 2008-2009 and must be filed with the SCO and be delivered 
or postmarked on or before May 10, 2010. Claims filed after May 10, 2010, are subject to a 
late penalty. Claims for fiscal year 2009-10 are due on February 15, 2011. Claims filed 
more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.  

B. Late Penalty 
1. Initial Claims 

Late initial claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial 
claims without limitation.  

2. Annual Reimbursement Claims 
Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the following fiscal year 
in which costs were incurred or the claims will be reduced by a late penalty. 

Late annual reimbursement claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the claim 
amount; $10,000 maximum penalty. 
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Additional Requirements, Exceptions, and Limitations 
1. There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 

operation of a mandate pursuant to state law. 

2. Refer to Section III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT in the P’s and G’s, page 2, for 
the effective dates of reimbursement for portions of the Education Code, the registers, and 
the revised guidelines from the Chancellor’s Office. 

3. Refer to Section VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS for 
this additional requirement: An amount equal to 2% of the fees must be waived and an 
amount equal to $0.91 per credit unit must be waived [Ed. Code, § 76300 Subd. (m)(2)] 
for any student in an undergraduate program, including a student who has previously 
graduated from another undergraduate program, who is the dependent of any individual 
killed in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack on the World Trade Center in New York 
City, the Pentagon building in Washington D.C., or the crash of the United Airlines Flight 
93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if he or she meets the financial need requirement set 
forth in Section 69432.7 for the Cal Grant A Program and either of the following apply: 
(1) The dependent was a resident of California on September 11, 2001. (2) The individual 
killed in the attack was a resident of California on September 11, 2001. 

Minimum Claim Cost 
If the total costs for a given year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement will be allowed except 
as otherwise allowed by GC Section 17564.  

Reimbursement of Claims 
To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the 
validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable 
activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for 
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records, time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations. 
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: “I certify, (or declare), under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of the Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5.  

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. 
However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

Audit of Costs 
All claims submitted to the SCO are subject to review to determine if costs are related to the 
mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the 
SCO’s claiming instructions and the P’s & G’s adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments 
are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the claim activity adjusted, the 
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amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within thirty days after 
payment of the claim. 

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, Subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by 
a CCD pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the SCO no later than 
three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, 
whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a 
claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the 
Controller to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. 
In any case, an audit will be completed no later than two years after the date that the audit was 
commenced.  

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period 
subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the SCO during the period subject to audit, the 
retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting 
documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Retention of Claim Documentation 
All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years 
after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended 
regardless of the year of costs incurred. If no funds were appropriated for initial claims at the 
time the claim was filed, supporting documents must be retained for three years from the date of 
initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must 
be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the SCO on request. 

Questions should be faxed to LRSDAR at (916) 323-6527, e-mailed to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, 
or you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729. Claiming instructions and 
forms can also be found on the Internet at www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html. 

Address for Filing Claims 
Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms. 
To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the 
form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.  

Use the following mailing addresses: 

If delivered by If delivered by 
U.S. Postal Service: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn.: Local Reimbursement Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P. O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

other delivery services: 

Office of the State Controller 
Attn.: Local Reimbursement Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816 
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Adopted:  October 30, 2009 

PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 
Education Code Sections 68044, Subdivisions (a), (b), (c), 68051, 68074,  

68075.5, 68076, Subdivision (d), 68077, 68078, Subdivision (b), 68082, 68083, 68084, 
68121, 68130.5, and 76140 

Statutes 1977, Chapter 36 (AB 447); Statutes 1980, Chapter 580 (AB 2567); Statutes 1981, 
Chapter 102 (AB 251); Statutes 1982, Chapter 1070 (AB 2627); Statutes 1988, Chapter 753 

(AB 3958); Statutes 1989, Chapters 424, 900, and 985 (AB 1237, AB 259, and SB 716); 
Statutes 1990, Chapter 1372 (SB 1854); Statutes 1991, Chapter 455 (AB 1745); Statutes 1993, 

Chapter 8 (AB 46); Statutes 1995, Chapter 389 (AB 723); Statutes 1997, Chapter 438  
(AB 1317); Statutes 1998, Chapter 952 (AB 639); Statutes 2000, Chapters 571 and 949  

(AB 1346 and AB 632); Statutes 2001, Chapter 814 (AB 540); and Statutes 2002,  
Chapter 450 (AB 1746) 

California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Sections 54012, Subdivisions (b), (c), (d), 54024, 
Subdivisions (e), (f); 54030, 54032, Subdivision (a); 54041, 54045, Subdivisions (b), (c); 

54045.5, subdivision (b); 54046, 54060, Subdivisions (a), (b) 

Register 77, No. 45 (Nov. 5, 1977); Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982); Register 83, 
No. 24 (Jun. 11, 1983) Register 86, No. 10 (Mar. 8, 1986); Register 91, No. 23 

(April 5, 1991); Register 92, No. 4 (Jan. 24, 1992); Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995); 
Register 99, No. 20 (May 14, 1999); Register 02, No. 25 (Jun. 21, 2002)  

Revised Guidelines and Information, “Exemption from Nonresident Tuition” Chancellor of 
the California Community Colleges, May 2002 

Tuition Fee Waivers 
02-TC-21 

Contra Costa Community College District, Claimant 

I. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE 
The test claim statutes, regulations and executive order involve determining student residence 
status and nonresident student tuition fee charges or waivers at community colleges, including 
students who are members of the armed forces; military dependents, aliens; graduates of Bureau 
of Indian Affairs schools; public school employees holding a valid credential; Native Americans; 
amateur student athletes at the Olympic Training Center; federal civil service employees and 
dependents in California due to military mission realignments; nonresident California high 
school graduates; and dependents of victims of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. 

On March 27, 2009, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a Statement of 
Decision finding that the test claim statutes and executive orders impose a partially reimbursable 
state-mandated program upon community college districts within the meaning of article XIII B, 
section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code section 17514.  The Commission 
approved this test claim for the reimbursable activities listed in Section IV. Reimbursable 
Activities, on page 3:   
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II. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS 
Any “community college district” as defined in Government Code section 17519, which incurs 
increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement.   

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT 
Government Code section 17557, subdivision (e), states that a test claim shall be submitted on or 
before June 30 following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.  The Contra 
Costs Community College District filed the test claim on May 23, 2003, establishing eligibility for 
reimbursement on or after July 1, 2001.  The costs incurred for compliance with most of the 
mandated activities are reimbursable on or after July 1, 2001.  However, portions of the Education 
Code, the registers, and the revised guidelines from the Chancellor’s Office became effective on 
different dates after July 1, 2001.  Therefore costs incurred for compliance with the mandated 
activities found in these sections are reimbursable on the following dates: 

1. Education Code section 68130.5 (Stats. 2001, ch. 814), became effective on  
January 1, 2002.  Therefore, the following activities are reimbursable on or after  
January 1, 2002.:  exempt a student (other than a nonimmigrant alien within the meaning of 
paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of title 8 of the United States Code) from 
paying nonresident tuition if he or she meets the following criteria: (1) high school 
attendance in California for three or more years; (2) graduation from a California high 
school or attainment of the equivalent thereof; (3) registers for or is enrolled in a course 
offered by any college in the district for any term commencing on or after January 1, 2002; 
(4) in the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an affidavit with 
the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to 
legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is 
eligible to do so. 

2. Register 02, No. 25 became effective on June 21, 2002.  Therefore the following activity is 
reimbursable on or after June 21, 2002: completion of a questionnaire form prescribed by 
the Chancellor and furnished by the district of enrollment verifying eligibility for this 
nonresident tuition exemption. 

3. The Chancellor’s Revised Guidelines and Information on AB 540 Exemption from 
Nonresident Tuition became effective on May 1, 2002.  Therefore the following activities 
are reimbursable on or after May 1, 2002:   

• Retain indefinitely, as Class 1 permanent records, the original certified affidavit 
and other materials utilized by a district in meeting the certification requirements; 
or, copying or reproducing by photograph, microphotograph or reproduced on 
film or electronically the original certified affidavit and other materials utilized by 
a district in meeting the certification requirements (Chancellor of the California 
Community Colleges, “Revised Guidelines and Information on AB 540 
Exemption From Nonresident Tuition” May 2002, p. 4, par. 20). 

• Refund the student’s nonresident tuition if the student is determined eligible for 
the exemption after he or she has paid nonresident tuition (Id., p. 2, par. 8). 
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• Discard and replace old questionnaire forms with the newly prescribed 
Chancellor’s form in printed materials for Summer or Fall 2002, unless the 
district’s form is part of a major preprinted document such as a Schedule of 
Classes.  This is a one-time activity (Id. at p. 3, par. 14). 

Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.  Pursuant to Government Code 
section 17561, subdivision (d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of initial fiscal year costs 
shall be submitted to the State Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming 
instructions. 

If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be allowed 
except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564. 

There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the 
operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.  

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES 
To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be 
claimed.  Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.  
Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such 
costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.  A source 
document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the 
event or activity in question.  Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee 
time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts. 

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost 
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.  
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under 
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,” 
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.  
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable 
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.  
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents. 

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable 
activities identified below.  Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is 
required to incur as a result of the mandate. 

For each eligible claimant, the following activities are reimbursable: 

District Governing Board Rules and Regulations on Nonresident Tuition 
 Adopt rules and regulations relating to the method of payment, and the method and amount 

of refund of nonresident tuition (Ed. Code, § 68051, Stats. 1990, ch. 1372).  

Determining Residence Classification 

 Require student applicant to supply, and district to weigh, the residence determination 
factors: Require student applicants to supply, and for the district to weigh, the following 
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information to determine the student’s residence classification (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, 
§ 54024, subd. (e)).1  

o Ownership of residential property  
o Registering to vote in California 
o Active membership in service or social clubs. 
o Being the petitioner for a divorce in California. 

Require a student to supply, and for the district to weigh, information regarding whether the 
student or the parents of a minor student who relinquished California residence after moving 
from the state has reestablished residence by one full year of physical presence coupled with 
demonstrated intent to be a California resident.  (Cal.Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54030, Register 82, 
No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 637.) 

 Residence classification questionnaires: To revise the residence questionnaire based on a 
sample residence questionnaire provided by the Chancellor’s Office (a one-time activity). 

To require the student to supply, and for the district to weigh, the following information in a 
residence questionnaire to determine the student’s residence classification:  

o Where the student has maintained his or her home for the last two years and 
whether the student has engaged in any activity listed in subdivision (f) of section 
54024 of the title 5 regulations, i.e., has maintained voter registration in another 
state and voted in another state; was a petitioner for a divorce in another state, as 
attended an out-of-state institution as a resident of that other state; has declared 
nonresidence for state income tax purposes. 

o For each student under 19 years of age, consideration of where the parent has 
lived for the last two years and where the parent has engaged in any activity listed 
in subsection (f) of section 54024 of the title 5 regulations. 

o If the student, or the student’s parent if the student is under age 19, has either maintained 
a home outside of California at any time during the last two years, or has engaged in any 
activity listed in subsection (f) of section 54024 of the title 5 regulations, the student shall 
be asked for additional evidence of intent to reside in California such as that identified in 
subsection (e) of section 54024. (Cal.Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54012, subds. (b), (c) & (d).)2  

 Financial independence: Determine whether the student is financially independent or 
dependent, in accordance with Education Code section 68044, when a student is seeking 
reclassification as a resident who was classified as a nonresident in the preceding term. 
(Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54032, subd (a).)3  

                                                 
1 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982), Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 334, Register 95, 
No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 333; Register 99, No. 20 (May 14, 1999) p. 333. 
2 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) pp. 635-636; Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 334; 
Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 333. 
3 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 637; Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 335; Register 
95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 334. 
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Determine whether the student seeking reclassification as a resident who was classified as a 
nonresident in the preceding term is financially dependent or independent, by requiring the 
student to supply, and the district to weigh, information on whether the student (1) has not 
and will not be claimed as an exemption for state and federal tax purposes by his or her 
parent in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three 
calendar years prior to the reclassification application, (2) has not and will not receive more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) per year in financial assistance from his or her parent 
in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar 
years prior to the reclassification application, and (3) has not lived and will not live for more 
than six weeks in the home of his or her parent during the calendar year the reclassification 
application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification 
application. (Ed. Code, § 68044, subds. (a), (b) & (c); Stats. 1981, ch. 102, Stats. 1982, 
ch. 1070.) 

Nonresident Tuition Fee 
 Provide nonresident students with notice of nonresident tuition fee charges during the spring 

term before the fall term in which the change will take effect, and to consider nonresident 
tuition fees of public community colleges in other states in determining nonresident tuition 
fees, and to make nonresident tuition fee increases gradual, moderate, and predictable. 
(Ed. Code, § 76140, subd. (d), Stats. 1989, ch. 985.) 

Exceptions to Determination of Nonresidence 
The following are entitled to resident tuition or are exempted from paying nonresident tuition: 

 Dependent of member of armed forces: Classify as residents for the purpose of determining 
the amount of tuition and fees those dependents (defined as a natural or adopted child, 
stepchild, or spouse who is a dependent of a member of the armed forces) of military 
personnel who retire from active duty after the residence determination date until the student 
dependent has resided in the state the minimum time necessary to become a resident.  
(Ed. Code, § 68074, Stats. 1980, ch. 580, Stats. 1989, ch. 900, Stats. 2000, ch. 571.)   

Require applicants claiming residence status pursuant to section 68074 of the Education 
Code (dependent member of the armed forces) to supply, and for the district to weigh, the 
following documentation in determining the applicant’s residence: 

o A statement from the military person’s commanding officer or personnel officer that: 
(1) the military person’s duty station is in California on active duty as of the residence 
determination date; or (2) that the military person is outside of California on active duty 
after having been transferred immediately and directly from a California duty station after 
the residence determination date; or (3) that the military person has, after the residence 
determination date, retired as an active member of the armed forces of the United States.   

o A statement that the student who qualifies for resident classification as a natural or 
adopted child or stepchild is a dependent of the military person for an exemption on 
federal taxes (Cal.Code. Regs., tit. 5, § 54041).4   

                                                 
4 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 638; Register 83, No. 24 (Jun. 11, 1983) p. 638. 
Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 336; Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 335. 
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 Member of armed forces after discharge: Classify as a resident a student who was a member 
of the armed forces of the United States stationed in California on active duty for more than 
one year immediately prior to being discharged from the armed forces, for the length of time 
he or she lives in California after being discharged up to the minimum time necessary to 
become a resident (Ed. Code, § 68075.5, Stats. 1995, ch. 389). 

 Dependent of California resident for more than one year: Classify as a resident a student who 
(a) has not been an adult resident of California for more than one year and (b) is either the 
dependent child of a California resident who has had residence in California for more than 
one year prior to the residence determination date, or has a parent who has both contributed 
court-ordered support for the student on a continuous basis and has been a California resident 
for a minimum of one year.  This exception shall continue until the student has resided in the 
state the minimum time necessary to become a resident, so long as continuous attendance is 
maintained at a community college (Ed. Code, § 68076, Stats. 1988, ch. 753, Stats. 1991, 
ch. 455, Stats. 1993, ch. 8). 

 Graduate of Bureau of Indian Affairs school: Classify a student as a resident if he or she has 
graduated from any school located in California that is operated by the United States Bureau 
of Indian Affairs, so long as continuous attendance is maintained by the student at a 
community college (Ed. Code, § 68077, Stats. 1989, ch. 424, Stats. 1993, ch. 8). 

 Student holding emergency permit or public school credential: Classify as a resident a 
student who holds a valid emergency permit authorizing service in the public schools of this 
state, who is employed by a school district in a full-time position requiring certification 
qualifications for the academic year in which the student enrolls at an institution in courses 
necessary to fulfill teacher credential requirements.  This classification is only for the 
purposes of determining the amount of tuition and fees for no more than one year.  
(Ed. Code, § 68078, subd. (b), Stats. 2000, ch. 949).   

For students claiming residency status pursuant to section 68078 of the Education Code, 
require the student to supply, and for the district to weigh, the following: 

o A statement from the employer showing employment by a public school in a full-time 
position requiring certification qualifications for the college year in which the student 
enrolls.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54046; Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 638.1; 
Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 337; Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 335.)  
This section is state-mandated new program or higher level of service for students 
claiming residence under subdivision (a) of section 68078, as well as subdivision (b) 
(student holding a valid emergency permit, as specified). 

o Any teaching credential (except a provisional credential).  Require the student to show he 
or she will enroll in courses necessary to obtain another type of credential authorizing 
service in the public schools, or holds a credential issued by the Board of Governors and 
is enrolled in courses necessary to fulfill credential requirements. (Former Cal. Code 
Regs., tit. 5, § 54036; Register 77, No. 45 (Nov. 5, 1977) p. 638.2.  Cal. Code Regs., 
tit. 5, § 54046.)5  

                                                 
5 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 638.1; Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 337; 
Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 335. 
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 Native American student: Classify as a resident a Native American student who attends a 
school administered by the Bureau of Indian Affairs located within the community college 
district (Ed. Code, §68082, Stats. 1977, ch. 36). 

 Amateur student athlete in training at U.S. Olympic Training Center: Classify as a resident 
for tuition purposes any amateur student athlete (as defined in Ed. Code, § 68083, subd. (b)) 
in training at the United States Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, until he or she has 
resided in the state the minimum time necessary to become a resident (Ed. Code, § 68083, 
Stats. 1997, ch. 438). 

 Federal civil service employee in state due to military mission realignment: Classify as a 
state resident a federal civil service employee and his or her natural or adopted dependent 
children if the parent has moved to this state as a result of a military mission realignment 
action that involves the relocation of at least 100 employees, until the student is entitled to be 
classified as a resident pursuant to Section 68017, so long as the student continuously attends 
an institution of public higher education (Ed. Code, § 68084, Stats. 1998, ch. 952). 

 Nonresident California high school graduates: Exempt a student (other than a nonimmigrant 
alien within the meaning of paragraph (15) of subsection (a) of Section 1101 of title 8 of the 
United States Code) from paying nonresident tuition if he or she meets the following criteria: 
(1) high school attendance in California for three or more years; (2) graduation from a 
California high school or attainment of the equivalent thereof; (3) registers for or is enrolled 
in a course offered by any college in the district for any term commencing on or after 
January 1, 2002; (4) in the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an 
affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an 
application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he 
or she is eligible to do so (activities are reimbursable on or after January 1, 2002).  

 Completion of a questionnaire form prescribed by the Chancellor and furnished by the 
district of enrollment verifying eligibility for this nonresident tuition exemption. (Ed. Code, § 
68130.5, Stats. 2001, ch. 814, & Cal.Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54045.5, subd. (b); Register 02, No. 
25 (Jun. 21, 2002) p. 335.)  (This activity is reimbursable on or after June 21, 2002.)6 

For these students: 

o Retain indefinitely, as Class 1 permanent records, the original certified affidavit and other 
materials utilized by a district in meeting the certification requirements; or, copying or 
reproducing by photograph, microphotograph or reproduced on film or electronically the 
original certified affidavit and other materials utilized by a district in meeting the 

                                                 
6 On September 15, 2008, California’s Third District Court of Appeal issued an opinion on 
section 68130.5 (Stats. 2001, ch. 814).  The opinion reverses a lower court’s decision to grant a 
demurrer, and holds that plaintiffs stated a viable claim that section 68130.5 conflicts with and is 
preempted by federal title 8 U.S.C. sections 1623 and 1621.  (Martinez v. Regents of the 
University of California (2008) 166 Cal.App.4th 1121.)  The case was remanded back to the trial 
court.  If the court ultimately finds that section 68130.5 is invalid, the statute would become 
void.  At that point reimbursement for activities under section 68130.5 would end on the date the 
court’s decision becomes final. 
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certification requirements (Chancellor of the California Community Colleges, “Revised 
Guidelines and Information on AB 540 Exemption From Nonresident Tuition” May 
2002, p. 4, par. 20). 

o Refund the student’s nonresident tuition if the student is determined eligible for the 
exemption after he or she has paid nonresident tuition (Id., p. 2, par. 8). 

o Discard and replace old questionnaire forms with the newly prescribed Chancellor’s form 
in printed materials for Summer or Fall 2002, unless the district’s form is part of a major 
preprinted document such as a Schedule of Classes.  This is a one-time activity (Id. at 
p. 3, par. 14).  (These activities are reimbursable on or after May 1, 2002.) 

 Alien students: Require a student alien to supply, and for the district to weigh, information on 
whether the student is precluded from establishing domicile.  An alien is precluded from 
establishing domicile in the United States if the alien: (1) entered the United States illegally; 
(2) entered the United States under a visa requiring that the alien have a residence outside the 
United States; or (3) entered the United States under a visa that permits entry solely for some 
temporary purpose.  And for the community college district to determine, for an alien who is 
precluded from establishing domicile in the United States pursuant to subdivision (b) of 
section 54045 of the title 5 regulations, whether that alien has (1) taken appropriate steps to 
obtain a change of status with the Immigration and Naturalization Service to a classification 
which does not preclude establishing domicile, and (2) met the residence requirements of 
sections 54020-54024 of the title 5 regulations related to physical presence and the intent to 
make California home for other than a temporary purpose.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54045, 
subds. (b) & (c).)7  

Tuition and Fee Waivers for Dependents of Victims of the 9/11 Terrorist Attacks 
 Surviving dependents of victims of 9/11 terrorist attacks: Waive mandatory systemwide fees 

or tuition of any kind for a student in an undergraduate program who is the surviving 
dependent (as defined) of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on 
the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or 
the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if the student is 
determined eligible by the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board.  
The waiver lasts until January 1, 2013, unless the dependent is the surviving child, natural or 
adopted, of an individual killed in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, in which case 
the tuition and fees are waived until the person obtains the age of 30 years (Ed. Code, 
§ 68121, Stats. 2002, ch. 450).  

Notifying Students of Classification Decision and Appeal Procedure 
 Notification and appeal of classification decision: Notify a student of his or her residence 

classification not later than fourteen (14) calendar days after the beginning of the session for 
which the student has applied, or fourteen (14) calendar days after the student’s application 
for admission, whichever is later.  (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54060, subd. (a); Register 82, 
No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 638.2.) 

                                                 
7 Register 86, No. 10 (Mar. 8, 1986) p. 638.1, Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 336; 
Register 92, No. 4 (Jan. 24, 1992) p. 336, Register 95, Nos. 19-20 (May 19, 1995) p. 335. 
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Establish procedures for appeals of residence classifications (Cal Code Regs., tit. 5, § 54060, 
subd. (b).)8  

The Commission also finds that all other statutes, regulations, and executive orders in the test 
claim do not constitute a reimbursable state-mandated program.  

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION 
Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified 
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document.  Each claimed reimbursable cost must 
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV.  Additionally, each 
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner. 

A. Direct Cost Reporting 

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities.  The following 
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement. 

1.  Salaries and Benefits 

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job 
classification, and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by 
productive hours).  Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours 
devoted to each reimbursable activity performed. 

2.  Materials and Supplies 

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the 
purpose of the reimbursable activities.  Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price 
after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant.  Supplies 
that are withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized 
method of costing, consistently applied. 

3.  Contracted Services 

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable 
activities.  Attach a copy of the contract to the claim.  If the contractor bills for time and 
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged.  If the 
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all 
costs for those services. 

4.  Fixed Assets and Equipment 

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets and equipment (including computers) 
necessary to implement the reimbursable activities.  The purchase price includes taxes, 
delivery costs, and installation costs.  If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for 
purposes other than the reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase 
price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. 

5.  Travel 

                                                 
8 Register 82, No. 48 (Nov. 27, 1982) p. 638.2); Register 91, No. 23 (April 5, 1991) p. 336; 
Register 95, No. 19 (May 19, 1995) p. 336. 
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Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.  
Include the date of travel, destination point, the specific reimbursable activity requiring 
travel, and related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the 
rules of the local jurisdiction.  Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost 
element A.1., Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity. 

B.  Indirect Cost Rates 

Indirect costs are costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes.  These costs 
benefit more than one cost objective and cannot be readily identified with a particular final cost 
objective without effort disproportionate to the results achieved.  After direct costs have been 
determined and assigned to other activities, as appropriate, indirect costs are those remaining to 
be allocated to benefited cost objectives.  A cost may not be allocated as an indirect cost if any 
other cost incurred for the same purpose, in like circumstances, has been claimed as a direct cost. 

Indirect costs include: (a) the indirect costs originating in each department or agency of the 
governmental unit carrying out state mandated programs, and (b) the costs of central 
governmental services distributed through the central service cost allocation plan and not 
otherwise treated as direct costs. 

Community colleges have the option of using: (1) a federally approved rate, utilizing the cost 
accounting principles from the Office of Management and Budget Circular A-21, "Cost 
Principles of Educational Institutions"; (2) the rate calculated on State Controller's Form FAM-
29C; or (3) a 7% indirect cost rate.   

VI. RECORD RETENTION 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual 
costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter9 is subject to the initiation 
of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement 
claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later.  However, if no funds are appropriated or no 
payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the 
time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment 
of the claim.  In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that 
the audit is commenced.  All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described 
in Section IV, must be retained during the period subject to audit.  If an audit has been initiated 
by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the 
ultimate resolution of any audit findings. 

VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 
Any offsets the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same statutes or 
executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs claimed.  In 
addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited to, service 
fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted from this 
claim. 

An amount equal to 2 percent of the fees shall be waived and an amount equal to ninety-one 
cents ($0.91) per credit unit shall be waived (Ed. Code, § 76300 subd. (m)(2)) for any student in 
                                                 
9 This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code. 
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an undergraduate program, including a student who has previously graduated from another 
undergraduate or graduate program, who is the dependent of any individual killed in the 
September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon 
building in Washington, DC, or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern 
Pennsylvania, if he or she meets the financial need requirements set forth in Section 69432.7 for 
the Cal Grant A Program and either of the following apply: (1) The dependent was a resident of 
California on September 11, 2001.  (2) The individual killed in the attacks was a resident of 
California on September 11, 2001. 

 

VIII. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS 
Pursuant to Government Code section 17558, subdivision (b), the Controller shall issue claiming 
instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 60 days after 
receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies 
and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed.  The claiming instructions shall be 
derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted by the 
Commission. 

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(1), issuance of the claiming 
instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file 
reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission. 

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION 
Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming 
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for 
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571.  If the 
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and 
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and 
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines 
as directed by the Commission.   

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government 
Code section 17557, subdivision (d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2. 

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES 
The Statement of Decision is legally binding on all parties and provides the legal and factual 
basis for the parameters and guidelines.  The support for the legal and factual findings is found in 
the administrative record for the test claim.  The administrative record, including the Statement 
of Decision, is on file with the Commission.   
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CLAIM FOR PAYMENT 

Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS  

For State Controller Use Only PROGRAM 

(19) Program Number 00301 
(20) Date Filed 
(21) LRS Input 

301 
 

(01) Claimant Identification Number Reimbursement Claim Data 

(02) Claimant Name 
 

(22) FORM-1, (04)(A)(f)  

County of Location 
 

(23) FORM-1, (04)(B)(f)  

Street Address or P.O. Box 
 

Suite (24) FORM-1, (04)(C)(f)  

City State Zip Code (25) FORM-1, (04)(D)(f)  

  Type of Claim (26) FORM-1, (04)(E)(f)  

 (03) (09) Reimbursement    (27) FORM-1, (04)(F)(f)  

 (04) (10) Combined                 (28) FORM-1, (06)  

 (05) (11) Amended               (29) FORM-1, (07)  

Fiscal Year of Cost (06) (12) (30) FORM-1, (09)  

Total Claimed Amount (07) (13) (31) FORM-1, (10)  

Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions) (14) (32)   

Less:  Prior Claim Payment Received (15) (33)   

Net Claimed Amount (16) (34)   

Due from State (08) (17) (35)   

Due to State  (18) (36)   

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM 

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Section 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the community college 
district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not 
violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 Government Code. 

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grants or payments received for reimbursement of 
costs claimed herein and claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting 
savings and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source 
documentation currently maintained by the claimant. 

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.  

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 Signature of Authorized Officer 
  

Date Signed  
 

  Telephone Number   

  

 

E-Mail Address   
 Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory    

 (38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim  
Telephone Number   

 

 E-mail Address   

 Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer Telephone Number  

 
E-mail Address  
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PROGRAM 

301 
TUITION FEE WAIVERS 
Certification Claim Form 

Instructions  

FORM 
FAM-27 

(01) Enter the claimant number assigned by the State Controller’s Office. 

(02) Enter the Official Name, County of Location, Street or P. O. Box address, City, State, and Zip Code. 

(03) to (08) Leave blank. 

(09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement. 

(10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined. 

(11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended. 

(12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. 

(13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown in the attached Form-1 line (11). The total claimed amount must exceed 
$1,000. 

(14) Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must 
be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was timely filed. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation 
formula as follows: 

 Late Initial Claims: FAM-27 line(13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or 

 Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed $10,000. 

(15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero. 

(16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13). 

(17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State. 

(18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State. 

(19) to (21) Leave blank. 

(22) to (36) Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the 
reimbursement claim, e.g., Form-1, (04)(A)(f), means the information is located on form Form-1, line (04)(A), column (f). Enter the 
information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. 
Indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. 
Completion of this data block will expedite the payment process. 

(37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency’s authorized officer, and must type or 
print name, title, telephone number and email address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed 
certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form 
FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.) 

(38) Enter the name, telephone number, date signed, and e-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If the claim was 
prepared by a consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, the claim preparer, telephone number, and e-mail address. 

 SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO: 

 
Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
P.O. Box 942850 
Sacramento, CA  94250 

Address, if delivered by other delivery service: 

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER 
ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section 
Division of Accounting and Reporting 
3301 C Street, Suite 700 
Sacramento, CA  95816  
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Program 

301 
MANDATED COSTS 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

FORM 

1 
(01) Claimant (02) 

 
 

  Fiscal Year 
 

(03) Claim Statistics 

 

Direct Costs Object Accounts 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities 

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) 

Salaries 
and 

Benefits 

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Contract 
Services 

Fixed 
Assets 

 
Travel 

 
Total 

A. Adopt Governing Board Rules & Regulations       

B. Determine Residence Classification       

C. Nonresident Tuition Fee 
      

D. Exceptions to Determination of Nonresidence 
      

E. Waivers for Dependents of 9/11Terrorist Attacks 
      

F. Notify Students of Decision & Appeal Procedure 
      

(05) Total Direct Costs       

 

Indirect Costs 

(06) Indirect Cost Rate [Federally Approved OMB A-21, FAM-29C, or 7%]  %l 

(07) Total Indirect Costs [Line (05)(a) x line (06)]  

(08) Total Direct and Indirect Costs [Line (05)(f) + line (07)]  

 

Cost Reduction   

(09) Less:  Offsetting Revenues   

(10) Less:  Other Reimbursements   

(11) Total Claimed Amount [Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]  

20  /20  
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301 
TUITION FEE WAIVERS 

CLAIM SUMMARY 

Instructions 

FORM 

1 
 

(01) 
  

Enter the name of the claimant. 

(02)  Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Leave blank. 

(04)  Reimbursable Activities. For each reimbursable activity, enter the totals from form Form-2, line (05), 
columns (d) through (h), to form Form-1, block (04), columns (a) through (e), in the appropriate row. 
Total each row. 

(05)  Total Direct Costs. Total columns (a) through (f). 

(06)  Indirect Cost Rate. Community college districts may use the federally approved OMBA-21 rate, the 
rate computed using form FAM 29C, or a 7% indirect cost rate, for the fiscal year of costs. 

(07)  Total Indirect Costs. Enter the result of multiplying the Indirect Cost Rate, line (06), by the Total 
Salaries and Benefits, line (05)(a). 

(08)  Total Direct and Indirect Costs. Enter the sum of Total Direct Costs, line (05)(f), and Total Indirect 
Costs, line (07). 

  Refer to the P’s and G’s page 10, Section VII. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND 
REIMBURSEMENTS, for additional requirements. 

(09)  Less:  Offsetting Revenues. If applicable, enter the total offsetting revenues from Form 3, line (05) as 
a direct result of this mandate.  

(10)  Less:  Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from 
any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, 
which reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Bring forward the total from Form 3, line 
(07). 

(11)  Total Claimed Amount. From Total Direct and Indirect Costs, line (08), subtract the sum of Offsetting 
Revenues, line (09), and Other Reimbursements, line (10). Enter the remainder on this line and carry 
the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim. 
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MANDATED COSTS 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS 
ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 

FORM 

2 
(01) Claimant (02) Fiscal Year 

(03) Reimbursable Activities:  Check only one box per form to identify the activity being claimed. 

 Adopt Governing Board Rules & Regulations  Determine Residence Classification 

 Nonresident Tuition Fee  Exceptions to Determination of Nonresidence 

 Waivers for Dependents of 9/11 Terrorists Attacks  Notify Students of Decision & Appeal Procedure 

(04) Description of Expenses Object Accounts 

(a) 
Employee Names, Job 

Classifications, Functions Performed 
and Description of Expenses 

(b) 
Hourly 
Rate or 

Unit Cost 

(c) 
Hours 

Worked or 
Quantity 

(d) 
Salaries 

and 
Benefits 

(e) 
Materials 

and  
Supplies 

(f) 
 

Contract 
Services 

(g) 
 

Fixed 
Assets 

(h) 
 

Travel 
 

 

       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(05)  Total             Subtotal              Page:____of____      
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TUITION FEE WAIVERS 

 ACTIVITY COST DETAIL 
Instructions 

FORM 

2 
(01)  Claimant. Enter the name of the claimant.  

(02)  Fiscal Year. Enter the fiscal year for which costs were incurred. 

(03)  Reimbursable Activities. Check the box that indicates the activity being claimed. Check only one box 
per form.  A separate Form 2 must be prepared for each applicable activity. 

(04)  Description of Expenses. The following table identifies the type of information required to support 
reimbursable costs. To detail costs for the activity box checked in block (03), enter the employee 
names, position titles, a brief description of the activities performed, actual time spent by each 
employee, productive hourly rates, fringe benefits, supplies used, contract services, and travel  
expenses. The descriptions required in column (4)(a) must be of sufficient detail to explain the 
cost of activities or items being claimed. For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be 
retained by the claimant for a period of not less than three years after the date the claim was filed or last 
amended, whichever is later. If no funds were appropriated and no payment was made at the time the 
claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will be from the date of initial payment of 
the claim. Such documents must be made available to the SCO on request. 

 

Object/ 
Sub object 
Accounts 

Columns Submit  
supporting 
documents 

with the claim (a) (b) (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) 
Salaries and 

Benefits 
 

Salaries 
 
 
 

Benefits 

Employee 
Name/Title 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours 
Worked 

Salaries = 
Hourly Rate 

x Hours 
Worked 

     

 
 

Activities 
Performed 

Benefit 
Rate  

Benefits = 
Benefit Rate 
x Salaries 

     

Materials 
 and 

Supplies 

Description 
of 

Supplies Used 

Unit 
Cost 

Quantity 
Used  

Cost = 
Unit Cost 
x Quantity 

Used 

    

Contract 
Services 

Name of 
Contractor 

 

Specific Tasks 
Performed 

Hourly 
Rate 

Hours Worked 
 

Inclusive 
Dates of 
Service 

  

Cost=Hourly 
Rate x Hours 
 Worked or 

Total Contract 
Cost 

  

Copy of 
Contract 

and 
Invoices 

Fixed 
 Assets 

Description of 
Equipment 
Purchased 

Unit Cost Usage    
Cost= 

Unit Cost   
x Usage 

  

Travel 

Purpose of Trip 
Name and Title 
Departure and 
Return Date 

Per Diem 
Rate 

Mileage Rate 
Travel Cost 

Days 
Miles 

Travel Mode 
    

Total Travel 
Cost = Rate 
x Days or 

Miles 

 

 

(05)  Total line (04), columns (d) through (h) and enter the sum on this line. Check the appropriate box to 
indicate if the amount is a total or subtotal. If more than one form is needed to detail the activity costs, 
number each page. Enter totals from line (05), columns (d) through (h) to form 1, block (04), columns 
(a) through (e) in the appropriate row. 
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MANDATED COSTS 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS 
SUMMARY OF OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS 

 

FORM 
3 

(01) Claimant (02)  Fiscal Year 
    

20  /20  
 

(03) In the fiscal year of claim are there students who qualify pursuant to Ed. Code Section 
76300, Subd. (m)(2) for the fee waiver? 

 Yes 

 No  

(04) If yes, list each student, the amount received, and any mandate-related offsetting revenue below: 

(a) 
 

Name of Student 

(b) (c) (d) 

Fees Subject  
to 2% Waiver 

Credits Subject 
to $0.91 
Waiver 

Total Offsetting  
Revenue 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

(05) Total  [Carry forward total to Form 1, line (09)]  

(06) Other Reimbursements 

Type or Source of Other Reimbursements Total Other  
Reimbursements 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

(07) Total  [Carry forward to Form 1, line (10)]  
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MANDATED COSTS 

TUITION FEE WAIVERS 
Instructions 

FORM 
3 

 
(01) 

  
Enter the name of the claimant. 

 
(02) 

  
Enter the fiscal year of costs. 

(03)  Respond to the question with a check mark in the applicable box. In the fiscal year of claim are there 
students who qualify pursuant to Education Code Section 76300, Subd. (m)(2) for the fee waiver? 

(04) (a) If the answer to line (03) is “Yes” – List the names of the students for whom you  
are providing services. 

 (b) Enter the amount of fees that are subject to the 2% waiver. 

 (c) Enter the number of credits that are subject to the $0.91 waiver. 

 (d) Enter the sum of [(Line (04)(b) x 2%) + (line (04)(c) x $0.91)] 

(05)  Enter the total of column (04)(d) and carry this total forward to Form1, line (09). 

(06)  Enter the type or source of other reimbursements received and the amount. 

(07)  Enter the total of all other reimbursements and carry forward to Form 1, line (10). 

  


	Reimbursement of Claims
	301 FAM-27.pdf
	CLAIM FOR PAYMENT
	Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS 
	For State Controller Use Only
	PROGRAM


	Reimbursement Claim Data
	PROGRAM
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS
	Certification Claim Form
	Instructions 


	301 Form-1.pdf
	Program
	301
	MANDATED COSTS
	TUITION FEE WAIVERSCLAIM SUMMARY
	FORM

	(01)
	Claimant
	(02)
	  Fiscal Year

	(03) Claim Statistics
	Object Accounts
	Cost Reduction
	Program
	301
	TUITION FEE WAIVERSCLAIM SUMMARY
	Instructions
	FORM



	Direct Costs

	301 Form-2.pdf
	FORM
	Program
	MANDATED COSTS
	2
	(02)
	Fiscal Year
	(03)
	(04) Description of Expenses
	Object Accounts
	Program
	301
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS ACTIVITY COST DETAILInstructions
	FORM



	301
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS
	ACTIVITY COST DETAIL
	Columns
	Salaries and
	Benefits
	Fixed Assets
	Travel

	301 Form-3.pdf
	Program
	301
	MANDATED COSTS
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS
	(02)
	Fiscal Year

	(04) If yes, list each student, the amount received, and any mandate-related offsetting revenue below:
	Program

	301
	MANDATED COSTS
	TUITION FEE WAIVERS


	301 Cover Letter.pdf
	Reimbursement of Claims


